We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but a little tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang
Ranked #8 of 697 Hotels in Nanchang
boston ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good but a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Gloria Plaza in mid April 2013. 10 years ago we stayed here and it was quite new then and very nice. Now it is looking a bit worn, with frayed carpet and chipped woodwork, but the rooms were clean. The beds are rock hard (quite common in China). Our room had two single beds, and we squeezed the three of us in, since there was no room for a roll away bed. The bathroom tile looked a bit worn, but everything worked. There is no iron or ironing board supplied in the room, but there is a mini safe and bathrobes in the closet. The hotel overlooks the river, and there is a pedestrian mall street a few blocks away that is a good spot for a stroll and people watching. If you are a westerner you will get some looks, as we are not as common here as in more touristy cities like Beijing and Shanghai. But everyone was quite friendly. Breakfast was included in our rate and was quite good, with western and Chinese foods in the buffet, and exceptionally good baked goods. Desk staff was helpful and spoke some English. We sat in the lobby lounge one evening and ordered drinks, and after 15 minutes the rather confused bartender apologized and gestured that she was unable to figure out the drinks, so we had beer instead. Just as well, as ice from local water could possibly be a problem. (Bottled water is supplied in the room). Note that in China smoking indoors still is accepted in places like hotel lobbies, not a big deal to me but something that you need to get used to. There is a tiny indoor pool (swim caps required) and an adjacent workout room, but several pieces of equipment were out of order, as was the steam room and sauna. The surly gym attendant chewed me out for something, but since I don’t speak the language I don’t know what my sin was.
Overall it is a decent place but needs some updating; If I ever return I would take a look to see if newer properties are available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jah39a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    191
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
2
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz
Level Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I only spent one night in this hotel, and arrived after midnight, so I did not had much time to experience much of the city. The lobby was very decent, my room was clean, spacious and tidy. Breakfast was clearly oriented towards Asian customers, but featured enough variety to pleasure international travelers as well. The personnel was very friendly but never intrusive. It is definitely not a real 5* Hotel, but for this price no one can expect this anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nanchang is not a well developed tourist area, and there are few hotels which can be considered international standard. This is one of the few, and it is not only clean and tidy, but also close to the city center. I liked the spacious rooms with plenty of space to even work in the hotel and feel comfortable. The restaurant was very good and offered meals for international travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiley7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were in Nanchang for adoption and our agency chose this hotel. I had read quite a few bad reviews so was not expecting much. The problems were the walls were covered in mold behind the curtains, the air conditioning would be switched off and the smell of cigarettes would fill our room. The swimming pool looked like it needed a good scrubbing. Daughters loved the buffet. Location is great but noise from traffic could be heard on 5th floor.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jerri l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I didn't expect to found such a nice & comfortable hotel in this chinese region. Went there on a December winter, weather was awfully cold & rainy most of the time, but we checked in into this nice & warm hotel. The room was okay, not so modern but it still has its charm, most importantly clean. The good thing is the internet which is incredibly fast, got me connected to the world again after a few days without the net. Breakfast the next day was graciously good, they served the whole western selection as well as chinese dish like dimsum. The staff were also very polite & friendly even though the only one able to speak English was the the manager at the reception. All in all, it was a good stay & very much recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband's faint praise for this hotel was "we've stayed in worse." We actually stayed in this hotel in 2005 when we adopted our daughter and had a pleasant experience at the time, so we decided to stay there again on this trip. Staff are lovely and helpful but the hotel just feels worn and shabby. Our room was dark and dreary; the tub sported mineral stains, and brown water came out when we first ran the taps. Beds were rock hard; this did not distress us and we expected it, but some are taken by surprise. The lobby lounge was pleasant enough but we were shocked to see the tiny cup of Haagen Dazs ice cream we ordered for our daughter, and which was kept under lock and key, cost almost $9. Still, service was good and we probably should have asked to look at the menu before wantonly ordering. (There is a Haagen Dazs ice cream cart on the other side of the lobby that sells scoops for less than half the price, as we discovered at breakfast!).

Breakfast was a dismal affair; some tired fruit displays and stale pastries, eggs, bacon, steamed buns and congee. There were Western and Chinese options but all of it looked sad and unappealing. We noticed as we were leaving that the reception area was suddenly blocked off and a sign announced that it was under renovation. Perhaps a sign that management recognizes the need for a facelift. You could do worse, and the location isn't bad, but you could do a whole lot better. And as noted in other reviews, the smell of cigarette smoke, even on our nonsmoking floor, was offputting.

Room Tip: It's fine for a night or two. Non-smoking floor doesn't mean much, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is by far being a terrible hotel as some reviews have said. For a western standard hotel I would give it 3 stars. The rooms are very clean, but definitely dated. Furniture is old, but the carpets are newer. The beds are rock hard. Amenities in the room are quite good, as is the internet and choice of TV stations with many English channels. The food in the lobby restaurant is decent but uninspired. The Chinese restaurant located on the 2nd floor is very good. Service trough the hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDX16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanchang hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Nanchang Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Nanchang
Shangri-La Hotel Nanchang
#2 of 697 in Nanchang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Grand Nanchang
Swiss Grand Nanchang
#3 of 697 in Nanchang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galactic Peace International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Grand Skylight International Hotel
1.8 mi away
Jin Feng Hotel
Jin Feng Hotel
#27 of 697 in Nanchang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang

Property: Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang
Address: No.39 Yanjiang North Avenue, Xihu District, Nanchang 330008, China
Location: China > Jiangxi > Nanchang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nanchang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nanchang
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nanchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Nanchang
Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang China - Jiangxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing