We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel - get ready for celebrity treatment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Ranked #1 of 1,205 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel - get ready for celebrity treatment!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-La, Dalian on a business trip. The hotel has the best staff - they really understand customer service and couldn't do enough for you. All staff greeted you with a smile, they went out of their way to make your stay a positive experience. The hotel is grand in appearance but not imposing, I certainly felt comfortable. The room and hotel was spotless. I had problems with the internet, (this is no reflection of internet connectivity at the hotel, as other guests seemed to be fine) three members of staff including the IT manager offered to help. The food is first class, fresh fruit, vegetables, meat, fish and vegetarian options. I was very well looked after by Robbie Guo, i Cafe Manager, who was excellent. All the staff spoke very good English, I was treated like a celebrity. Being away on business for two weeks, staying in Beijing, Shanghai and finally Dalian, staying at the hotel helped eased my eagerness to get back home. Thank you Shangri-La, Dalian, I would stay here again and recomment it to my family, friends and colleagues without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy16UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    408
    54
    18
    6
See reviews for
40
32
54
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay at a lot of hotels - this one was outstanding. I arrived late and left early but their care and attention from the moment I booked to the moment they dropped me at the airport exceeded my expectations at every step. Three examples: I had a question before I arrived - they followed up personally with three seperate emails to ensure my needs were met; When I arrived, the front desk (excellent English) forgot to ask me if I wanted an alarm call so called my room as soon as I had got to it to check - they were concerned I may need one because I was leaving early; When I picked up the car for the airport in the morning, they were not only expecting me but had poured me a coffee ready to go. That is world class customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Maybe it's not the newest or shiniest Hotel in DaLian.
But that difference is the service level and friendliness of the staff there!
That really make the 5 points.

The Restaurants (Shang Palace and Nishimura) are really top notch. Also incredible friendly staff there and really high quality food (see pictures).

The Health Area also - not the newest but all close together, Gym, Steam, Sauna and Massage ... and again very friendly staff (they would bring me cool water and cool towels into the sauna!!!

Breakfast menu is delicios and a huge huge variety - fresh fruits, japanese, chinese, indian and continental breakfast ... great.

So to sum up - a very friendly and nice experience here and I will definetely come back for my next stay....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadioStar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Older hotel, but looks like they are adding onto it and it says it will be ready in 2015. The service is amazing. Also, if this is your first trip to Dalian, I would recommend arranging their car service to pick you up at the airport. I thought it was worth it as they have a representative at the airport waiting for you after baggage claim that then takes you directly to the very nice car waiting from you right outside the airport. WI-FI was very reliable and the breakfast buffet is a must.
Again, the staff is very accommodating and really helps make your stay a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: I would suggest upper floors facing the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLJ_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is by far my favourite Shangri-La (Shenzhen, Beijing, Shanghai, Kuala Lumpur, Hangzhou, Penang).

The inhouse restaurants are very good, and I love the fact that I can order from the full menu and have it delivered to my room. The prices for room service are of great value. My favourite is the Japanese restaurant.

However that is not the highlight, the highlight is the quality of the staff.. superb! I'm not sure if it's Dalian or the management/training but the service quality here is very good.

The location is very convenient and you're close to shopping malls and also other amenities.

While I'm a Diamond member and have access to the lounge, I do prefer breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was in Dalian for work and was booked at this hotel. From I pulled up outside i was impressed by the bell boy's attentiveness and smart dress. Upon entry i was greeted by a pleasant associate who guided me to the check in desk. check in was quick and easy and the staff was all very professional. The room was clean and modern and the best part was that the bed was soooo plush and luxurious. That is the first thing i check out, is the comfort of the bed!! it met my expectations and then some. The restaurants were really good and the menu's were all on ipad's!! i thought that was a unique touch. My room overlooked the tennis court, but because of the snow i didnt get a chance to get out and play. The breakfast was an amazing buffet with so many selections and a wonderful ambiance. Overall the experience was memorable, and I will always stay there when in Dalian.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spend two nights there last week, Shangri-la certainly keeps its standard well. Room was clean and comfortable. Shower was powerful and the food was superb (tried restuantrants & room service). The best part is all staffs gave guest the warm Shangri-la welcome. Downside: it's a rather old hotel with tranditiaonal deco, slightly dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a sun facing room if you travel in winter. The other side of the building can be cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,205 in Dalian
412 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,205 in Dalian
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shahekou District
Grand Hyatt Dalian
Grand Hyatt Dalian
#2 of 1,205 in Dalian
131 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#12 of 1,205 in Dalian
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Dalian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Address: No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District | No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dalian
#1 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 563-room Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian is located in the heart of the city's booming commercial district, home of the city's top banks, restaurants and largest modern shopping mall. Only 20 minutes from Dalian International Airport and overlooking the harbour passenger terminal, the hotel offers a host of on-site food, entertainment and leisure options as well as north-east China's most comprehensive range of conference, meeting and banqueting facilities and services. Complimentary broadband Internet access and Wi-Fi services are available in all guestrooms and in the hotel's public areas. Enjoy complimentary weekend shuttle bus and book Horizon Club Room and above or Airport drop-off service to enjoy one-stop airport VIP service. Guests may enjoy long stay service when stay for 14 days or above ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dalian
Shangri La Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing