We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience and just minor cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Furama Hotel Dalian
Ranked #13 of 1,235 Hotels in Dalian
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have spent about one month straight at this hotel and I think I can estimate its quality very accurately :)
Overall impression - very good hotel.
Pros:
- nice modern rooms.
- lcd tv (I always pay attention to tv)
- clean and comfortable bed
- carpets are good (not old)
- nice bathroom with sort of advanced toilet :)
- good service, especially from an italian young guy, named Alex. Recommend him for all questions that you might have while in the hotel.
- nice food and good selection of food in the buffet restaurant, +not bad view
Cons:
-I bought the most expensive room in the hotel for 1 night. I expected the room to be worthy of that money (in other hotels of the same class you can really see the difference). But in this hotel the most expensive room is really similar to standard. The only differences are high floor, bath tub and some little amount free laundry. The rest is the same as standard room, including size, amenities, service, etc.
- some chinese female receptionist are a little rude and cannot provide you with good service +lack of english
-internet is quite slow and not accessible in restaurants and other public areas in the hotel
-by my experience all rooms are smoking allowed.
-sometimes you can hear noise from neighbouring rooms very well. given chinese are noisy people sometimes you have to enjoy hearing their arguments or really noisy talks. so rooms are not that sound proof.
-in the morning if you are sleeping you can be disturbed by the talks of housekeepers outside your rooms.
-warm water in shower often changes temperature and can turn quite cold for a few seconds, if you adjust it to a warmer temperature then later you might have really hot water from shower.

Room Tip: Be sure to talk to their italian staff named Alex if you have any questions in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 467 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Furama is a great business hotel (Take note - in chinese, the hotel's name is pronounced/spelled as Fuli-waah)

Airport to hotel is no more than 30 RMB so dont overpay.

Great breakfast spread, lovely spacious rooms and an excellent shower.

The menu is decent too and room service is quick.

Quite easy on the pocket and lot of options inside & outside the hotel for eating, shopping and relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FindingNeverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here four times in the past 6 years. It is a good hotel for the money. It is starting to show its age a bit ( being China a new Furama tower is going up next door). I thought the last stay - November of 2013- the quality of the breakfast had dropped a bit, and I had a not so good meal at the sushi restaurant on the 4th floor. The rooms are fine, the service good. It is fun people watching in the lobby.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lee7444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a busy hotel - especially around the time of the Moon Festival, when people are coming in and out to buy mooncakes. It's big - there are two towers. I was in the newer wing. The room was very nice, spacious, modern (check out the automated Japanese toilet). The breakfast buffet in the bistro was fairly good, though the service was idiosyncratic. The Korean restaurant was also good, but the service was similarly odd - very accommodating but the staff are not really confident enough to deal with English-speaking customers. This is the case for most of the hotel staff. The location of the hotel is excellent, though the driveway can get very busy. If you are in a taxi, it may be better to alight on the street and walk in, rather than wait to drive to the front door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areopagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I spent two weeks here for a conference, and overall was very impressed. It is walking distance to the new conference centre, the rooms are lovely and spacious (even those in the old East wing, where I was staying), there are lots of restaurants to choose from, and the staff were lovely, although quite a few of them spoke next to no English, making it difficult to communicate. The only annoying thing was that they make you wear a swimming cap to use the pool (I've been told this is normal for China).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ww-wef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

my wife and I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights the service was excellent, the room and facilities first class, the restaurants were also of middle to hi standard, we got a special price because were part of a Trade Fair Delegation from overseas, if this had any bearing on treatment and reception we do not know , but would have no problems going there again, we would definitively recommend it as five star hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juventus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Furama for one night and I must say, I only had one issue with the hotel. Asking for a queen sized or king sized bed would have the room rate sky rocket. So we got two single beds. The rooms are decently larger than your average hotel room, lots of room at the end of the beds, so we took off the mattress, put them side by side on the floor and kind of played bouncy house for a while. And when that novelty wore off we went swimming.

The pool is much smaller than I expected it be, but still there perfect size for doing some laps. Now, the interesting part is, this pool actually really has a deep middle. I'm over six foot tall and was able to be fully submerged. First time it's has ever happened in China! Not to mention the pool had warm water. Warm salty water. It is indeed a salt water pool. My skin was loving the pampering of the water!

The bath facilities for the pool, you get to use the hotels luxury soaps to wash down with. They smell divine and leave your skin feeling like it just spent the day at the spa.

The hotel rooms themselves, they had no smells of cigarettes and felt very clean. The TV's were large and had USB ports so it was fun to watch some shows on the big screen.

The staff themselves were lovely!!! They were very friendly and helpful, and they didn't stand there with their hands out expecting tips from anyone. And they all were very nice and friendly when interacting with them.

There was no breakfast, and the coffee in the rooms was instant. There was a bidet on the toilet which was a fun novelty, and the bathroom was very large and spacious. The tub was on the large side and the shower s perfect for one person.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit, and I've already reserved my room for when I return to Dalian in a few months. It is a great hotel- you get what you pay for and you pay a pretty penny, you get a wickedly amazing penny in return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
0 mi away
New World Dalian Hotel
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,235 in Dalian
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#1 of 1,235 in Dalian
1,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Continent International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,235 in Dalian
438 reviews
1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
#6 of 1,235 in Dalian
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Hotel Dalian

Address: No.60 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dalian
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
#10 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
Price Range: $71 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Furama Hotel Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Hotel Dalian is the first 5 star deluxe hotel in North East China. We have the most convenient location in Dalian; in the center of the commercial, shopping and entertainment area. Still it is only 20 minutes to airport, 5 minutes to the railway station and walking distance to the port passenger terminal. We have the largest and most comfortable guest rooms in Dalian, the facilities and warm welcoming service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furama Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalian Furama Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing