We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A huge place”

Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot
Ranked #1 of 142 things to do in Wuxi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A huge place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

China has five giant buddhas according to our guide. This is the one in the north and the one in the south is in Hong Kong which we also visited during this trip. This is a huge place, nothing historic about the site, this is a new build just for the tourists. The fountain show of the birth of buddha is quite nice. There are also shuttle bus to take you around for a nominal fee. This place is not crowded because of its size, it is perfect for a day trip with family.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank funr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    219
    63
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Expensive, but we spent about five hours here and all loved it (including our 7 year olds). The giant Buddha is amazing, and definitely make sure to catch the "Bathing of the Baby Buddha" which takes place a few times a day and is really spectacular. We had no idea what the "performance" at the Palace was about (included in your ticket price) and it was definitely a totally random experience, but all the more enjoyable since we didn't know what to expect (I won't ruin the surprise). One tip - it was hot and sunny, and while we walked almost the entire day, there came a point when we really wanted to ride the shuttle, but turns out you have to buy shuttle tickets at the entrance, so definitely buy them if it's hot, just in case (25 RMB).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do you know how much for entrance fee?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We drove there and parked which cost us 15yuan first. The Buddha is easy to see from far far away. So we want to look closely. It's rediculous that the entrace fee is from RMB150 to RMB210 which is much higher than Forbidden City even the Louvre in Paris. We are not as religious as others. So we just took photos outside front door and left.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eeco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“This place is enormous!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Plan to do plenty of walking, maybe a little less if you ride around in thoses yellow, open-air shuttles. This place is not a temple, congregation, or a particular religious sect. This place just showcases the buddha, including the depiction of the birth of buddha in a spectacular open air ( and water-enhanced) show. It's promoted as a Buddhist Culture Expo. There's also a huge statue of the buddha at the top of the site which requires a bit of a hike. Just when you think you at the top of the stairs and there's no where else to go, an elevator is available to take you to a higher viewing platform which is at the foot of the statue. I think the tour guide said it was one of, if not the largest, bronze standing buddha statue in China. I heard the admission is pricey, and now I know who's paying for all that gold and exotic wood throughout. I think the most fun was zipping around in those shuttle carts -- they were hair-raising rides! This place is way too touristy for me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ikodikomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What would Buddha think?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is an impressive site. Like a lot of tourist sites in China, the admission price has become obscene (CY210). Note, this is not an ancient religious site. Everything here is modern and very commercialized (which seems to appeal to the crowds of Chinese tour buses that flock here). The site is a pretty good distance from downtown Wuxi, but it is serviced by a city bus from the train station (1-1.5 hour ride). There are also any number of tour operators who will sell you a half day tour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank baron48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot also viewed

 

Been to Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing