We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aulicare Hotel

Aulicare Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aulicare Hotel
Ranked #484 of 1,196 Hotels in Dalian
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

noisy, you will wake up on the call of some military hospital Morning call, if i am not mistaken about the description, but it is nearby hospital i guess ,
room have no amenities at all even it is rated a 4 star hotel ( at the reception NO GOOD ENGLISH) all you can get is a small water bottle and a tiny tube of shampoo and shower gel.
don't even bother to have breakfast there.......................

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cesar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about 2 weeks all up as a group booking. We stayed in the twin share rooms. Although there are no smoking signs around the hotel, the no smoking rule is not enforced and rooms come with an ashtray. We opened up the window when we arrived in the hotel room and were fine. Our friend's room was worse so she simply asked for a different room which was obliged.
The location is on a busy road with good access to Walmart (10 minutes down Zhongshan Rd) and the bus 16 stops right outside the hotel which goes into the city centre. Taxis in Dalian are also very cheap so we had no issues with location.
Breakfast is a typical chinese buffet breakfast. The options available vary depending on the day and time however we all found something to tide us over until lunch.
Fast wifi is available in the lobby and plug in internet is available in the rooms. Both are seemingly unlimited and free.
The rooms are rather luxurious. I had read previous reviews saying that it was shabby however we found that they were nice, clean and modern. No problems at all. The beds are a bit hard but they're soft by Chinese standards.
The reception staff speak simple english which is good enough to ask for most basic things. Their english and a chinese-english dictionary meant that we solved any problems that we had and managed to ask for anything that we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
293 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not a hotel for enjoying the wonders of China. It is good enough for a couple of days of business. Small rooms with not much storage, so not good for a long stay. Non-smoking did not seem to be an option, at least I could not get a non-smoking room. The room, of course, smelled of smoke. It had to be the hardest mattress I had ever slept on, but it was better than the floor. The sheets were clean, the AC worked, which was a great comfort in summer, and the bathroom was clean and included two bottles of water. The breakfast is Chinese, which means a buffet with vegetables, noodles, congee and not terribly good dumplings. Rooms have internet, but the only WIFI is in the lobby. It did, however, work and was reasonably fast. This is a place to sleep and not a place to stay. I would try for something else, but it is what was available and our hosts arranged it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

It is very difficult for a European to find a decent hotel in Dalian, I am afraid. Room was ok but nobody speaks a single word of English. Very basic hotel where you will find it difficult to eat or ask for a bottle of water. I had to leave after the 1st night. Sleeping quality and amenities were ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dalian hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Shabby to say the least. A crumbling hotel put up in the bad old days (guessing 1970s) and never renovated. Horrible stains on carpets, curtains, even lampshades (on the plus side, sheets/pillows were clean and there is free internet (wired only, not super fast but tolerable). Bathroom had been cleaned but couldn't escape bore the grubbiness of 50 or so years. The entire building smells like slightly stale fried food (there is a big "banquet" restaurant downstairs and a bar, neither of which I patronized). The room had another aroma, which was hard to place but I think I identified, on the last morning, as the very, very faint smell of sewage (the plumbing was erratic and on one occasion shot water out of the floor at my feet when I ran the faucet in the sink). Open the window and jam the a/c and it goes away. Shower pressure was good but the temperature moved from scalding to freezing without a touch on the control. Furniture looked like it had been made in a prison. Front desk staff don't speak English (what they are trying to explain is that they want a RMB 100 deposit to make sure you return your room key). There is an array of expensive cars in the parking lot, which adds credence to the idea, posted in a recent Tripadvisor review, that this place also serves as some kind of brothel (people with that kind of money would surely stay at a better hotel - and Dalian has plenty of nice hotels). If you are a Westerner considering this hotel, this is probably because you are attending a conference at the (truly fabulous, by the way) Dalian Expo/Conference Center and this is the recommended hotel. Take a tip from someone who has been ripped off: Don't do it! The conference rate is literally three times the rate you can book this hotel on the internet (about US $40, for which it's actually not too bad a deal). The conference center is too far to walk anyway, far better to book a decent hotel downtown near Zhongshan Square (about three miles east) - there is a Furama, an Intercontinental, a Hotel Ibis and others, for equal or less money than the Aulicare conference rate, not to mention all kinds of restaurants, bars, etc. If you do end up staying at the Aulicare anyway, there is nothing right outside the door but there are stores (including Wal-Mart) and restaurants (including Starbucks) about fifteen minutes walk out the front door (turn right, after the overpass). Dalian is a very nice town; don't spoil it by staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalian hotels
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#1 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
3.2 mi away
New World Dalian Hotel
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
#8 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
1.9 mi away
Yicheng Business Hotel
Yicheng Business Hotel
#488 of 1,196 in Dalian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulicare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulicare Hotel

Property: Aulicare Hotel
Address: No.418 Zhongshan Road, Shahekou District, Dalian 116021, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian > Xinghai Square , Shahekou District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 1,196 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aulicare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Aulicare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing