We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Italian elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bellisima

Casa Bellisima
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Andover, NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Better Italian elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We tried it here because I wanted to try all the local Italian restaurants when we moved up here. I grew up eating Italian, even in Italy. The food here is really just average at best. To be honest (and I won't name names to be respectful) out of the 4 Italian restaurants nearby, this comes in dead last. The service was good, and decor is just ok. We ordered chicken parm and scallops in risotto. My risotto was bland and the scallops were undercooked. The chicken was dry. I will not return here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecharleston612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood,
Level Contributor
142 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The staff at Casa Bellisima is welcoming, well trained and anxious to please. The food was good, particularly the salmon, and it was served hot. The decor is soft and relaxing, but some rooms are rather noisy. We requested a 'quiet spot' and were seated in a smaller room, but unfortunately there was a large table with loud talkers right next to us. We will return if we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nanag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The owner of this restaurant is always willing to accommodate you. She periodically walks through the restaurant making sure everything is fine. The food is delicious too!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BAM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Only Eat Here If You Are In A Hurry!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Dined here with friends for the first time. The food was ok, but nothing special. Throughout the entire meal, we were terribly rushed. Each course was served one after the other. You had no time to even take a breath. As soon as you put your fork down, the dish was taken away! If you lifted up your coffee cup to take a sip, the saucer was taken away!! It was like being in a bad movie! Absolutely ridiculous. When the bill was brought to the table, the server constantly came over to collect the money. Terrible service which ruined the evening. The only bright spot in the evening was the very friendly and courteous hostess.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgal1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A family favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

The food is always great and the staff treats you like family. The hostess is always pleasant and courteous. It has become my families favorite for special occasions.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evanes812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Bellisima also viewed

 

Been to Casa Bellisima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing