We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected of a Sofitel hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Shenyang Lido
Ranked #1 of 1,117 Hotels in Shenyang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The lobby is impressive but the room is embarrassing. This is the first time in my life, and I have traveled a lot, I feel the need to complain to house keeping about the poor room cleaning. The hotel was once a 4 star hotel, but I got a rundown room with a carpet and a desk chair from the "last century", full of great dirt spots and a TV that can be donated to a museum
No WiFi in the room. A SPA with exorbitant high prices, higher than in Europe, and an air condition which is noisy.
Luckily the mattress is exactly as I like it, hard, and the pillow small so I slept well.
Last year I stayed in Marvelot Shenyang, right next door, and there I got much more value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Shenyang Lido, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the other travellers of Trip Advisor.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Shenyang Lido. We are pleased to read that you had a good sleep in our hotel.

We noted your comment regarding the need to upgrade certain facility of our hotel. Therefore, we are already in progress of modernize our facility from floor to floor.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Rest assured that the Department Head concerned has been informed who will be taking the appropriate measures in order to address the issues which you raised.

If you would like to discuss your experience with me, please send an email to sofitel@sylido.com so I may address it with you directly.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With best regards,

Lucie Curier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Shenyang Lido
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 550 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Selected the hotel because of the location was close to my meeting venue. It is a typical business hotel. The breakfast selection was rather limited. The rooms were clean, comfortable. The service would certainly be improved from the front desk to the food & beverage outlets. I have stayed in this hotel twice and every time, the check in was really slow and the staff seemed detached.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thephotoplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Shenyang Lido, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Shenyang Lido.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I deeply apologise about the inconvenience caused to you during Check in. Rest assured that the Department Head concerned has been informed and will be taking the appropriate measures in order to address the issues which you raised. We are conducting training for our ambassadors to improvise the service that we aspire for and that our guests deserve.

If you would like to discuss your experience with me, please send an email to sofitel@sylido.com so I may address it with you directly.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With best regards,

Lucie Curier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for over 150 days over the last 6 years. It has been very kind to frequent guests. The location is excellent - near airport and close to luxury shopping district.

Unfortunately, this hotel is getting old. Some wash basins have cracks, shower stall don't drain well, furniture and carpet show substantial wear & tear, no LED TV (just clunky old fashion TV from the nineties). The breakfast qulaity has deteriorated, with many dishes running out by 9:30am.

There is no French touch associated with switch to Sofitel - just the replacement of Sheraton toiletries with Lanvin toiletries.

Hope new management will rejunenate this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logistiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is still in the process of transitioning from the former Sheraton to Sofitel. The staff is friendly and the concierge was very helpful in my encounters with them. The ala carte menu was overpriced considering the small portion size of the meals. The room was clean and the Internet worked well. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank educator_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you can get past the pungent stench of smoke and its own unhealthy aroma then you have achieved the first hurdle! Food is sub standard. Rooms were clean but stank. Travelled all over China and this isn't a 5 star by any standard. Second stay here, next time at Traders

Room Tip: Book into another hotel
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenyang hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Shenyang by Shangri-La
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Shenyang
DoubleTree by Hilton Shenyang
#6 of 1,117 in Shenyang
220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang
Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang
#4 of 1,117 in Shenyang
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Shenyang
Grand Hyatt Shenyang
#3 of 1,117 in Shenyang
219 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Shenyang South City Hotel
1.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Shenyang
Kempinski Hotel Shenyang
#7 of 1,117 in Shenyang
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Shenyang Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shenyang Lido

Address: No.386 Qingnian Main Street, Heping District, Shenyang 110004, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Shenyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shenyang
#5 Business Hotel in Shenyang
#11 Best Value Hotel in Shenyang
Price Range: $77 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Shenyang Lido 4.5*
Number of rooms: 590
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Shenyang Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Shenyang
Shenyang Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing