We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Dalian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Ranked #2 of 1,207 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Dalian”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Great hotel, top shangrila service and quality. Club level performs well as usual

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLRfromVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    409
    55
    18
    6
See reviews for
43
33
54
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days and had a wonderful time. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the lobby has the typical shangri-la asian flair. We had a drink in the bar with piano music and breakfast room service. The staff is very nice and the hotel is located directly in the city center. There are a lot of shops around the hotel, a lot of small restaurants and its not far to the beach (take a taxi). The spa is nice with a nice big pool. I would recommend this hotel to everybody who is on a business trip or wants to spend a weekend with loved ones.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fliegfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I was impressed with the service level. I arrived from a late flight at about 11pm. To check in, I did not even have to approach the front desk. The staff knew I was on the way (I had arranged an airport transfer), and a nice lady met me at the door and showed me to my room immediately. The rest of the check in procedure was completed in my room. After a 10-hour journey getting to Dalian, the service was much appreciated!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugewhaleshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Just stayed at this hotel and was extremely disappointed. This hotel does not reflect a Shangri La Hotel given the very mediocre (and dated) facilities and the very poor service.

Building Specifics:
- The hotel common areas and the rooms all showing age. I stayed in a horizon club room on the top floor and can attest that the bed was not very comfortable (anyone that is familiar with this brand will understand how unacceptable that is), the bathroom was incredibly cramped, and the air conditioner was broken...(room temperature could not get below 22 Celsius despite maintenance coming to my room in their unsuccessful attempt to fix).

- Health club equipment was old and just downright uninviting.

- Rooms not well sound-proofed, could hear doors closing all night (other guest rooms on the floor and their ... "guests").

Service
- Lobby bar service was aloof and unfriendly; really frustrating as the bar was not busy and the servers had time to joke with each other yet seemed unhappy facing a customer;

- Horizon club (25th floor) was the same as the lobby bar.

If I were unlucky enough to travel to Dalian again, I would absolutely opt for the New World (or even the Furama). I toured the New World and was shown a guest room -- outstanding new facility with very friendly service (ate dinner in Furama and received great service).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilgameshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stay here whenever in Dalian. Great location and great service. Thier Horizon Club is a great deal and the Horizon club lounge is nice. Big pool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asialiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I love Shang hotels for their quality and their consistency, which is why I keep coming back to Shangri La , be it for business traveling or Sunday Brunch with kids.

On staying in the Dalian Shangri La, I realized the brand also has some black spots. Property shows signs of age, but rooms are spacious and spotless, although they have seen better times. Some improvements do bring them into modern age: Big flat screen TV, brand-new bathroom, the usual Shang amenities, etc.

My real cause for complaint is food, and on this, Dalian Shang is definitely below other properties in the Chain.

I was unimpressed by the (VERY) crowded breakfast buffet, poorly organized (I left one of the days, as it was impossible to get the attention of anybody in order to secure a table) and even less so by the quality of the wares on display: A VERY questionable bacon, poor (Western) selection of everything else, and the WORST orange juice I have ever had in a Shangri La (worst sip of orange juice in fact, as everything else remained in the glass). A shame to an otherwise nice hotel.

Management should look at drastic improvements in the F&B arena, where procurement looked way too local and below par for me. I still have in my mind the cooked ham, which was floating in liquid in a chafing dish. I know this is the Chinese style, but you don't come to Shangri La for a 100% Chinese style experience or, by the way, pay the Brand premium.

I discount the fact that this is Dalian, not Hong Kong, but I've been long enough in China to know that decent procurement of western food, within western standards, can be secured without a problem. At RMB 148++ for the breakfast buffet, I definitely expected something else. On coming to a Shang, I also expected something else.

I love the Shang Brand, which remains high in my list, but F&B in this hotel is seriously off track and remains a major improvement factor.

I could see from the patrons in the buffet that the clientele is seriously local, hence some of the issues in the buffet, but Management should not forget that many of us come for entirely different reasons, and definitely expect "a better orange juice".

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonioShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel for a short business trip of 1 week. This is a magnificent hotel with great facilities and ambiance. The best I liked about covered swimming pool with heated water, sauna and Jacuzzi, it is just excellent and the way it is organized with hygiene and cleanliness.

For food lover, there are plenty of options and having buffet and al-carte restaurants and a lounge bar with live music.

The location of hotel is just too good having all great shopping place around.

Hotel staff is very courteous and gives you a feeling of great hospitality.

  • Liked — Covered swimming pool with heated water and Sauna and Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank akp_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,207 in Dalian
413 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,207 in Dalian
383 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shahekou District
Grand Hyatt Dalian
Grand Hyatt Dalian
#1 of 1,207 in Dalian
137 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#13 of 1,207 in Dalian
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Dalian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Address: No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District | No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dalian
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#2 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#17 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 563-room Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian is located in the heart of the city's booming commercial district, home of the city's top banks, restaurants and largest modern shopping mall. Only 20 minutes from Dalian International Airport and overlooking the harbour passenger terminal, the hotel offers a host of on-site food, entertainment and leisure options as well as north-east China's most comprehensive range of conference, meeting and banqueting facilities and services. Complimentary broadband Internet access and Wi-Fi services are available in all guestrooms and in the hotel's public areas. Enjoy complimentary weekend shuttle bus and book Horizon Club Room and above or Airport drop-off service to enjoy one-stop airport VIP service. Guests may enjoy long stay service when stay for 14 days or above ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dalian
Shangri La Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing