We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #6 of 1,455 Hotels in Suzhou
1 review
“The staff is great”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great place to stay they speak English and the staff will talk with you Carol is great. The restaurant is great especially breakfast is really good. The room on the 7th floor is especially good the staff and the service make it worth while.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyyyyyttttttio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Tyyyyttttttio,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time to leave us s wonderful review.

It is greatly motivating to read that you have been impressed by our restaurant, breakfast, room, staff and service. Your kind words of praise are highly appreciated. They are the best rewards for us, which will continuously inspire us to offer a most enjoyable and memorable staying experience to our distinguished guests like you.

Once again, thanks for your review. We look forward to your support and the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    216
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
69
60
28
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

It's my first time stay here.The glorious lake view with great environment.I like the facilities and the cleanliness of the room.Staff here are friendly and pleasant. Definitely will stay at this hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ting_2249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear ting_2249,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a valuable review.

We are pleased to learn that you have been impressed by our lake view, environment, facilities and staff. Your kind words of praise are highly appreciated. They are undoubtedly the best rewards for us. It has always been our commitment to further shape our service in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our distinguished guests like you.

Thanks once again for your review. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again when your next travel brings you back to Suzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was on a business trip in Suzhou. It was a nice and comfortable stay.

Pros:
Great restaurant for breakfast
Huge and luxurious room
Wonderful service
Location is good - right on the lake

Cons:
A bit too theme-park like? But it's nonetheless impressive

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ht51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear ht51,

Thank you very much for your stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that our restaurant, room, service and location have helped make your stay nice and comfortable. The unique cruise theme is to bring our guests a unique and memorable staying experience. Your valuable review will inspire us to keep improving, thus allowing our distinguished guests to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, thanks for your review and support. We sincerely look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I stayed at this hotel, all for business. The room is big, clean and really nice. My room overlook the lake, which was quite nice. The gym is pretty good. Not crowded so you won't need to wait to use anything. There are some pretty decent restaurants within the hotel. The service is really good here too . In my most recent stay, there was some water leakage on the toilet roof on my second day of stay. I didn't inform reception as I was rushing to office, but I was half expecting the house keeping will discover the problem and inform the right person to sort it out, and indeed it was all sorted by the time I return in the evening . Very impressive. Only problem, if there was one, is that there is nothing much around here. So it is probably a good option for a business stay, since most will be too busy to be out, but if it's for holiday there could be better options. Other than that, highly recommended. Not many hotels in china is this good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keithlhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Keithlhk,

Thank you very much for your third stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a comprehensive review.

It’s our great honor to read that our room, gym, restaurants and service have helped make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Your feedback regarding our service details are also highly appreciated. It has been our commitment to provide our guests a most memorable and enjoyable staying experience during their journey. During your next visit, our Concierge colleagues would be more than happy to provide you more information about the dining and entertainment options in the surrounding area and we wish you would have a good time after work.

Once again, thanks for your wonderful review. We sincerely look forward to your continuous support and the pleasure of serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fabulous architecture.... wonderful open air lobby from front to back...attentive service....a real relaxed weekend from all the travel in China. Lakeside - walking around the lake.... kite flying ... . Quiet rooms and spacious.

Room Tip: 2 sets of elevators... get a room past the second elevator (quiet from the open lobby)...and toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Geoff T,

Thank you very much for your stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time to leave us a valuable review.

We are delighted to learn that our architecture, lobby, service, environment and room have helped make your weekend stay relaxing and pleasant. It’s our great honor to receive your kind words of praise on various aspects, which will motivate us to improve our quality even further as we always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodation to our distinguished guests like you.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your continuous support and the pleasure of serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The architecture of the hotel, the location on the lake, the exquisite service and fully equipped rooms with beautiful bathrooms... the pillow menu (yep... a selection of specialized pillows you can order from to relax, help with neck pain... ), the tea bar in the stunning lobby... the indoor and outdoor pools... it is a really slick hotel... Been there twice and will go back again in few months for business...

the only downside although quite minor is that the hotel is located outside of downtown Suzhou so your options are somewhat limited at night except if you are ready to cab... there are restaurants in the hotel which are good but fairly expensive... and a selection of restaurants around the lake you can walk to but that are not that interesting (pub, mexican...) if you are looking for local food

Overall, one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to...

Room Tip: get a room with a view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear BlueTrain,

Thank you very much for your second stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a valuable review.

We are honored to learn that our architecture, location, room, pillow menu, tea bar, pools and service have all impressed you and helped make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. It’s so motivating that you took all the time and trouble to share your experience details on many aspects. Your feedback regarding the dining choices in the surrounding area is also highly appreciated. During your next visit, our Concierge colleagues will be more than happy to provide you with more advice on nearby restaurants

Thanks once again for your review and kind support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great hotel on the edge of the lake. Location not too bad, but unless you are walking the lake you will be taking a taxi to get around. Hotel is great with good staff overall. Not a five star however as many things missing. I watched a table beside me at dinner order a beer and go through their entire meal, ask for the beers three times and finally give up and get a coke from the buffet. My room was not cleaned on day until I asked at 6pm before going out for the evening. Getting a coffee at breakfast was an ordeal. They have one small automatic machine and when the restaurant was busy it was ridiculous wait time for a coffee.
I will still go back here, but just be aware it is not up to the high level five start you may expect. call it a 4 star. Clean room and pleasant staff. It helps you have some basic Mandarin as many staff do not speak English or other languages.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemurray2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear mikemurray2009,

Thank you very much for your stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a valuable review.

We regret that you didn’t enjoy a perfect staying experience with us this time. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Proper actions will be taken to avoid them happening again. We take our guest comments seriously since they are the best source for us to get to know the needs of our distinguished guests like you. Mr. Dekker Zhang, our Director of Rooms, would like to respond to you personally. Could you send an email to dekker.zhang@ihg.com at your convenience?

Once again, thanks for your review. We look forward to your continuous support and the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
7.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#5 of 1,455 in Suzhou
832 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#8 of 1,455 in Suzhou
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#3 of 1,455 in Suzhou
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 1,455 in Suzhou
478 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#9 of 1,455 in Suzhou
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Suzhou
Courtyard Suzhou
#10 of 1,455 in Suzhou
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Address: No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#31 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 25 minutes by Shanghai-Nanjing Intercity Railway from bustling Shanghai, Crowne Plaza Suzhou ideally located in the Suzhou Industrial Park and set against the scenic backdrop of beautiful Jinji Lake. 10 minutes away from city center and minutes away from the Expo center, Suzhou Science and Arts Center and walking distance from Li Gongdi, Rainbow Walker, Times Square entertainment and shopping areas. Crowne Plaza Suzhou has a choice of 344 spacious and tastefully furnished guest rooms and each room overlook both the lake and gardens. For a diverse and dramatic world of dining experience and take a culinary adventure to from 6 stylish restaurants, bars and lounges with hotel s acclaimed cuisines and personalized service. 12 multi-function meeting rooms and a 1066 SQM pillar-less Crowne Ballroom with 800 SQM pre-function area are designed to seat from as few as 10 to as many as 1,000 guest in a variety of Configurations. We ve put together a comprehensive range of products and services called Meeting Success. Hotel offers an arrange of recreation, from the state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, Tea Tree Spa and marina, guaranteed to leave you relaxed and recharged for your next working day. You'll agree that in the storied city of Suzhou, The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza Suzhou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing