We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Shangrila”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Ranked #2 of 1,223 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Traveled with children and stayed at the Shangrila. We got a suite and had an extra bed brought into the room, it worked out fine. The best thing about the hotel is the beds. Many of the beds in asia are hard as a board and the Shangrila beds are wonderful. The club level is great, They have a great mix of western and asian foods and all beverage options available on the club level with still having a small helpful and friendly atmosphere. I have also used the sauna/pool and foot massage. Everything was very nice, other than they don't really let the kids play in the pool like western children are used to. This is always our top choice in Dalian.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank custravel_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 982 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

There is no question that this is the place to stay when visiting Dalian. The rooms are clean, modern and well furnished, and up to the Shangri-La standard. Overall the hotel has a very western feel. I’ve been here a couple of times and I prefer to stay on the Horizon Club floor. The Horizon Club provides breakfast, and is a busy meeting spot during the evening cocktail hour. There is a separate meeting room that is available free of charge to host a business meeting. The local staff go out of their way to be helpful, but language can sometimes be a barrier. The last time I stayed here there were 2 American hospitality students who made a world of difference when we needed directions as to where to shop or eat. They understood what we were looking for and pointed us in the right direction. I hate hotels where they assume that a guest can't walk 15 minutes to go to a restaurant. Although they did warn us to be careful when walking since the cars sometimes drive on the sidewalk and red lights and crosswalks don't seem to have the same meaning in China.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed in March on a 3 night business trip. Had a room on the Executive Floor which allowed access to the Exec Lounge. Room was first class with everything one needs. Large comfortable bed, great bathroom and comfortable seating. Breakfast in the Lounge was very good. Evening happy hour also provides welcome relaxation over a free beer or glass of wine. Above all, the service here is absolutely first class - attentive, charming and efficient. Would agree with a previous comment that finding English-speaking/understanding staff is not always easy but then my Chinese is non-existant!! Loved staying here and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the Exec Floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlightCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Every time I go to Dalian I stay at the Shangri-La Dalian. The Hotel is located almost in the city center. The staff is very friendly and knowledable. The rooms are quite big and very clean. In comparison to other Shangri-La Hotels, like in Shanghai or Bejing the prices are still moderate - around 150,- Euro per night. Downside of the Hotel is the very noisy breakfast room- breakfast itself is very nice and tasty ( chineses, japanese, european ).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasiksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Enjoyed the can-do attitude of the staff. My biggest challenges at the hotel were language related. Clearly the hotel is geared towards east-asian and chinese guests, and very few spoke/understood English. On the other hand - I don't speak Chinese. All in all a pleasant experience. Best laundry service ever ...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sozdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

For my second stay in Dalian, I opted for the Shangri-La, a few doors away from the uninspiring Furama Hotel which I stayed in last year.
What a difference! The Shangri-La experience began from the second I arrived at the airport. I had booked a special offer which included an airport limo and the service was second to none. The driver rang ahead to the hotel, so that on arrival I was greeted by exquisitely presented staff, personally ushering me to the reception desk "this way Miss Jones" ! Reception was expecting me and again, the personal service continued. I did not have to lift a finger.
The room was fabulous, very spacious, practical and really quite homely. Whilst they did not have the bells & whistles of the Furama, the whole experience and greeting made up for it and more.
If I were to have one small gripe (and it's just the one), the hotel lacked restaurants that served up quick, inexpensive food. If it's a small bite that you want, you might struggle. That said, with all the choice outside, who needs it anyway?

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussextraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed July 17-22. Hotel is right on main street. Room was really big and had everything you needed. Had slippers, bathrobe, free bottled water. The bed was comfortable and shower was really good. Some have shower head on the ceiling. The gym was really good and had great steam room and big lounge area. The food was really good and always fresh. Close walk to many places to eat. The internet in the room was really fast. One tip is not to get scammed at the airport. It should only cost $40 local currency. You will get approached as soon as you leave the terminal. They will ask $150-$250. Don't believe them. Just wait in the taxi line and ensure you have hotel address in Chinese

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,223 in Dalian
395 reviews
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,223 in Dalian
425 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
#7 of 1,223 in Dalian
528 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#13 of 1,223 in Dalian
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Dalian

Address: No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District | No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dalian
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#2 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#16 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 563-room Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian is located in the heart of the city's booming commercial district, home of the city's top banks, restaurants and largest modern shopping mall. Only 20 minutes from Dalian International Airport and overlooking the harbour passenger terminal, the hotel offers a host of on-site food, entertainment and leisure options as well as north-east China's most comprehensive range of conference, meeting and banqueting facilities and services. Complimentary broadband Internet access and Wi-Fi services are available in all guestrooms and in the hotel's public areas. Enjoy complimentary weekend shuttle bus and book Horizon Club Room and above or Airport drop-off service to enjoy one-stop airport VIP service. Guests may enjoy long stay service when stay for 14 days or above ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dalian
Shangri La Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing