We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite hotel with spectacular management”
Review of Conrad Dalian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Dalian
Ranked #6 of 1,207 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite hotel with spectacular management”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. It has a spectacular harbor view with quite and romantic atmosphere. It is located with tons of great viewing spots and close to restaurants and is just a fabulous place to spend some time.
If you are looking for a lavish lifestyle with cherished moments, Conrad can not be topped. I enjoyed staying at Ritz Carlton in Guangzhou and Four Seasons in Shenzhen. Nonetheless, this hotel stands out due to the skillful managers who run this hotel. In particular, we were greeted and welcomed by the wonderful guest relation and EF mgr Kajana Sivakumaran. Our food was assured to its best quality by the great Q&C mgr Sean Cho. Every single detail was taken care by the astonishing and skillful director of operations Hamid Naseem. This jewel-like work is orchestrated by the amazing and visionary general manager Tony Marrinan.
As a matter of fact, in Dalian, it is unfair to rate this hotel for only 5-stars as Shangri-La and Intercontinental, it is way better and enjoyable than them. Definitely, Conrad is a must stay in if you visit Dalian.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments. We are truly delighted that you found Conrad Dalian “a fabulous place to spend some time.” The team was delighted to receive your comments and is very motivated. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Conrad Dalian soon.

Tony Marrinan, General Manager, Conrad Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
20
10
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the good things
Nice big room great shower comfortable bed. Check in and check out quickly and efficient.
The bad things.
Extremely understaffed the staff speak limited English when calling the one button service line to take down my luggage she asked me if I wand to send laungrrege to wash whatever that means and this was only one example the carpet in the room was not clean paint peeling here and there.
For a Chinese brand 5 star hotel it might be good but very disappointing for an international luxury brand especially the hilton brand.
There is a Hilton right next door maybe try that one or maybe not.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Of course I was extremely disappointed to learn that our service was not up to your standard. We are working hard to ensure communication in English is not an issue. I apologize that on this occasion we fell short of your expectation. On a brighter note thank you for your positive comments regarding the room, the speed of check in and check out.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Dalian soon.

Tony Marrinan, General Manager, Conrad Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My recent stay at the Conrad was a delightful experience. The view, the service and the food was the best experienced in Dalian. The Japanese restaurant is excellent. Hamid welcoming and helpful. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 894terryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was delighted to read your positive comments. Thank you. I will share them with the team to ensure they too are encouraged. I sincerely hope I have the pleasure to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel, Conrad Dalian soon.

Tony Marrinan, General Manager, Conrad Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is one of the best Conrad hotels in the chain. Yes, the location is still under development and difficult to get cabs etc. but the hotel itself is extremely well done. Staff are also excellent and very helpful. Stayed here many times and always had a great experience. Some English communication issues and short hours for the fitness center are about the only issues experienced but nothing really as a major detractor.

Even won a weekend trip getaway to the equally excellent Conrad Singapore last valentine's day dinner here! haha...

Room Tip: Checkout the bars at the Pier location just 5 minutes walk to the square from the hotel. House many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Payam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was delighted to read your positive comments. Thank you. I will share them with the team to ensure they too are encouraged. Please rest assured that we will continuously train our team member in order to improve the English communication skills. As for the operation time of fitness center, please kindly be advised that our Guest Service Manager is happy to assist to open it for you if you’d like to use the fitness center during the time out of 6:00-23:00. By the way, Congratulations on the wonderful trip to Conrad Singapore! I sincerely hope I have the pleasure to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel, Conrad Dalian soon.

Tony Marrinan, General Manager, Conrad Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

not easy to get taxi and will be risky to have someone sitting in your booked taxi. far from shopping area and site -seeing area. even no where to buy fruit. need to walk at least 30min to a nearby supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Peng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was disappointed to read your comments and learn that we did not get everything right for you. I will emphasize with my Concierge team that taxis cannot be shared and this must be made clear to the taxi drivers. I have actually not heard of this practice before Dalian.
The East Harbor location is constantly developing and I can now share that a convenience store has opened in level B2 which can be accessed from our building. Hopefully I will get the chance to welcome you back to Dalian in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Tony Marrinan, General Manager, Conrad Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great Hotel, professional people and very courteous. Clean, polite and great service. One of the finest we have stayed in. We have traveled to several countries, and Conrad in Dalian is at the top of the list. Going over board to help in every way from laundry to finding your way, if they didn't know answer, would find it out in minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Director of Operation at Conrad Dalian, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was very delighted to read your positive appraisal. I will share them with the team to ensure they too are encouraged. I sincerely hope I have the pleasure to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel, Conrad Dalian soon.

Hamid Naseem, Director of Operation, Conrad Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Conrad Dalian is most likely the best hotel in Dalian. The hardware is second to non; infact if this hotel was placed smack in the middle of Beijing or Shanghai it would not look out of place at all, infact it would still be one of the best. Unfortunately, not being in one of the major cities where hospitality scene is more mature, it lacks the service to go with it, and this is true to all the hotels in Dalian therefore Conrad is not to be blamed. The concierge team is quite knowledgeable, the front office team is very courteous and the elderly lobby greeter is very refreshing. The lobby lounge service could be a bit faster, however they were very friendly.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with harbor view are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danzing H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was very encouraged to read your positive appraisal. I will share them with the team to ensure they too are uplifted. I take an note your comments regarding service and rest assured we are not standing still and are looking for ways to strengthen our service offering.

I sincerely hope I have the pleasure in meeting you when you return.

Tony Marrinan, General Manager, Conrad Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#2 of 1,207 in Dalian
965 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Zhongshan District
Hilton Dalian
Hilton Dalian
#9 of 1,207 in Dalian
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,207 in Dalian
383 reviews
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,207 in Dalian
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Dalian

Property: Conrad Dalian
Address: No 31 Renmin Road East, Dalian 116001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian > Zhongshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,207 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Dalian is located at the center of Dalian’s East Harbor, neighboring the scenic Bohai Bay and sitting directly across from the International Convention Center. The hotel features a design that merges elements of Dalian’s local culture with Conrad’s distinctive approach to individual luxury. Staying in touch with the latest trends, Conrad Dalian offers business people and travelers a personalized experience that fully accommodates both work and play. Conrad Dalian will offer innovative experiences at three signature dining and entertainment venues. Other features available at Conrad Dalian include a beautifully appointed 25-meter swimming pool and high-tech fitness center, an international-branded hair salon, as well as two luxurious ballrooms and four multi-functional meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing