We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good start to day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs
Ranked #139 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good start to day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of Travelsphere Discover China trip. This hotel had the best breakfast choices of the whole trip.It was also next to KFC for those on the 2 week trip who were tired of Chinese food. On the last morning in Suzhou had 3 hours to walk around by ourselves and enjoyed the small streets where the locals live and buy their groceries.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    64
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
14
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

we stayed at the castle as part of our travelsphere tour of china. The hotel staff were friendly & welcoming, taking our luggage to our rooms. Our room was spacious & clean with everything we needed, the bathroom was also large & clean. Breakfast was served in the second floor dining room, with a good selection of chinese & western style foods. The location of the hotel was alittle way from the city centre but taxis are cheap & plentiful so it was quite easy to go shopping or sightseeing. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ipswichjimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was our fourth hotel on our travelsphere,discover China tour.The hotel was very dated,dull with a musty lingering odour.The wallpaper was brown and peeling of the wall,and you've got to worry about any hotel that supplies you with a plug in air freshner in your room ! However to be fair to the hotel the room had a flatscreen t v,the beds were comfortable and without doubt,breakfast was the best out of all the five hotels we stayed in during our tour.We would not stay here out of choice,or recommend it to anyone,but with a bit of moderisation it could be ok

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not require an air freshner....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alistair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Very Good stay.Rooms clean and comfortable, all mod cons, safe,tea/coffee making facilities(most chinese hotels only provide complimentary tea bags take yr own coffee) Safe in roomsTV.Public areas well decorated.Bar and Restaurant on ground floor.Restaurant food very good buffett style.Staff efficient and helpful.Would stay again

Room Tip: Some rooms may have been refurbished request fifth floor or above as far as I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel was part of the Highlights of China tour with travelsphere, and was one of the worst of the tour.

We had a room on the floor 6th floor which was crying for modernization, however some of the other who were on the 8th floor said that their rooms were just remodeled. So I supposed is the luck of the draw.

There breakfast was a good combination of Chinese and western style, the only problem was the locals smoking everywhere in the breakfast room as early as 6 in the morning which really put me off food.

Based on my experience I will not recommend this hotel, at least until is fully refurbished.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

Had an executive room: was just fine. Service and other facilities far better than you'd get in North America for the price. Would stay again, no problems in recommending.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank 40+Saskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

Quite simply, the room was not very nice. It was badly in need of refurbishment and had a musty smell. Wallpaper around the airconditioning was black and peeling and paintwork in the corners was badly in need of repair, and carpets needed replacing.

After a long day touring around, this was not a pleasant retreat to return to.

Had breakfast in the restaurant which was just OK, although there was a good selection of both chinese and western fare available.

On the brighter side the staff were very efficient and friendly.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank trrrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
0.1 mi away
Overseas Chinese Hotel
Overseas Chinese Hotel
#175 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#7 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#29 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Century Hotel
New Century Hotel
#118 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs

Property: Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs
Address: No.333 Sanxiang Road JinChang District, Suzhou 215004, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#86 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing