We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Wuxi
Ranked #2 of 669 Hotels in Wuxi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“High quality business hotel”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, whilst quiet when we were there, was impressive. Started well with a very helpful concierge who we rang from the airport to provide directions to the taxi driver. All staff were professional and it was particularly helpful that the majority of the staff spoke at least some English. The room was very good, new, large and well furnished. I am not a huge fan of the new prevalent design of a large window between and bedroom and the bathroom but at least there is an automated blind to close this off. Wifi in the room was no good but worked well in the Club Lounge. We had dinner in the Senses steak restaurant which was good but very expensive. I would probably recommend eating in the main restaurant instead. Breakfast in the main restaurant was very good with a huge range of options. Overall a recommended option for business travellers.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian f, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Wuxi, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Wuxi. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable! We strive to achieve excellence at every level. Learning that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed is the best reward.

Thank you again for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Wuxi soon!
Sincerely,

Ellen Hu
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager
InterContinental Wuxi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    83
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
22
15
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is clearly a VERY well managed, attention-to-every-detail property in every regard. They did not disappoint in any detail or aspect regarding service, amenities, cleanliness, modern appearance, or comfort.
I was promptly greeted at the taxi and was greeted over and over by each employee as I entered and walked through the property each day. As a top-level member in their frequent traveler program, my check-in was very quick and painless. The elevator buttons at each floor are these huge touch panels - a little odd, but don't waste time looking for a little round button, just touch the panel.
The keys are old-style mag-strip and they are required to power the room and HVAC, so get two so you can have power in your room and have a comfortable room when you return in the evening.
The room furnishings are first class all the way. My room had a huge TV and DVD player, clean modern furniture, and a great desk/workstation. The lighting was above average - and like most Chinese hotels, the room lights can be turned off at bedside.
I can list the higher end hotels I have stayed at in Asia including JW, Pullman, Sofitel, Hyatt, etc... so what sets this apart? Well, it is the attention to detail, and no cutting corners anywhere. If you look in the bathroom of many hotels you can find some detail not perfect - like tile grout not meticulously cleaned top to bottom - finger prints on chrome fixtures, smears in a foggy mirror - not here. Not at the Intercontinental Wuxi. It is clear that the discipline is maintained throughout the hotel. The breakfast was another example of the lengths they go to to provide a remarkable customer experience. First class food and an extremely wide variety of foods both Asian and western.
This is a hotel that I will certainly recommend and return to in the future!

Room Tip: I was given room 3201, and I think it was larger than my first home - and clearly larger than an ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vzqk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian f, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Wuxi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Wuxi. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable! We strive to achieve excellence at every level. Learning that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed is the best reward.

Thank you again for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Wuxi soon!
Sincerely,

Ellen Hu
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager
InterContinental Wuxi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stay in this hotel 2 night this month. It's my first time choose this hotel. The first image is very good.
The bed is very comfortable and the washroom is very big. The supplies in washroom are very good.
My favorite for this hotel is breakfast. There are many available food : fresh squeezed juice and local special food like Xiaolong etc. they are all delicious.
But just one thing is not good, I spend about 30 minutes for checking. I want it will be better when I check in next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian f, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Wuxi, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear InterContinental Guest,

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel( room, breakfast, etc). Feedback such as yours is very valuable to us.We have noted down the problem about check in efficiency and will be reviewing this with my team to ensure that this does not occur again in the future.

Looking forard to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wuxi soon!
Sincerely,

Ellen Hu
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager
InterContinental Wuxi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental with my husband & was impressed with this new hotel for Wuxi. It was 2009 the last time I visited Wuxi and the city has changed so much. This is a high rise modern hotel. The room we were in over looked the Wuxi Museum, also new in the last four years & a very impressive building. The park around the museum was full of locals taking their dogs for walks, kite flying & roller skating. There is a hire for mini electric cars for little kids which was really cute. I would like to say thank you to the staff at the Intercon for great service William and Simon and all the team create a very welcoming atmosphere. Thanks guys for looking after my husband while he has been there on business I can see now he is staying in a great place. My only gripe is please tone down the load music at breakfast, the area is surrounded by fountains and running water so it would be nice to enjoy the natural sound & not a disco back beat. Breakfast was delicious & an excellent selection of western & Chinese to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeybun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian f, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Wuxi, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Wuxi. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable! We strive to achieve excellence at every level. Learning that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed is the best reward.

Feedback such as yours is very valuable to us.Thank you again for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Wuxi soon!
Sincerely,

Ellen Hu
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager
InterContinental Wuxi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We received a good deal to stay at this hotel - only problem we were only there for one day.
Everything we needed was catered for during these few hours.
We also received a complimentary upgrade to a suite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian f, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Wuxi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Wuxi. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable! We strive to achieve excellence at every level. Learning that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed is the best reward.

Thank you again for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Wuxi soon!
Sincerely,

Ellen Hu
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager
InterContinental Wuxi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just had company offsite this week in this hotel, so basically I stayed in the hotel for two days, which offers broad exposure from guest room, meeting room to the restaurant. Let me provide comments based on these three aspects:

Guest room:

Intercontinental has narrowed its benefit to Ambassadar recently. No access to lounge service although we are upgraded one level to the executive floor. It is OK to me this time as we were in meeting whole day but other guests might feel disappointed.

The executive room is big enough, but bed size is below queen size. Considering this is executive floor, it seems a bit below expectations. Besides, quilt is too thick to me and there seem to be no alternative.

In terms of bathroom amenities, it is Agarius per Continental consistency, but all have been localized. Maybe we can blame this to hefty tarriff, but this might make a difference to picky business executives.

Meeting Room:

Decent size and few companies have meeting in the hotel, but on the other hand, AC in the corrider was not operating maybe due to few guests. This is a problem for us when we split into group discussions and some group has to work in the corrider. We asked for AC turning on, and although eventually it worked, the first response from hotel is hesitant. As a premium hotel there is no reason to displease guests by saving electric bills.

Restaurant (Food)

Personally, I put smoked salmon as one of major indicator of top-star hotel. Unfortunately, no smoked salmon available until I asked for it. The manager mumbled a few words and after a few minutes, a small dish of salmon was delivered to my table, and he said only executive floor guest can enjoy salmon. This is quite funny, weird and annoying. I just cannot believe Intercontinenal as a global premium hotel just don't provide salmon as buffet.

Overall, this hotel seem to save every penny and cost reduction appear to be overly highlighted. If you are seeking five-star experience, please weigh on other options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian f, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Wuxi, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was very distraught to hear of your unpleasant experience with us and will be reviewing this with my team to ensure that this does not occur again in the future.

Feedback such as yours is very valuable to us.Please accept my sincerest apologies. I hope that on your next visit to Wuxi you will allow us the opportunity to redeem your faith in InterContinental Wuxi.

I look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wuxi.
Sincerely,

Ellen Hu
Assistant Marketing Communication Manager
InterContinental Wuxi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Intercontinental Wuxi is convenient located about 30 min drive from Wuxi Airport. It's situated in a newly developed district and is also close to the old town (the heritage 'walking street' - Nanchang Jie (Street), of which you can find all kind of pub (taxi fare from the hotel was in the 'RMB10 zone', that is within a very short distance and the cab driver will not flag the meter down and pocketed the fare).

We stayed at the Club floor at 37th floor (top floor), room is very spacious and is over-looking the city. The wifi signal at the Club is strong and speed is very fast. The Club serves daily buffet breakfast and afternoon snacks. There's even equipped with meeting facilities to use (a casual sitting room, a small conference room and a small private room with working desk and desktop computer). But if you have an appetite and you need more more, go for the buffet b'fast at the I-cafe, it'll definitely wow you. And for those who doesn't have confidence to eat at the local eateries, there're four restaurants at the hotel serving Chinese, Western and Japanese food.

One thing I'd commend the management team is that they've put a sign in the non-smoking room reminding guests not to smoke in the room or else they have to pay a fee for purifying the room. It works ... our bed mattress and the carpet doesn't smell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian f, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Wuxi, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Wuxi. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable! We strive to achieve excellence at every level. Learning that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed is the best reward.

Thank you again for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Wuxi soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wuxi hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Wuxi
Kempinski Hotel Wuxi
#1 of 669 in Wuxi
454 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wuxi
Hyatt Regency Wuxi
#4 of 669 in Wuxi
105 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Wuxi Binhu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Wuxi
Hotel Nikko Wuxi
#6 of 669 in Wuxi
165 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pullman Wuxi New Lake
3.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Wuxi
Millennium Hotel Wuxi
#10 of 669 in Wuxi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Wuxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Wuxi

Property: InterContinental Hotel Wuxi
Address: No.6 Yonghe Road, Nanchang District, Wuxi 214023, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Wuxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 669 Hotels in Wuxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Wuxi 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Wuxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing