We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning design, peaceful location and one of the nicest Asian hotels I've ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Ranked #13 of 1,413 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning design, peaceful location and one of the nicest Asian hotels I've ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

An absolutely gorgeous hotel, immaculate in style and cleanliness. The lobby is in Japanese style, very attractive and peaceful. Room was a good size and nicely furnished with a lovely ensuite bathroom. Service was excellent, we used the business centre to buy our train tickets, they were very helpful. There is a large indoor swimming pool in the complex and the hotel sits in very pleasant chinese garden-style grounds. Excellent location with plenty of restaurants nearby and at least one of the Gardens that Suzhou is famed for. All in all I can't think of a single negative thing to say about the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedo-epicureans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    131
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
74
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

This was my favorite hotel of the entire China tour (w/ China Spree). The lobby is tranquil and elegant. The rooms are clean and plush. The bed, pillows and comforters were the best. My first full night of sleeping! The bathrooms were clean and done in a zen tradition style. I'm not sure where the see-through glass comes into play. The curtains are control from the bedroom side. A bit kinky here. The breakfast here was the best. The food was tasty and there were quite a few varieties. I could stay here for a few days more! The courtyard is nicely designed and shopping is right outside the entrance walls. Easily accessible! The only thing I wasn't thrilled was the advertising of swimming pool. You have to take a go-kart to go to the spa bldg and sign in. Once I went through that process, they tell me we must swim with a cap on, and of course, we don't own it - however, they "conveniently" sell these swim caps. In any case, we forgo the swimming and just went back to the hotel. Still, it did not detract from the pleasantness of this hotel. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I just loved this hotel. The rooms were in 4 blocks around a beautiful garden. The room was excellent overlooking a canal. Very good breakfasts with excellent staff. The famous Lingering Garden was just a short walk and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Garden Hotel in Suzhou as part of a ChinaSpree Tour. The hotel is just down the block from a significant Chinese garden, and the grounds of the hotel itself continue the theme. Our room had a sophisticated decor; particularly the bathroom. The only meal we took at the hotel was the breakfast buffet, which offered a very wide selection of beautifully prepared dishes.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Of all the hotels experienced on a ChinaSpree tour, this hotel was the most successful blend of all the modern comforts guests expect presented in a setting of traditional Chinese elegance. From the tasteful gardens and pools outside to the stylish, understated look of the hotel's public areas and rooms, the result is a peaceful, elegant,
relaxing blend in contrast to the modern towers in much of China that can be found anywhere in the world. Comforting to the spirit and the body--a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A property scrupulously maintained with great care to detail. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I had a very brief stopover at this hotel, as part of our honeymoon tour in China. We spent one night here but left at 4am to catch a train so didn't get to sample breakfast.
The room was quite large and nice, with a king size bed. The hotel is located near the old town and right on one of the canals. Our tour guide organised a boat trip and we were picked up from the hotel by boat!
The gardens are small but situated in the centre courtyard with ponds and traditional style bridges - very pretty. We also walked to the Old Town and to the nearby park where the locals go, so location is good.
I would recommend this hotel, even if I didn't get to spend much time there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#30 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)

Property: Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Address: No.99 Daichengqiao Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#7 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#10 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#31 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road) 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing