We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Top spot in Nanchang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galactic Peace International Hotel
Ranked #44 of 713 Hotels in Nanchang
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I recently stayed at the Galactic Peace Hotel during a business trip to Nanchang. The experience was overwhelmingly positive and I can’t find too many negative things to say about it – it deserves the 5 stars, but they need to improve the fitness center. The location seemed pretty good, not too far from Bayi Plaza and the city center, only about 10-15 minutes walk away. There is no shortage of shops and restaurants nearby. The riverside parks make for a great place for an early morning stroll or run.

The entry area and lobby are typically grand, as in most 5-star Chinese hotels, and the high-quality extended to the rest of the hotel. The rooms are roomy and spacious, spotlessly clean and well maintained, with carpet and wallpaper both in great shape. There were no problems with outside noise or hallway noise – I had a very restful sleep. The king size bed was softer than the average Chinese hotel which was a welcome surprise. There was a nice computer desk with free high-speed internet connection and the room was, in general, tastefully furnished. The bathroom was huge with separate shower and bath enclosures, all elegantly tiled in marble. They have several floors set aside for non-smokers – a real necessity in China!

I took the opportunity to use the fitness center and was disappointed. Although there were a half dozen good quality cardio machines (3 treadmills, 1 stat bike, 1 stair machine, and 1 elliptical), the weight lifting equipment was sadly lacking. They had an incomplete set of lightweight dumbbells, a limited variety of low quality weight machines, and I found it very difficult to get a good weight workout. If you just stick to the cardio, you’ll be OK.

I thought that the service was pretty good, definitely above average. Check-in and check-out was painless and easy. The staff were always eager to help out and pretty much everyone I spoke to was friendly and spoke reasonable English. The buffet breakfast was excellent – lots of fruit, cereal, and a great selection of hot western dishes and a full range of Asian breakfasts as well.

So, don’t look any farther than the Galactic Peace Hotel (cute name by the way) if you are planning on staying in Nanchang – very comfortable stay. The price was just over $100 which I thought was great value. I had a great stay, I will stay here again, and I highly recommend it to others.

Likes – large rooms, great service, breakfast buffet
Dislikes – poor fitness center

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Galactic Peace International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 370 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2010

We came to Nanchang to adopt our daughter. We stayed at this western style hotel for 5 days. We found the hotel to be very comfortable and suprisingly inexpensive. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Each room had floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom and bathroom with great views of the city. Most beds in China are very hard. The beds at this hotel were extremely firm, but comfortable by American standards. The food was recognizable -- nothing too strange, and it was good. Our family of four ate all of our meals at the hotel restaurant for only $157. The staff was wonderful! Very friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night and were exhausted after 27 hours of traveling. We needed bottled water and one of the bellhops took me to a store and bought us a case of water. Each room had a pot for boiling water -- you cannot drink the tap water even in the hotel unless you boil it. Our guide told us we could eat or drink anything at the hotel restaurant. He told us not to have ice in our drinks anywhere outside of the hotel because it could be contaminated. He also told us to take the items out of the minibar fridge and put our own beverages and food in the fridge. That made snacking a bit cheaper. Not many people understand English, but they can read it. We were often asked to write our requests down.

Be sure to use the bathroom before venturing out of the hotel. Most of the toilets we found were a hole in the floor with a hose beside it for flushing away the waste -- they were very dirty unless they were at a tourist venue. We had our guide with us most of the time. I don't know how you would get by without one with so few English speakers. Despite the language barrier, we did venture out on our own often. The hotel is in the heart of the city. Walking distance to a large city square, Mc Donalds, WalMart, RT Mart, and many other stores. The area is famous for making fine porcelin if you want to bring back souviners. We saw very few Americans. Be prepared for the locals to stare, point, and even giggle, especially if you have blonde hair. It seemed kind of rude, but was not meant that way. They are very curious and seem to love and admire Americans. If you do not have any gray hair, you will after a taxi ride around Nanchang. Everyone --cars, trucks, scooters, motorcyles, and pedestrians are all traveling 6 inches from each other, yet we only saw one accident. When you cross a street, follow the crowds of locals and do as they do. Other than the scary traffic, we felt very safe in Nanchang.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertlvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Travelled with wife and 6 y/o to adopt our 2nd daughter. Based on recommendations, we selected the Galactic Peace. Great Choice. There was a significant number of adoptive families there and they made sure that there were baby friendly food items (congee, steamed eggs, etc.) available at all meals. The buffet selection varied enough that we didn't become bored with the selections. the room was very comfortable with a super-sized king. within walking distance to the train station and a department store. A slightly longer walk will take you to the BaYi memorial and a walmart.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resqtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

This hotel is close to the railway station and as I came by train, it was perfect. However it is a little bit away from city center so the location gets 4 out of 5.

The business room at 47 sqm was large. The bed really comfortable with pillows of different sizes in the bed. The carpet was clean (I looked at it just because I had read an earlier comment about the carpet). The shower and the bath tub were just perfect. There was lots of international channels to choose such as CNN and HBO.

The room service was reasonably quick and the cheap pasta dish was delicious. The dumplings were a bit salty but very tasty.

The pool was large and I was there all alone on a Saturday morning. There is also sauna.

I cannot think of anything to complain about. Add to this the great price and I cannot fathom why one should stay anywhere else in Nanchang.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Awesome trip to the capital city of Jiang Xi Province

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed at the Galactic for 4 nights and had a very nice stay. The key word is comfortable. When travelling in a large and very hot city like Nanchang, it is very important to know that at the end of the day, you will come back to your comfortable room with a clean bathroom and air conditionning that works!

The other services of the hotel like the pool and the restaurant are not out of this world but are acceptable. All the hotel staff, working either at the reception, the restaurant or the concierge were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vevima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Excellent hotel Clean. modern. and non smoking rooms.. I move to this hote the rest of my stay in nanchang after my bad experience in gloria hotel...

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tequizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanchang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wanguo International Hotel
Wanguo International Hotel
#36 of 713 in Nanchang
2 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swiss Grand Nanchang (Swiss International Hotel Nanchang)
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Nanchang Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Nanchang
Shangri-La Hotel Nanchang
#5 of 713 in Nanchang
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dongfang Haojing Garden Hotel
Dongfang Haojing Garden Hotel
#271 of 713 in Nanchang
120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang
Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang
#13 of 713 in Nanchang
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galactic Peace International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galactic Peace International Hotel

Address: No.10 South Plaza Road,Xihu District, Nanchang 330002, China
Location: China > Jiangxi > Nanchang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nanchang
#19 Best Value Hotel in Nanchang
Price Range: $56 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Galactic Peace International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galactic Peace International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galactic Peace International Nanchang
Galactic Peace International Hotel Nanchang, China - Jiangxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing