We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything works but that's about all. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Ranked #29 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything works but that's about all. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night but it was not that memorable. Location not that great and breakfast so so.
One of the security staff had a barney with a female client at the entrance and spilled into the lobby. This went on for 20 minutes or so and several managers in suits did not seem to be able to take the disturbance out of sight. Very embarrassing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS T, Manager at Wyndham Garden Suzhou, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and spending your valuable time sharing your feedbacks.

The incident mentioned at that particular time was indeed being handled by our senior manager as the situation was a little delicate despite our best efforts to assist that guest concerned. We are terribly sorry if the situation had marred your experience with us here. It is our philosophy to provide excellent service to all our guests at all times, as well as to care for their needs despite encountering various challenges.

Thank you once again for your feedbacks and have a pleasant day ahead.

Best regards

SS Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    116
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
20
52
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was going to stay here for several days but opted to leave after just one day. My room looked like something from a 1 star horror hotel. Shabby and dated.

The hotel service staff has one of the worst attitudes I have ever encountered in all my years of travel. Not just not friendly but borderline hostel and generally not caring.

While staying there I did manage to have a conversation with one staff member and they told me something horrible- one of the cleaning staff had a passkey to the rooms and stole 10,000 rmb from a guest's bag while it was in the room. And to top it off the hotel had no response to the customer's problem.

The location is ok for this hotel but it is old and dated. The hotel needs a serious upgrade and also needs a new caring staff. For a hotel that is managed by a Hong Kong firm I was surprised at its condition.

If you are thinking about staying here - do yourself a favor and don't.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonteBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla Z, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Suzhou, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
 
Thank you very much for staying at Marco Polo Suzhou and penning some feedbacks.
 
It’s glad to know that you found our hotel is strategically located. However, we are so surprised with what you had experienced here. We viewed your comments seriously and a thorough investigation will definitely be made. It is always our philosophy of caring for our guests, as well as providing a comfortable place for them.

We have also written in directly to you and would very much appreciate if you could get in touch with us.
 
Thank you once again and hope to hear from you soon.
 
Best regards,
 
Camilla Zhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed mid December 2013. Excellent hotel and first class hotel services. Centrally located in the old city, therefore rather noisy at night (loud merry-makers late into the night). Our room faced the road. Extremely convenient - so many eateries within walking distance. Heating system in winter is too hot for comfort, so we leave one window opened. Wifi rather reliable (except those rooms in the middle). I would rate it as one of the best hotels we stayed in China.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located in the centre of the hotel and have no windows, concealed by blinds over glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS T, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Suzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Marco Polo Suzhou and we are happy to review your comments in Tripadvisor.com

Your feedbacks have been well noted and very pleased to learn of your overall satisfaction especially on the customer services extended by our team members. We are also glad to inform that one of our colleagues from Sales & Marketing Department is fluent in Japanese as well and he will be delighted to assist any Japanese-speaking guest when needed.

It is our commitment to strive for excellence and definitely looking forward for your return back to Marco Polo Suzhou.

Once again, thank you very much and have a pleasant day ahead.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

After 3 days of no air conditioning I was offered a free drink. Hotel getting old and not accomodating after I asked for a discount I was told no AC because it is getting cold outside.
Not a fair way to be treated

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a well priced and well located hotel in old Suzhou. It is around the corner from some really interesting old streets, full of restaurants and little stores. It's an older Hotel-but still in good shape for its age and has a good standard of cleanliness and bedding is actually great.The staff were helpful without being overly friendly-but a few more staff able to communicate well in English would have been better for international travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms low down and facing the street can be noisy or interesting depending on your own view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

In the central area of the old city, this hotel is all class. The most comfy bed for 3 weeks, and top quality throughout. Staff were friendly, food was great, and the room was quiet. Blockout curtains worked a treat, woke at 7.30am.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the pool at the rear of the hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davosls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

For a $120 US room in one of the most popular tourist cities in China, it doesn't get any better.
Location is wonderful, right next to 3 attractions ( Suzhou Museum, Lingering garden (not recommended) and the Taoist temple of Guan Qian). Superb eating options all around the hotel as well. Please do not buy the meal packages, those are extremely overpriced and the food quality is dismal from my sampling as compared to the restaurants about 5 mins walk away ( behind the hotel is an entire lane of restaurants boasting of all the Southern Chinese Cuisines)

Service is excellent, they willingly process late check outs and try to offer assistance to whatever may be your problem, anything from taxi calls to restaurant bookings.

Room is the usual standard of a major 4 star hotel, large and well appointed, bathroom has separate showers and bath. Bed is of the extremely fluffy and soft type that makes you feel well coddled.

Fairly excellent

Room Tip: Choose one above the 4th floor, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blah_by_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#7 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
1.4 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
0.3 mi away
Hovle Mansion Club & Hotel
Hovle Mansion Club & Hotel
#110 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Suzhou

Property: Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Address: No.818 Ganjiang East Road, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215005, China (Formerly Marco Polo Suzhou)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Garden Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Suzhou
Suzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing