We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury”
Review of Conrad Dalian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conrad Dalian
Ranked #8 of 1,227 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I spent one night at the Conrad Dalian in June. The experience was excellent. Sumptuous property with marble in every corner close to the harbor and the Dalian exhibition center. The lobby is quite impressive with high ceiling and huge crystal chandeliers. My room was on the 35th floor. Very spacious, well appointed with 55'' flat-panel TV, iPod dock, a large closet and a bathroom, again with marble everywhere. The bed was very comfortable. The only - minor - negative point was the limited number of international TV channels available: no French, Spanish or German speaking channels. Very efficient and professional service. Breakfast is very good but I would have expected a broader selection of Western food, especially bread and marmalade. However, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and to return on another trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was delighted to read your wonderful comments both on our facilities and service. I will certainly share them with the team who will be very motivated. We appreciate your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in Dalian soon.

Tony Marrinan
General Manager
Conrad Dalian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 151 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

super facilities, elegant lobby and lounge, high-tec toilet seats and view port in guest rooms, spacious pool (water temperature very low), breakfast has a reasonal food choices; but needs a lot to do to train the staff to deliver exellent service: dirty plates can be cleared away more timely, bell and door can be warmer, concierge can be more professional, turn down can be more consistent...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Alvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was very happy to read your wonderful comments on our facilities. Thank you for bringing these to my attention. I will certainly look into the matters of pool temperature, and the consistent delivering of service excellence. We appreciate you sharing your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Conrad hotel soon.

Tony Marrinan
General Manager
Conrad Dalian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in the Conrad for 2 nights while arranging a Client Event. Rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. Attentive personal service all around. The event went smoothly and the restaurant staff did a great job. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit to Dalian. I was very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. And I thank you for your wonderful comments on both the product and service. I will be sure to share with my team. And I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel, Conrad Dalian soon.

Tony Marrinan
General Manager
Conrad Dalian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a great weekend with my family. Fantastic staff and facilities. Staff was extremely personable and accommodating. They found out it was my daughter's 19 birthday and made her a cake and signed a card. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was delighted to read your comments and I will certainly share them with the team who will be very motivated. I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in Dalian soon.

Tony Marrinan
General Manager
Conrad Dalian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fantastic property with sumptuous rooms. No details are spared, latest technology and grand decoration. Actually the hotel is in the same building as Hilton which look equally nice and you can use the restaurants and bars of both hotels. Breakfast was fantastic with good service and well groomed staff.
The curtains in the rooms let too much light through, but that's all I can criticize.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreekB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit. I was delighted to read your comments and I will certainly share them with the team who will be very motivated.

I was sorry to read your comment regarding the room curtain let too much light in. Each room has automatic blinds and curtains so I believe the blind was probably not closed which I apologise for. I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in Dalian.

Tony Marrinan
General Manager
Conrad Dalian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The owner of the Dalian Conrad Hotel, the Dalian Wanda Company, says on its website that this is China’s most luxurious urban business hotel. When you enter the hotel, you see all your expectations fulfilled: passing through a spacious very impressive hall, being seated at check-in, having nice views whenever you turn a corner, you find your room, spacious, decorated in traditional grand hotel style, with chandelier and paneled walls. The outside wall is fully in glass, looking on the harbor, with electric blinds. A little criticism is indicated here – there is very little space to put shirts, socks, sweaters etc. in, there is only one chair in the room, so with several persons in the room all but one have to sit on a bed - but apart from this one must say that the luxury stops here. That’s not due to the competent and very helpful staff, but rather through the owner’s determination to save money on service.
A Hilton Executive Room gives you a number of advantages, which are the same in all previously visited Hilton and Doubletree Hotels in China: freshly cooked breakfast in the executive lounge, an elegant and pleasant place to meet your guests, also with little tidbits to eat and drink. According to the Hilton website, it should be just this way here. However, contrary to the description in the web, there is no breakfast in the executive lounge, it opens at 3 pm, and the offerings in the evening are a very far cry from any of the previously visited Hiltons. The only restaurant of the hotel is fairly small, so small that we have been asked to have a stranger sit with us at the breakfast table, the choice is less than what is usually offered at Hilton or Doubletree. One should consider to eat in the restaurants of the Dalian Hilton, accessible at the second floor. Those restaurants fully meet all expectations (but the Executive Room service in the Hilton is the same as in the Conrad).
Travelers from outside China are well advised to write into their reservations that all credit card charges should be in Chinese yuan, especially if they selected an Advanced Payment offer. As a default, the hotel will charge you in your card’s currency at the hotel exchange rate, causing you to pay a few percent more. A polite statement at check-in will prevent any overcharging of this kind. All in all, the hotel offers a very pleasant living experience, but executive lounge service makes sense only if you are receiving guests from outside, all eating should be done in the Hilton at the second floor, and a little care is indicated regarding your credit card charges.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is probably the best compromise of price and quality. You might consider staying at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Conrad Dalian. Your comments regarding our facilities were very much appreciated. I understand your disappointment regarding breakfast at the Executive Lounge and we are commencing this next week. We are working hard to ensure that Conrad Dalian is the most luxurious hotel in Dalian and this there is great focus on our service and product offering.

Hopefully, I will have the opportunity to welcome you back so you can experience the change.

Tony Marrinan
General Manager
Conrad Dalian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I travel to Dalian frequently and have stayed at most of the international hotels which are all a but dated. So I was very excited to try the brand new Conrad when it opened last year and I have been staying there on every visit since. It is by far the best property with spacious room, large bathroom, nice bed, well equipped gym, beautiful pool, etc.... There is also a wide range of F&B options with the Hilton hotel in the same building.

Service is as good as one can expect from a new hotel in China. There are certainly room to improve but all the staffs are friendly which compensates for a lot of new hotel syndrome.

The only drawback is its location which is a bit out of the way and the hotel is surrounded by many construction sites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeijingHongkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Conrad Dalian, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Conrad Dalian for your recent visit in Dalian. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments on both the product and service of our hotel. I will be sure to share with my team. I agree that there is room for us to strive to continually improve and we are constantly challenging our service to exceed guest expectation. I understand your comments regarding the surroundings area. The new International Convention Center is now completed and will open shortly. They have begun landscaping so this will soon look much better. Of course our views of Diamond Bay and East Harbor are probably the best in Dalian. Dear BeijingHongkie, I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Conrad Dalian next time you visit.

Tony Marrinan
General Manager
Conrad Dalian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#2 of 1,227 in Dalian
1,003 reviews
Zhongshan District
Hilton Dalian
Hilton Dalian
#9 of 1,227 in Dalian
256 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,227 in Dalian
411 reviews
Shahekou District
Grand Hyatt Dalian
Grand Hyatt Dalian
#1 of 1,227 in Dalian
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Dalian

Address: No 31 Renmin Road East, Dalian 116001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian > Zhongshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,227 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range: $126 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Dalian is located at the center of Dalian’s East Harbor, neighboring the scenic Bohai Bay and sitting directly across from the International Convention Center. The hotel features a design that merges elements of Dalian’s local culture with Conrad’s distinctive approach to individual luxury. Staying in touch with the latest trends, Conrad Dalian offers business people and travelers a personalized experience that fully accommodates both work and play. Conrad Dalian will offer innovative experiences at three signature dining and entertainment venues. Other features available at Conrad Dalian include a beautifully appointed 25-meter swimming pool and high-tech fitness center, an international-branded hair salon, as well as two luxurious ballrooms and four multi-functional meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrad Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing