We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Ranked #8 of 1,196 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great location, great food, easy access to shopping with some best malls in walking range. Good selection of international cousine with special mention of Indian cook who makes lavish Indian dishes. Overall a great value for your money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    230
    44
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
21
17
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel as my parents live in the city. Me and my husband and cousins come here for drinks on few occasion while visiting dalian. We like it here very much. It's very western so remind us back in uk.
Service is always good, big big credit to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in several occassions and all of my stays were fantastic. Easy access to the city centre, friendly and helpful staff, modern and spacious rooms. The bar downstaris is a great place to go as well. Always my first choice when staying in Dalian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I've stayed many times in Dalian and always enjoy my stay at the Kempinski. As my stay can be for several weeks, the most valuable aspect for me personally is the great service and friendly staff. And the western style features like the German bar are welcome when occasionally you want to 'escape' from Chinese cuisine !

Room Tip: Like many hotels in Dalian, at certain times of year the A/C doesn't work efficiently, and if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am very happy to stay in kempinski hotel Dalian ,the room is comfortable to stay ,but the facilities are so old.this is my first time stay in Dalian.the breakfast was very good.i also stayed at the Kempinski Xi An which is much nice hotel .i like the city very much.front desk reception service is good have smile in the face.introduce the hotel,the beer bar is very funny have a band play ,the Germany beer is very delicious .the swimming poor is very beautiful .I will be back to the hotel later.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midhahkabdjxksj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed about 4 days in this hotel in the early November. Although the hotel is good, I was outraged by service and unfair prices.
I came there during the seafood show and didn't reserve online. I did so just because based on my experience direct negotiation of the rate in a hotel in China works better than anything else (I usually do so in Intercontinental Qingdao, where I always get really good discounts). Upon checking in they offered me deluxe suit. I took it as there were no other options. The rate was about 430$ per night. It was a two room studio with free laundry, on the 23rd floor with access to the club lounge, breakfast incl.
I met my partners in the same hotel. One of them reserved the same deluxe suit room on 25th floor via Agoda on 16 October. But his rate was only about 170$ per night incl breakfast, club lounge access, and 2 pieces a day free laundry.
I couldn't believe it and went to his room. It was the same as mine. I went down to the reception and started my argument about the 2.6 times difference between my and my partner's rate. I immediately didn't like the receptionist (a man, I don't remember his name). He couldn't explain to me why the difference is almost 300% in the rate. First he said room is different. I objected and he said himself my room is deluxe suit same as my partner's. Then he started to talk about the seafood show and early booking of my friend, but in fact my partner reserved the room quite late too, only 2 weeks before coming to the hotel, and the time for the seafood show was known to all hotels 1 year before the event. Then the receptionist told me about free laundry, but can free laundry account for almost 300$ a night??? Then the receptionist told me he will call my chinese friend after talking to management. But as a result he just said that the rate cannot be discounted.
I was really discouraged and disappointed. I will never stay at Kempinski hotel anywhere in the world anymore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
558 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Normally I prefer the Shangri-La, directly at my office, but this time it was fully booked, so I had to take another choice: Kempinski Hotel, which is also outstanding for its service, cleanliness, its good breakfast buffet, and of course for the Paulaner Restaurant in the basement, with own beer brewing, and is open for dinner rather late!.
as a foreigner going there you just feel like not being in China, except all the Chinese guests, who are loudly enjoying their drinking!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#1 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Dalian
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New World Dalian Hotel
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Continent International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Furama Hotel Dalian
Furama Hotel Dalian
#12 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Dalian

Property: Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Address: No.92 Jiefang Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dalian
#7 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Dalian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in the heart of the commercial and business district, opposite the Labour Park and only few steps away from the shopping center. Friendly service and unique Kempinski hospitality will be your best choice for both leisure and business. We offer 400 well appointed guest rooms and suites, meeting and Banquet facilities for up to 500 guests, Cafe Berlin Restaurant offering a splendid selection of international cuisines and Kempi Deli with a large selection of Valrhona in both traditional and exotic flavors, breads, cookies, ice cream, cakes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalian Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing