We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German in Dalian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Ranked #6 of 1,223 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Normally I prefer the Shangri-La, directly at my office, but this time it was fully booked, so I had to take another choice: Kempinski Hotel, which is also outstanding for its service, cleanliness, its good breakfast buffet, and of course for the Paulaner Restaurant in the basement, with own beer brewing, and is open for dinner rather late!.
as a foreigner going there you just feel like not being in China, except all the Chinese guests, who are loudly enjoying their drinking!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 529 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel room in Dalian, China, I truly recommend this hotel. I've stayed here so many times since 2011. Kempinski hotel is perfect hotel for me; their service, learge room, facilities, restaurant, spa. The first time I stayed there, that time was also the first visit to Dalian, but their staff are all friendly and they gave me a good tips about town. When I stay there less than 3 days I stayed regular room, but if I need to stay in Dalian more than 4 days, I stay at Executive floor, so I can get free pick-up service from air port, free landry service, and happy hour. I'll go back there again next month as usual.

Room Tip: if short trip premir room or normal studio room, but I prefre to stay in Executicve floor. It cost m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YuiA529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I went to the Kempinski Hotel Dalian in September and my partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a studio room on the Club Floor.

On the hotel website, they provide a list of services that are included with the room. One of the services was airport pick-up. It was easy to arrange and the driver was waiting for us when we exited Immigration. However, the service was definitely a bit gruff. He didn't say hello, help with the luggage, or even smile. I can understand not communicating because of the language barrier, but the attitude of the driver isn't what I would expect from a five-star hotel.

The website claimed that a room on the Club Floor came with a free mini-bar. This is not true. After getting to the room, we noticed the price list. Nothing was free. Absolutely nothing.

On the last day, we had arranged to keep our luggage with the concierge and come back later to pick them up for our flight. We asked if it would be possible to use the showers and spa later on even though we checked out in order to freshen up before the flight. The front desk staff would have been totally justified to decline the request, however, she said it would be no problem. That was very gracious. However, when we went back to the hotel later in the afternoon, we were denied entrance from the front desk staff member because we'd already checked out. It was definitely frustrating as we had come back to the hotel early just to relax a bit before the flight.

These complaints aren't major issues exactly, but there were enough disappointments to make the trip less than ideal.

There were definitely positives though. The cleaning staff and bell boys were friendly and polite. The breakfast was good. Location was good as well. The rooms were also clean and well taken care of.

If you get a great rate, book this hotel. Otherwise, another option might be more appropriate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottleefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The Berlin Cafe, where breakfast is served (on the second floor), is a well organized area with open view to the lobby. All kind of dishes for all kind of tastes . At the same level you'll find the Marco Polo restaurant with Italian kitchen ( for the pasta lovers) but without the proper decoration for a place of its fame (more prone to the Chinese customs than the European air). At the lobby bar you can enjoy your cigar having a glass of white wine from Chile or Australia and definitely worth to try the tuna mousse sandwich . As the hotel is located at a nice region of the city you can safely have a nice walk to the opposite side of the street so to get a grande latte from Starbucks . Several shopping centers around to buy clothes and stuff. No swimming pool or gym available in this 5 star hotel. Just a SPA that will give you a relaxing massage. DO NOT buy any of those expensive Chinese teas ( for 2500 RMB) from inside the hotel!!! My wife found exactly the same one at the shopping mall close by ( Dalian shopping Mall) with hardly 300 RMB! You can visit ( on the 5th floor) the genuine Chinese restaurant "Dragon's Palace" ( NON smoking...) . Follow the "S" in the menu ( specialty of the house). The fried shrimp are worth to try ( with the sweet sauce) but the sea cucumber with the special sauce has absolutely no taste, no odor, not even a show-off appearance ... We've got a couple of boxes with their preserved form from some local friends and - as my wife checked- they are really expensive and considered to be a unique delicacy! The marinated pork with the warm bun along with the fried dumplings (thank God we failed only in one dish....) . The former has an equilibrated balance between the fatiness of the meat and the sweetness of the bun ( small bread). The latter plate, although looking promising has an enormously raw vegetable as a stuffing which makes it disappointing at the end of your tongue. No warmth in the atmosphere and literally no others eating around us. So, at the end we visited the lobby bar to enjoy some live music with piano, flute and violin.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at Kempinski/Dalian for two weeks in early September 2013; it was my first stop after leaving home. Four days before departure from the hotel I discovered that $535 was taken from my in-room safe. I knew exactly the amount and the denominations that had been in my money pouch. My ipod, passport, and the watch were untouched, presumably because those would have been immediately noticed if they are missing. I contacted Kempinski’s management and they told me to contact the police. I escalated my case, but still the management's reply was to contact the police. For a foreigner, who was leaving the hotel in 4 days, this was not helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
11  Thank ht12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Even though I was on a non-smoking floor, the guest in the room across from me left his door open and smoked pretty much every time I left in the morning and returned to the room.
My room key stopped working -- it was probably because someone else was given the room after I checked in as a guy tried to enter my room.
The room is spacious and nice; the reception staff was lovely and efficient. It's just a pity about the above.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wwglobal_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel that i feel comfortble about the service.the food are delicious.the location is convenient.i can go outside to buy something easily.the associates are very nice and kind.the room is tidy and comfortble.i will choose the hotel next time i come here.it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiaoqikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#2 of 1,223 in Dalian
983 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,223 in Dalian
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,223 in Dalian
425 reviews
Zhongshan District
Hilton Dalian
Hilton Dalian
#9 of 1,223 in Dalian
253 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#14 of 1,223 in Dalian
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Dalian

Address: No.92 Jiefang Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#6 Business Hotel in Dalian
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range: $96 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Dalian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in the heart of the commercial and business district, opposite the Labour Park and only few steps away from the shopping center. Friendly service and unique Kempinski hospitality will be your best choice for both leisure and business. We offer 400 well appointed guest rooms and suites, meeting and Banquet facilities for up to 500 guests, Cafe Berlin Restaurant offering a splendid selection of international cuisines and Kempi Deli with a large selection of Valrhona in both traditional and exotic flavors, breads, cookies, ice cream, cakes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalian Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing