We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, nice rooms but far from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,459 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you are traveling to Suzhou as a tourist, this hotel is not really well located. It was too far to walk to most of the local attractions and there are not any foreign restaurants or good bars within walking distance. To get to the "bar street" we had to take a taxi, and to get to some foreign restaurants we needed to take the subway. The one redeeming factor is that both subway lines are within five minute walk of the hotel and can easily get you to the main tourist attractions.

Location aside, this hotel is a bit dated, but the rooms are really big and very comfy. The employees at the hotel also speak English and do their best to provide great service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have great views across the city
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton_Lv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear jpcanada,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel. Our main objective is to ensure our entire guest receive the best of service at all times.
As you said, our location is very close to many sight spots like old Shan Tang Street and CDBs.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We value you as our loyalty customer and we all hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Lytton Lv
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 492 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel rooms are very spacious and not bad maintained, but a little outdated. Beds are very comfortable, good bathrooms. Good breakfast, a lot to choose from, not bad taste. Didn't tried restaurant itself. Empty minibar, but plenty of small shops near the hotel. Poor wi-fi signal (in all three rooms I was).

Good location to reach most of the Suzhou parts via metro.

Staff was average, especially when I had room rate issues. I booked rooms via ihg.com and got confirmed room rates. When I arrived on Saturday, I was informed, that weekend has different room rate, which is close to twice higher. I started complaining it, but got only the apologies and explanation, that there is an error on official IGH website room rates. But this is not my problem! I got price confirmation (except for taxes). After that I wrote a letter to IHG Guest Relations and after a day got confirmation, that this issue was solved and I will be charged the price I've booked. Soon got a confirmation from the hotel manager too. But it's sad, that I had to write to Guest Relations, staff was very lost...

Room Tip: Ask for top floors with windows to the east. On the clear day Suzhou CBD near Jinji Lake is visible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton_Lv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear banditaz,
Thank you for your stay in our hotel. We would like to apologize for any inconnevience caused by error of our reservation system for this stay. I think the issue was fixed before you checked out.

We truly value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give us the opportunity of improving the quality and services we offer.
We value you as our guest and we appreciate your loyalty.

Lytton Lv
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed for business in this hotel for only one night this time. It is centrally located and the rooms are huge (1701), clean and well equipped. Minibar is empty, so you need to fill it yourself. I did not go to the restaurant, so cannot make a judgement on that. The Lobby bar has very little atmosphere and selection. I was disappointed with the breakfast. I came in at 9.30 and all juices were finished. The selection for people looking for a continental breakfast was very limited to start with and also most run out of stock. Surely not 4-star grade.

You need to value this hotel for its rooms, not so much for the other hotel services.

Room Tip: I statyed in room 1701. Big room, Kingsize bed. Clean, big bathroom. No complaints!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikHK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton_Lv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear ErikHK28,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoy our specious and clean room. Please accept our sincere apology for the unsatisfactory service you received from our restaurant and we regret the food served during your stay did not live up to your expectations.

Rest assured this issue will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We truly value your comments, as these give us the opportunity of improving the quality of hotel.

We value you as our guest and we appreciate your loyalty.

Sincerely,

Lytton Lv
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Good central location with an easy walk to the canal district.

Got upgraded to a huge room which was well equipped but the walls are getting close to needing an up-date. Bathroom was excellent.

Had no problems at check-in and the tourist desk had handy little cards to give to taxi/pedicab drivers.

The only issue was the room temperature - no matter how low I set it the room was too warm (and it was only low-twenties celsius outside).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easterbeilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton_Lv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Douglas009,
Thank you for your stay in our hotel.Our main objective is to ensure our entire guest receive the best of service at all times.
As you said, our location is very close to many fanous sight spots like old Shan Tang Street and Tiger Hill.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We will take more effective action to keep all facilities with best condition and we all hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.
Lytton Lv
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Came to Suzhou from Nanjing and from arriving at the Holiday Inn, Jasmine you immediately could tell it wasn't quite of the standard of the Nanjing hotel. At the front desk the staff didn't quite provide the full level of service or information we had received in Nanjing. The bedroom was nice and large but a bit tired with incredibly dull decoration. And like so many high rise buildings in Chinese the windows are dirty, which is a shame and makes the view a little murky even on the brightest day.

The dining room staff were not quite as helpful as they had been in Nanjing and breakfast wasn't as slick, so when foods ran out they were not replaced. However still a good choice and enjoyable breakfast.

We had an excellent meal in the restaurant (5th floor) on one night.

I would class our experience as being 3 star hotel standard. A good experience but it could have been better.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton_Lv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Neil R,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and I hope you had a great vacation in Suzhou,
Our location is very close to many famous sight spots like old Shan Tang Street, Tiger Hill and Train station. Hotel located between the CBDs SIP and SND. It means you will enjoy above nice view from your room.

I am sorry for any inconvenience caused by our service and facilities. Rest assured this issue will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements and staff training needed. We truly value your comments, as these give us the opportunity of improving the quality of hotel.

Please contact us via Lytton.Lv@ihg.com, I will personal take care of your next stay. On behalf of hotel, we all hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Lytton Lv
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

the hotel is very basic for a holiday inn. the rooms are large and comfortable. well maintained. the kitchen and restaurant were a nightmare. sloppy staff . food cafe and generally not clean. would never eat there again... as for the front desk. not one question or request seemed easy. they seemed put out. someone should send them to hospitality training school. we paid for a club room but no where near club lounge quality

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton_Lv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Anna B,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take more effective action and training to ensure all facilities and services are of the highest standards in Holiday Inn Suzhou Jasmine.
Please contact us via Lytton.Lv@ihg.com, I will personal take care of your next stay. On behalf of hotel, we all hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Lytton Lv
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Suzhou is a nice canal town and the hotel is walking distance from the very pretty local area that's particularly attractive after dark.

Located on big junction the hotel did get a bit noisy at night.

We had an excellent, clean, spacious room and everything worked as it should.

Restaurant service was a bit "iffy" and breakfast wasn't the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton_Lv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Malcolm C

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and I hope you had a great vacation in Suzhou,Our location is very close to many famous sight spots like old Shan Tang Street, Tiger Hill and Lingering garden. Hotel located between the CBDs SIP and SND. It means you will enjoy above nice city view from your room.

I am sorry for any inconvenience caused by breakfast service. Rest assured this issue will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We truly value your comments, as these give us the opportunity of improving the quality of hotel.

We all hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Lytton Lv
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#11 of 1,459 in Suzhou
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#10 of 1,459 in Suzhou
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#31 of 1,459 in Suzhou
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#7 of 1,459 in Suzhou
787 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
1.9 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel

Address: No.345 Changxu Road, Jinchang District, Suzhou 215008, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#10 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#21 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: $70 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou is well-appointed as pre-five star standard, conveniently located in Shilu commercial, shopping & entertainment district. It is right next to the Suzhou traditional cultural street-- Shantang Street. Transportation is easy and convenient with Shanghai being only 1 hour away by bus, 3 kms to the Hi-Tech Industrial Development Zone, 6 kms to the Suzhou Singapore Industrial Park and 2 kms to the railway station. 287 well appointed and different style rooms, including 77 executive business rooms and executive suite, as well as executive lounge for executive guests.We offer wide range varieties of cuisine at any of our three outlets. Songhelou Suzhou Restaurant with a great reputation and over 200 years history serves mouth watering Suzhou dishes. Tulip Cafe, Moxiangyuan Tea bar, and Banquet Hall offer a wide selection of food and drinks whether you are looking for a casual snack or a full dinner. Ten meeting rooms equipped with the latest audio/visual facilities is suitable for various meeting groups, ranging from 10 persons in boardroom style to 250 persons in theatre style. We have a team of professional trained staff to meet your meeting, catering, theme parties and conference needs and will ensure the success of your event. Whether you are in Suzhou for business or pleasure, Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou is a relaxing oasis waiting to cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Jasmine Hotel Suzhou
Holiday Inn Suzhou
Suzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing