We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Ranked #7 of 1,214 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, would stay here again”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A great choice if you are staying in Dalian. Nice hotel, great rooms, friendly staff. If you decide not to venture out for a meal in Dalian, the food at the hotel is pretty good and there's also an Irish pub where you can go for a beer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    235
    47
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
21
19
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hod HaSharon, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is located around a ten minute walk from the victory underground mall. The room was very large and clean, with a great view of the city. Breakfast was very good. The pool and spa were great. Front-desk service was very good. The restaurant in the hotel were good.

Downsides: the gym wasn’t air-conditioned, and working-out was difficult. The room windows were dirty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avipiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice change from the Inter Con. Nice sized rooms and very comfortable. Service throughout was good. Good breakfast in the main restaurant but the coffee and juice was much better in the executive lounge for breakfast. I will stay there again. I had a problem with the water in my bathroom and the staff upgraded me to a really beautiful suite. It was handled promptly and efficently. My only real beef is the outrageous cost of a double espresso in the lobby lounge (+$10.00 U.S.).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is excellent: service, location, amenities, breakfast, there is absolutely nothing i can say bad about it. The check-in/check-out were very fast (there was a power failure just before i was leaving the hotel so they made a copy of my business card and sent me the bill by e-mail in two hours) and the English lever of the reception and consierge staff is very good. I received a free upgrade to a suite (first time ever happened in a hotel) so probably that's why the experience started with a good feeling about the hotel. Didn't have time to see the pool, but the gym is well-equipped and open until quite since if i remember correctly. The breakfast is also very good with a lot of varieties both for Westerners/Chinese. The prices for room service and at the Kempi Deli on the ground floor are quite reasonable especially for the quality they offer. I've been before to Dalian: once stayed at the Furama Hotel (no, no, no is you are not Chinese as there is nobody you can communicate with in English) and once at the Intercontinental (over-crowded, over-noisy) and i can definitely recommend Kempinski over the other two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sup3rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel for quite a number of times. Very good business hotel with great customer service. Slight improvement required for housekeeping though .. Some days they don't wash the cup that I've used. Love their swimming pool. It's big and it's open till 12am.

Hotel is walking distance to a small shopping area. Good if you want to do some light shopping. Overall pleasant stay for each trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel could not be better, and I cant think of any good reason to stay in another hotel in Dalian (unless location and price were a concern). This is clearly a luxury hotel at the price of what one would get a 2 start hotel in Europe or a B&B in London.

Firstly, the location. It is as central as you can get in Dalian with the Labor Park right in front of the hotel (a great way to absorb and imbibe local Dalian culture). There is a high-street on the other side of the road with all global luxury and premium stores. And two shopping centers about 5 min walk away, that have everything you can possibly think of.

The hotel itself is awesome. Everyone speaks English, a must-have for me in China. The staff is super polite, very courteous and extremely helpful. There is nothing that they will not do for you (I needed help with cabs etc and they were super efficient). The rooms are very comfortable, I Would says luxurious - big, spacious, well stocked (gas masks in the cupboard for a potential fire - great idea and the first time I have ever seen that in a hotel). The bathrooms are big with s tub as well as shower room. The cleanliness is amazing - spotless to a fault. I with they had smaller pillows but I am sure they would have sent one up if I had not been too lazy to pick up the phone.

The breakfast, the only meal I had at the hotel, is super extensive. Chinese, Japanese, English, French - the array at display is mind-boggling. And very, very tasty.

I used the gym as well and it has everything one would expect in a big gym - from the right equipment to all kinds of machines. I do wish the music was in English, though that might be asking for too much in China! The view from the gym is awesome - facing Labor Park.

I was initially in two minds about staying at Shangri-La or Kempinski. The former was about twice as expensive. After staying at Kempinski I cannot think of what else the Shangi-La may provide that justifies paying more. I am back in Dalian in September and will stay here without blinking an eyelid.

If you are looking at staying close to the beaches/sea shore then this hotel is about 5 kms away. I was hoping it was closer but that was not the case.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room that is in the upper floors as the view is really amazing, the higher up you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfect hotel for our mini vacation! Great sized rooms......clean & airy with awesome service. The breakfast buffet was amazing....including any style, made to order omelets. Very close to shops & restaurants. Overall, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedfreak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#2 of 1,214 in Dalian
967 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,214 in Dalian
385 reviews
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,214 in Dalian
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Furama Hotel Dalian
#12 of 1,214 in Dalian
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Dalian

Property: Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Address: No.92 Jiefang Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dalian
#6 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#17 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Dalian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in the heart of the commercial and business district, opposite the Labour Park and only few steps away from the shopping center. Friendly service and unique Kempinski hospitality will be your best choice for both leisure and business. We offer 400 well appointed guest rooms and suites, meeting and Banquet facilities for up to 500 guests, Cafe Berlin Restaurant offering a splendid selection of international cuisines and Kempi Deli with a large selection of Valrhona in both traditional and exotic flavors, breads, cookies, ice cream, cakes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalian Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing