We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Ranked #2 of 1,221 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The experience is great overall. The people were very customer service centric. They are always smiling and willing to help. It was very clean and homey. They have complete amenities and I didn't encounter any problems at all. The area was safe. The only thing I think they need to work on would be the food as it was a hit or miss for me. Some were ok but I would expect more. The choices for buffet were also very limited.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Jane F,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit. I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and also took note about your experience at our buffet restaurant. In order to update your preference for food into our guest system, please feel free to send me your actual name and date of stay at dorian.rommel@shangri-la.com. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 977 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Excellent hotel with very good service. I will recomend the excutive rooms with acess to the horizon club which give good value for the money. The location is quite good along the main street with several shopping possiblities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Torbjørn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Torbjørn H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad we have delighted you during your stay. I do hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to our lovely city.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful experience with the Shangri-La Dalian. After check-in the staff showed us to our room, which was clean, spacious and stocked with fresh fruit and complimentary bottled water. The room offered a fantastic view of the Dalian Business District and included a reliable Internet connection (an amenity I’ve learned not to take for granted in China). The windows offered the right amount of natural light and the furnishings offered an atmosphere of luxury and comfort.

The swimming pool is not only perfect for laps, but includes a lifeguard, which allows for greater piece of mind when taking children to the pool. The health club has great exercise equipment and even a billiards table. The health club staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs.

The Horizon Club staff were also very friendly and helpful. The area had a wide choice of drinks and snacks, including fresh fruit, cold cuts, rolls, cheese and many other fantastic hors d'oeuvres. The Horizon Club is a very comfortable space that also includes the convenience of some Apple computers. The staff attends to the snack and drink area to ensure that the foods are fresh and well-stocked.

Certainly one of the high points of our stay was breakfast in the first floor restaurant. It was so amazing to such an expansive selection of foods so well prepared by expert chefs in one area. The foods in this restaurant appeal to a wide range of palates. The breakfast includes American and European cuisine along with a variety of Asian favorites. The chefs and staff work hard to provide coffee or tea to guests and to make certain that all food choices are fresh and abundant.

We certainly plan on returning to the Shangri-La Dalian. We were very impressed by the commitment of the staff to making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Matt L,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Dalian. I am pleased to read about your experience at our hotel. I will pass on your kind recognition to the related departments. I do hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to this beautiful coastal city.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have just checked out after three magnificent nights at this hotel. From start to finish the experience was outstanding. Everybody was very friendly and incredibly helpful. The club rooms are excellent and the beds are so comfortable. The air conditioning is very effective and the wifi is extremely quick, this is rarely the case in my experiences within China!
I had some laundry done during my stay and it was superb, my shirts were ironed to perfection and I got a lovely note from the laundry with a gift of some silk cufflinks! The food in the restaurants is superb and very well presented. On leaving I needed help packaging a vase I had been given, the ladies in the horizon lounge did a fantastic job and had it all ready for me at checkout. I cannot thank the staff here enough and will certainly be back next time I'm in Dalian. I shall now be making Shangri La my hotel chain of choice on my next travels in China. If only all my experiences in hotels were as good as this.

Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jdmus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Jdmus1,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Dalian. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and had such a pleasant stay at our hotel. I will pass on your kind recognition to our related departments which seems to encompass to my delight every service department at the hotel. I do hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to our lovely city.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Service was very good, and the room facilities was also very good. Location of the hotel was good, and the service and friendlyness in the Horizon Club was excellent. I also ha a good experience in the cafe. THe bar was, unfortunately, boring.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Bjorn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Bjorn L,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Dalian. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and had a pleasant stay at our hotel.I will pass on your kind recognition to our Horizon Club floor team, but I am sorry the F2 Bar didn't meet up to your expectation. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel if you visit Dalian again.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed in past at Shangri La hotels in Wuhan, Qingdao & Shanghai and they pamper their guests like anything especially when you booked Horizon Club Rooms. Right now, I am staying at Shangri La Dalian and their not at par serivce forced me to write review (my first review on Trip Advisor) during the stay itself.
Shortcomings
- You feel like unwanted in Lounge, all attendants keep chatting among themselves and you have to ask for items twice else go and pick yourself. Keep sitting in lounge and no one will come and ask you for something. Respecting privacy and ignoring people are two different things.
- Attendants rarely smile
- I am vegetarian and every other Shangri La respect and make effort to prepare something for me during breakfast and evening happy hours. Here, the answer was "Sorry, we don't have vegetarian choices."
- No turn down service till 7 or chocolates by bed side
- Today morning upon entering the lounge, attendants at front desk just noticed and without greeting, just ignored me and keep doing what they were doing.
- While having dinner tonight, nobody bothered to offer water
- No complimentary newspaper or fruits in room. I have to remind lounge attendants.

Good things
- Personalised check-in
- You sleep like baby in their comfortable beds
- Good location
- Always smiling attendants at lobby

I will definitely visit other Shangri La properties but will not come/ recomment this property. Pitty that I am paying higher price for no upgraded services.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caabhithetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear caabhithetraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Dalian. I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback. However, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and I do apologize for your unhappy experience during your stay. We will feedback those points mentioned to the respective department. In order to update your room preference into our guest system, please feel free to send me your actual name and date of stay to dorian.rommel@shangri-la.com. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great rooms, helpful and smiling personnel. I would actually come back to this place rather than the other hotels in the area. Only improvement is to have a selection of english movies at hand......even the old classics.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank edmallari55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear edmallari55,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad we have delighted you during your visit at the hotel. About the selections of English movies,we do have a movie list next to DVD player you can order via our guest relation services and the regular available in China, English TV channels. I do hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to the city.

Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,221 in Dalian
420 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,221 in Dalian
391 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
#6 of 1,221 in Dalian
528 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#12 of 1,221 in Dalian
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Dalian

Address: No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District | No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dalian
#2 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#16 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range: $112 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 563-room Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian is located in the heart of the city's booming commercial district, home of the city's top banks, restaurants and largest modern shopping mall. Only 20 minutes from Dalian International Airport and overlooking the harbour passenger terminal, the hotel offers a host of on-site food, entertainment and leisure options as well as north-east China's most comprehensive range of conference, meeting and banqueting facilities and services. Complimentary broadband Internet access and Wi-Fi services are available in all guestrooms and in the hotel's public areas. Enjoy complimentary weekend shuttle bus and book Horizon Club Room and above or Airport drop-off service to enjoy one-stop airport VIP service. Guests may enjoy long stay service when stay for 14 days or above ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dalian
Shangri La Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing