We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has seen better days”
Review of Bohai Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bohai Pearl Hotel
Ranked #134 of 1,221 Hotels in Dalian
Reviewed June 23, 2012

the location couldn't be better, right next to dalian station. the building is one of the tallest in the central area, so you can see it from a mile away in any direction. while it must've been a great hotel about 20 years ago, they haven't done a good job maintaining it. cigarette burn stains were on some furniture, ceiling was moldy, wallpaper was peeling off. worst was they gave us a room that reeked of cigarettes despite requesting a non-smoking room. we even found a cigarette butt not cleaned upa in the bathroom. otherwise, everything was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Bohai Pearl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 183 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

We are teachers that teach in a neighbouring town near China. Deciding that it would be a neat idea to spend New Years in Dalian with friends and co-workers, we booked the Bohai Peal Hotel based on location and price. We were charged 327RMB for the night for a standard room. Having stayed in hotels in China before, we were prepared for the worst -or so we thought. The bad list is as follows:
1)The door would not lock,
2)the water broke and was out for the day (they thought it was a good idea to fix it on New years,
3)the power went out repeatedly,
4) the door buzzed every 10 minutes because it would not lock,
5) when we got back at 2am (new years) the elevator was out and we had to walk up 17 flights of stairs -exacly what you want to do at 2 in the morning,
6)the the room smelled of smoke and mold so bad that we could not sleep and had to leave

We had to leave at 530am because we literrally could not sleep, use the toilet (no water), or power. When we went down stairs to complain they refused to do anything about it and charged us the full price. My normal laid-back attitude was thrown out the window and after "negotiating" for an HOUR they reduced the room by 100RMB. At this point we had had like 3 hours sleep and decided it was not worth it.

Be warned, this place has gone downhill hard and fast. Their customer service is non-existant. You are a wallet to them, nothing more. Their hotel is the worst hotel I have experienced in my extensively travelled life.

DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: stay somewhere else, the kapinski is nice
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Terrific location if you are into taking buses and trains- you can get just about anywhere in the Dalian area from this spot. The pleasant non smoking room on the 25th floor, reliable Internet connection (no extra charge), included breakfast, and on site spa added up to a relaxing stay. Of course once you are outside the hotel entrance - the general pandemonium of a central bus/train station reigns supreme - but that's all part of the "China" experience. I actually crossed the street once or twice - ...but most times just used the underpass - too fainthearted I guess.
The "Business Center" in the hotel is misnamed - no printing, no copies, no computer - not sure what they do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilikina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

For the second time in two years now, I have staid in this more than OK hotel near the Dalian station. The location is very good, next to the station and in front of the hotel the long haul busses to Shengyang and and other big cities in the neighbourhood leave. Visiting the city is very easy from here. Tram/busses in front of the hotel, taxies like everywhere in China easy to find.
Service is more more than OK, although minimal knowledge of English.
Just make sure you ask for a room with internet connection.
Clean? OK but not more than that.
Value for Money I would say

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philippevanloock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in July 2008 and we booked this hotel via ctrip. The location is good, just next to Dalian train station and facing Victory Plaza. Most of the buses will stop at train station so this location suits those who would like to take public transportation to tour around Dalian. Moreover, it is easy to get a cab there, too.

The hotel itself is kind of old. Front desk is friendly and helpful. The fare we paid did not include the breakfast. On the first morning we decided to try the buffet breakfast at the revolving restaurant on 30th floor. Good choice of food but the pity is they don't serve "real" coffe. It is hard to describe the coffee. It's like a diluted instant coffee with suger and milk made from milk powder. During the breakfast time, the restaurant is not revolving. RMB38 per person.

The room is clean and VERY spacious! We booked a triple room for RMB598 per night. Bathroom is huge and includes some amenities like hair dryer, brushes, and Q-tips. Make sure to request free internet access at the guest room when making a reservation.

The downside is the air-con was off for several hours at night and during that time it was quite stuffy. Around 5AM, the air-con would be on again.

I would recommend this hotel for the budget-oriented travelers. But for those who wants to avoid the mob in the train station, hotels in the commercial area or around Zhongshan Square might be a good choice, too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

The Bohai is just like living at home for me. The two restaurants (30th floor and 5th floor) are both different and great. my personal fav is the 5th floor with sizzling platter of beef filet, pineapple shrimp, and a dozen Chinese veggies. Service is always attentive and correct. Minor oversights are quickly corrected and I feel I'm always a welcomed guest. During my usual stint of a month+ in Dalian I usually visit several times a week.

Stayed: August 2006
Thank BambooRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank evgeniaypk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Zhongshan Hotel Dalian
#21 of 1,221 in Dalian
150 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#79 of 1,221 in Dalian
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan District
Dalian International Hotel
Dalian International Hotel
#193 of 1,221 in Dalian
34 reviews
Mercure Teda Hotel
#152 of 1,221 in Dalian
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohai Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohai Pearl Hotel

Address: No.8 Shengli Square, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#56 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range: $39 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohai Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bohai Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohai Pearl Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing