We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-shelf offering in Dalian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Ranked #1 of 1,221 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you're wanting a higher-end hotel in Dalian, your best bets are the Shangri-La or the Furama nextdoor - in my case, I opted for the former.
It was my second stay in Dalian and it pretty much met my expectations. Customer service was typical of the brand: very attentive and quick to respond to any requests.
Unfortunately my room - 2023 - was not quite as good as which ever I was assigned during my first stay.
The bedding configuration was a little odd: two king singles placed just far enough apart for you to not be able to walk between them, but with enough of a gap for your to slip into it if you are a little fitful in your sleep...
The WiFi was extremely slow with its connection and download speeds and my shower hot water (temp and pressure) wasn't brilliant either - in the middle of winter, you do appreciate a very hot shower.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear RichardsF1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit. I am truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and also we will improve those points that you mentioned. In order to update your room preference into our guest system, please feel free to send me your actual name and date of stay at dorian.rommel@shangri-la.com. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 977 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

This has been our second stay here. I don't think anyone could beat the service one can get a Shangri-La Hotel. This one is too hard to beat. The service from doorman to maids is excellent. All personnel will do anything to make a stay a Great one.


  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Joefredperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Joefredperez,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad we have delighted you during your stay. I hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to the city.



Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The rooms are not at the same standard as most other Shangri-la hotels in Eastern China, renovation of the rooms would "help", but compared with many local Chinese hotels the rooms are still better.
Food breakfast (the western breakfast) is not "very exiting" and again not up to the standard in most other Shangri-la hotels in Eastern China, but still way better than local Chinese hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Soren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Soren H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit. I am truly appreciative that you have taken the time to share your feedback with us. Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian has completed a five-year comprehensive renovation in 2011, including all guest rooms, Grand Ballroom and 15 function rooms, Shang Palace, lobby and Lobby Lounge.

Also, we will look into improving our western breakfast. Your comment is valuable for us and we will continue to improve our facilities and service to delight our guests. I hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to the city.

Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed about five nights October 2012 with wife, small daughter and mother-in-law. Room was nice and big enough for all of us.

This is a high(er) class hotel with friendly staff and very good service. Excellent breakfast, good swimming pool. The gym was a bit dissapointing comparing to the rest of the hotel.

In walking distance there are some nice restaurants.

Not the cheapest hotel but worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miska T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Tarvainen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit. I am truly appreciative that you have taken the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. Our hotel gym will have renovation in 2014,and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Dalian.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Although a little bit expensive, this hotel is a lot of value for money. I paid extra for the executive club floor and I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality and service.
One of the best hotels I know.

Room Tip: If you have the opportubity you should try the club floor and make sure to go to the free happy hour...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Empire07

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad we have delighted you during your stay. I hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to the city.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The checkin experience was refreshing as I got in on a cold winter evening after a long day of business meetings and travel. The hospitality has the touch of Shangri-La warmth and authenitcity. The hotel provides great value and is very functional for the business traveller. The staff are very efficient and well organized. The food is prepared with care and time sensitivity.
The only suggestion I have is the need for Engilish training given the number of foreign guests at the hotel. Some of the restaurant staff had trouble understanding even simple English words and required help of their manager, which may not be scalable solution during busier times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Krishna R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit. I am truly appreciative that you have taken the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and will look into improving our colleagues' understanding of English. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Dalian.



Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Was staying here for three nights on business and the service was amazing. Nice large room with comfortable bed. Breakfast was good with more than can be expected to choose from. At check ni they tried to sell an upgrade but respekter a no.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TM2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear TM2205,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad that your stay was an enjoyable one. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you come back to Dalian.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,221 in Dalian
420 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,221 in Dalian
391 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
#6 of 1,221 in Dalian
528 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#13 of 1,221 in Dalian
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Dalian

Address: No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District | No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#1 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#1 Business Hotel in Dalian
#16 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range: $112 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 563-room Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian is located in the heart of the city's booming commercial district, home of the city's top banks, restaurants and largest modern shopping mall. Only 20 minutes from Dalian International Airport and overlooking the harbour passenger terminal, the hotel offers a host of on-site food, entertainment and leisure options as well as north-east China's most comprehensive range of conference, meeting and banqueting facilities and services. Complimentary broadband Internet access and Wi-Fi services are available in all guestrooms and in the hotel's public areas. Enjoy complimentary weekend shuttle bus and book Horizon Club Room and above or Airport drop-off service to enjoy one-stop airport VIP service. Guests may enjoy long stay service when stay for 14 days or above ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dalian
Shangri La Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing