We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected from a Kempinski...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Dalian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Ranked #8 of 1,194 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“As expected from a Kempinski...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed in the Kempinski for 11 days for a business trip. It was the recommended hotel in Dalian from my company so I took it.

As everything in Dalian, expect this to be very big, I was on the 21st floor and there were many still above me.

The location is good being situated next to a walking area, a mall, a park and one of the main roads in Dalian.

The room is very spacious, with a very nice bed, complimentary water, tee and coffee.

One of the striking things I found was a gas mask; it turned out these are mandatory in case of a fire.

I didn't watch TV but I did notice that it was on a rather difficult angle to be watching it from the bed.

Wi-Fi was so-so disconnecting sometimes. The good thing is that there is Ethernet as well so as long as you have a port you can connect via cable. The speed of the Internet was good enough for video conversations on Skype. Expect many services not to work though as traffic is filtered.

There was rich assortment of bread, pastries, cheeses, etc. during breakfast and all was tasty. There was also a selection of typical Chinese dishes in case one wants to start the day with noodles as opposed to English breakfast. The tea was good, the coffee not so much. Bare in mind that the coffee was bad everywhere in Dalian. Chinese do not have a tradition with coffee, but there is wide assortment of teas.

All-in-all a very nice experience and will certainly stay in the Kempinski again during my next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. Hard to say which are the quieter rooms but higher should be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    229
    44
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
20
17
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Hiawatha, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in late June. The room was nicely decorated. The bathroom was especially nice and very large (seriously... bigger then some of the rooms I've had in European hotels). My room had a nice view overlooking a large park. The bed was average, not the most comfortable.

I ate at their Italian restaurant, Marco Polo. The pizza was surprisingly good and this is coming from someone who regularly eats NJ/NY pie. There is a Starbucks across the street.

I will stay here if I'm ever in Dalian again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harmygeddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

It is the Kempinsky, one should expect the best. Indeed, all the amenities are there but...
1) The TV is situated on the side, so in this case only the person sleeping on the very left edge of the bed faces the TV directly. And no, the TV does not swivel.
2) The tap/faucet, well it took me quite a few seconds to figure out how to turn on the water, yes, my colleague had to call housekeeping to ask! Why make things so different?
3) There is mouthwash in the bathroom! Rare even for top notch hotels in China, but only provided enough for one person's use while everything else including toothbrush comes double.
4) TV channels have the usual international flavors as well as the major local ones, all in all only 30+ channels.
5) There are lots of electric sockets around the room, but strangely none at the bedside, which is inconvenient when one wanted to charge the phone by the bedside.
6) We stayed in room 2101 and 2111, and guess what, we took the lift to the 21st floor and did not find the room 2101 or 2111 ! The rooms were located in a different block, and there were no indication from the room card at all.

Not sure whether it is worth the amount of money as there are other better alternatives, but definitely the service and facilities are top notch.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Certainly there are flashier (Shangri-La) or newer (Hilton) hotels now in Dalian, but the Kempinski is located very central and offers all you need - certainly if you are staying in an executive room. This is not much more expensive than the normal room and comes with perks - pick up service from and to airport, dedicated check in, especially the lounge with breakfast, snacks and coffee / tea throughout the day and a happy hour with free alcoholic drinks and a good buffet selection for supper. Being a German who lives away from home, I cherish the Brezels and cold cuts there - it's like being home away from home...
The room is not big but nicely designed, the service good and everyone friendly and helpful. I never had problems with anything not working in the room, and have stayed several times in the Kempinski. For sure next time again!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and take an executive room! Should you join their bonus program, you will get f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyAbuDhabi_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is in the centre of Dalian, overlooking a large park. It is clean and very comfortable.

The Bierhaus downstairs was a bit of fun to end the evening. Good food, recommend the mixed platter, the small one was more than enough for 3 of us. Music is a bit loud and as the evening progressed there were a few tipsy locals around singing karaoke - but funnily enough added to the atmosphere of being in a bierhaus in NE China.

Good breakfast variety including Asian and Western. Noodle soup is recommended.

Staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnemiekHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have traveled extensively in China and elsewhere and can only say that this establishment suffers form the typical Chinese mentality: crazy rules that make for needless inconveniences and discomfort. " We don't have olive juice (only olives ??..), you can have coffee but it may take you an hour to get cream or sugar, the bar smells like a frat party trying to break a record for smoking cigarettes, ...." ... I could go on.

Why even bother here. Stay at the Shangri La or another international hotel that is run like one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Well, so here is the thing:

I have chosen for the hotel, because I have been told it would be a great choice in this city in the North of China (I am living in Shanghai - and from that perspective it's pretty far up in the North).
The person's recommendation started with: well, since you are German....

So let me tell you what the German thinks:

It didn't make up for more than an average rating, sorry guys (specifically the ones in the hotel).
Service could be better - very much so for serving breakfast. In itself the breakfast was fine, but the staff supposed to help you consume it more or less pretended to not be there in the first place.

Whether you like the Paulaner downstairs - well, you decide. I am German, I expect it to be German. Let me tell you, it is not. But maybe you still like it - for being different....

The room are ok - with a view to a park, I did like that. The air condition did heat up the room throughout the day (for what reason? no clue...) and it was hard to get the temperature down to that level being comfortable for me to sleep.

Well, so would I recommend, would I come again? Sure why not, but I might want to try different hotels first - cities in China are so full of choice.... ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DieterKaufhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#1 of 1,194 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Dalian
0.9 mi away
New World Dalian Hotel
New World Dalian Hotel
#2 of 1,194 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,194 in Dalian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Continent International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Furama Hotel Dalian
Furama Hotel Dalian
#12 of 1,194 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Dalian

Property: Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Address: No.92 Jiefang Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dalian
#7 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Dalian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in the heart of the commercial and business district, opposite the Labour Park and only few steps away from the shopping center. Friendly service and unique Kempinski hospitality will be your best choice for both leisure and business. We offer 400 well appointed guest rooms and suites, meeting and Banquet facilities for up to 500 guests, Cafe Berlin Restaurant offering a splendid selection of international cuisines and Kempi Deli with a large selection of Valrhona in both traditional and exotic flavors, breads, cookies, ice cream, cakes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalian Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing