We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Modern Hotel with Marine Design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #5 of 1,495 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The hotel is very new and it is located next to the Jin Ji Lake. We stayed in a lake view room and of course the view is awesome. The room is quite spacious and design is modern. The outlook of the hotel building is like a ship sailing on the lake. The cool thing is that they do offer boating sailing service in the sports center. We tried it out and enjoyed the trip a lot.
The only thing that is not so satisfying is that when we were there the inner swimming pool is under repairing and their outdoor swimming poor is a bit too small. The breakfast of the hotels offers a great deal of choices and we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralPlaza, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward. We also appreciate receiving your comments on the indoor swimming pool renovation, meanwhile fully operational for our cherished guests pleasure.

Thank you again for your compliments and support and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!

Damir Raab
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

Crowne Plaza is beautiful at first glance and boasts impressive looks to say the least. But as they say, 'The devil is in the details' and it fully describes the terrible experience i had dealing with a very unprofessional event manager. Our customers arrived exhausted from all over asia + a 2 hour car trip from Shanghai at 8pm, only to have the hotel tell us they are overbooked! The event manager was uncooperative and we had to keep pushing and reminding him to execute (not strategise, execute!!) - put up signs here, arrange this etc. This was personally the most exhausting and unsatifying experience i had with any hotel in Asia. I was shocked at the level of professionalism this event manager had, and just the lack of communication between departments in the hotel! But I also have to give kudos to the various heads of departments who tried to fix what the event manager screwed up. It was unfortunate that this event manager made this event so unpleasant and stressful for us. Suffice to say, this will be the last time i will be holding an event there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The hotel is ideally located on the shore of Jinji lake in Suzhou & rightly so, is built in the shape of a ship. In fact, everything inside the hotel lobby is built in the shape of a boat - be it the Reception desk or the bar desk in the lobby. The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas & New year celebrations. The hotel location is at a height & is visible from a distance.
The room was clean & well maintained with all the luxurious amenities available in it. The buffet breakfast included a variety of Chinese & Continental delicacies.
The best part was Buffet Dinner available at the hotel - the guests were spoilt for choice of foods.
The room provides a beautiful view of the lake. There are buses available to take you around the lake.
The city is very beautiful & is well known for pearls. The city is a mix of ancient and modern infrastructure & is an ideal place for tourists, with Hangzhou & Shanghai at equal distance.
I would suggest you to stay at this hotel either for a business trip or for leisure.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Raj3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou was our meeting venue during the weekend. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a smile by the front office team. The service during the meeting and our stay was friendly and efficient. The Sunday brunch including Fresh lobster and Champagne was just fabulous! Finally the hotel itself, perfect location directly situated at the lake with some stunning views. Will defiantly come back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

This hotel is a very nice place to stay if you're looking in Suzhou. Suzhou has many hotels but the Crowne Plaza has much to offer. The managers are very kind and wiling to help if a problem occurs while the surrounding beauty of the gardens and ponds created to give an example of China tradition. This hotel is a perfect spot for someone looking for the simplicity of life mixed in with a delightful touch of Chinese culture.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FirstClass_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

This Crowne Plaza is more like a small inn. The service is excellent and the location is good for Suzhou business. The best part about this hotel is it has ponds and gardens with trails down to the lake. It is a natural oasis amid the bustle of Suzhou. The star rating is 5 but ist is closer to a 4. This based on the fact that my room wasn't ready when I arrived (they gave me a drink voucher to use in their lounge while I waited) and things weren't always in working order (my first morning the coffee maker in the restaurant was broken . . . finally someone figured out to get the coffee made in the lounge and bring it over - befroe that I was told there is no coffee). Also the inexperienced restaurant staff becomes a burden when clearing plates from in front of you at the table.

I would especially recommend this as a romantic getaway place.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bfstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

The Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a great find. It is a wonderful 5 star boutique hotel on the shores of a lake and next to a large and very nice park. The property, they told us, use to be a government guest house for senior Chinese Government Officials and foreirgn guests and has been a hotel for about 2 years.

It has been modernised with 58 spacious and beautifully furnished and very comfortable rooms. The property is only 2 storeys and the entrance opens onto a small lovely Chinese garden. The furnishings throughout are beautiful. Don't be put off by it being located in an "industrial park". All this means is the area is very modern with many highrises. The area was developed in a joint venue with the Singapore Government so the surroundings looks like Singapore. But the hotel is surrounded by the park and the lake and there are many restaurants nearby.

If you are there on the weekend there is a large water and fountain musical show at night close by the hotel. These are big water fountains and if you are there on a national holiday (we were) there will probably be a spectacular fireworks display as well.

The hotel is about 15-20 minute taxi ride into old Suzhou where any of the famous gardens are located.

The general service is excellent except in the restaurant where it was very poor although the food was pretty good.

Ask for a lake facing room. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#11 of 1,495 in Suzhou
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,495 in Suzhou
1,060 reviews
7.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#9 of 1,495 in Suzhou
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
W Suzhou
W Suzhou
#2 of 1,495 in Suzhou
132 reviews
6 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 1,495 in Suzhou
751 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Suzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Address: No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#4 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#32 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: $172 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 25 minutes by Shanghai-Nanjing Intercity Railway from bustling Shanghai, Crowne Plaza Suzhou ideally located in the Suzhou Industrial Park and set against the scenic backdrop of beautiful Jinji Lake. 10 minutes away from city center and minutes away from the Expo center, Suzhou Science and Arts Center and walking distance from Li Gongdi, Rainbow Walker, Times Square entertainment and shopping areas. Crowne Plaza Suzhou has a choice of 344 spacious and tastefully furnished guest rooms and each room overlook both the lake and gardens. For a diverse and dramatic world of dining experience and take a culinary adventure to from 6 stylish restaurants, bars and lounges with hotel s acclaimed cuisines and personalized service. 12 multi-function meeting rooms and a 1066 SQM pillar-less Crowne Ballroom with 800 SQM pre-function area are designed to seat from as few as 10 to as many as 1,000 guest in a variety of Configurations. We ve put together a comprehensive range of products and services called Meeting Success. Hotel offers an arrange of recreation, from the state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, Tea Tree Spa and marina, guaranteed to leave you relaxed and recharged for your next working day. You'll agree that in the storied city of Suzhou, The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza Suzhou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing