We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun
Ranked #4 of 693 Hotels in Changchun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Shangri-la Chaungchun already gave me the award for being there 25 times. From my point of view is the best location in Changchun, at least for somebody like me that travels often in China, but looking for western service whenever it is possible... Shangri-la works a lot to make you to feel at home, starting from the "welcome back mr Marco" at check-in, remembering which are the preferred welcome package in the room, etc. Rooms are clean and even the ones close to the elevators are not noisy. Shen cafè offers a good mix of chinese and western dishes for dinners, and offers western breakfasts. And finally, after some years of complaining, the internet connection became acceptable also from this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 650 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the best hotel to find in Changcun, but wouldn't say that it woawed us.
With the name of Shangri-La, it need to be better.
Older version, but no doubt we have got a good night.
Check in and out perfect, well trained staff, friendly and quick.
Room was good, even we could only enjoy a short night, business first.
We went downstairs with our client, to have a drink and meeting.
Waitresses knew immediately what I wanted, and they served it just it should be served.
Only, at 23.20, they informed us that they were closing.
Maybe good for our health and night rest, still, we weren't finished, but they let us have our meeting until we were done.
We enjoyed a good piano player and a good singer, who was singing even Cantonese songs, what is appreciated!
Well done!
Since it's the best hotel in the city, always a place to go back.
Upgrade is needed.
I wouldn't say average, and wouldn't say very good, for the name just good.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank ErikSongjiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Conclusion: Also mixed on this one. It's location is great, but it's old and service is average. But it's the only high end hotel in town....

This stay: Again, no SPG in Changchun so ... shangri-la.Check-in /Check-out ok, stayed at standard room. everything was average in every way. even the welcome fruit (which i paid for as part of a package) was average (8 lycees - sad)

Pros: Location, location, location

Considerations: Service is average, concierge doesn't know much (not fluent in English), bell boy asked me to go get a taxi by myself outside (Changchun traffic / taxi is very much like this during rush hours). To solve this issue, I had to pay more to regular taxi driver to secure a ride.... maybe it's Changchun's problem, but it's a problem. My room service for laksa noodle soup (which Shangri La is famous for) was average. Breakfast spread average. Everything was just average.

No comment: Swimming pool, spa, massage

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeadventurelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas S, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. The overall standard of service that you have experience at Hotel is not acceptable and is far from our usual level of service. Please accept our sincere apologies for this lapse. We have taken serious note of your feedback and have brought it to the attention of the department heads concerned for the necessary corrective actions to be taken. We do hope that this unfortunate experience will not prevent you from returning to Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Streiber

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Shangri-La a couple of times and have always found the service impeccable and the buffets including the breakfast buffet some of the best I have had in any hotel in China to date and I travel a lot there. Rooms are perfectly equipped, very comfortable beds (no difficulty getting a good nights rest here), and all the amenities once might expect for a top of the range hotel. Prices are not the cheapest however there can be deals found. Location is so good for the main shopping areas and there is certainly plenty in Changchun to keep you busy and amused for a while.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very warm welcome from a very kind and always helpful staff was my first impression in this Hotel. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and the beds are very comfortable. The big disadvantage is the well working air condition which is always to cold. It is only possible to switch it on or off but not temperature controlled. The breakfast is very good. The indoor pool and the gym is in a very good condition.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Live in Changchun long enough and you will start to miss western food. If you get bored of strollers and fancy splashing out, come here! For around 150RMB you get an all you can eat buffet of western and asian cuisine, expertly cooked. plus drinks included.

The dessert section itself is worth the trip. Prepare for a post eating nap.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip. It is very well designed hotel with a very good location. Everyday after I was free of my business hours, it was not difficult to spend few hours exploring this area. Hotel has got almost all the amenities which were very satisfactory and most importantly had english speaking staff.
I tried the spa here thinking its a big chain and would be really nice. But this was the only sad part. It is extremely horrible spa with absolutely good for nothing therapists and very small spa menu. This is the only thing I regret.
Also, to me this place is unbelievably expensive. But at the same time there aint any other place which can match up the standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agarwaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Changchun hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Changchun
Hyatt Regency Changchun
#2 of 693 in Changchun
99 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Changchun Jingyuetan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jin An Hotel
Jin An Hotel
#5 of 693 in Changchun
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
New Century Changchun Grand Hotel
2.7 mi away
South Lake Hotel
South Lake Hotel
#9 of 693 in Changchun
57 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Changchun Hi-Tech Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun

Address: No.569 Xi'an Road, Chaoyang District, Changchun 130061, China
Location: China > Jilin > Changchun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Changchun
#5 Best Value Hotel in Changchun
Price Range: $97 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most advanced PM2.5 filtration equipment is installed in all guestrooms, apartments and Horizon Club Lounge, purifying the indoor air quality and providing natural healthy air. The newly installed air conditioning system enables guests to adjust the indoor temperature to their preference all year round. The in-room humidifying system keeps humidity at the most suitable levels for the human body. Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun is the first and only international five-star hotel in Changchun City. The hotel has been named one of the “Top 100 Asia Hotels” by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and one of the “Top 100 China Hotels” by the readers of Travel + Leisure for four consecutive years. It was awarded the title of “Best Business Hotel” in Changchun by the readers of Business Traveller for ten consecutive years. The hotel is neighbouring with Charter Shopping Centre, Wanda Shopping Plaza and various banks. It is a 50 minutes’ drive to the Changchun Longjia International Airport, and only a 15 minutes’ drive to the Changchun Railway Station and High Speed Rail Station. Standing 25 stories high above the city’s commercial centre, Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun has 457 luxury guestrooms and 98 serviced apartments, equipped with deluxe amenities and modern conveniences as well as offering panoramic views of Changchun. All the guestrooms provide complimentary access to high speed broadband internet service. Wireless internet access available in all of the hotel’s public areas. The extensive food and beverage facilities include the food theatre of Shen Cafe, Shang Palace, Lobby Lounge and Beer Garden(opens in summer), serving international and Asian cuisine as well as northeastern specialties. The Health Club features trendy and state-of-the-art wellness and fitness facilities. The hotel also boasts one of the city’s largest Grand Ballrooms, which is completed with advanced facilities, the ideal venue for banquets, meetings and conferences and social celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Changchun
Shangri La Changchun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing