We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #4 of 1,413 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I have stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very good service - check in was great, room was fantastic with view over the lake. Breakfast was pricey at 14 gbp for a coffee and toast but found the food and drink at the hotel up to a high standard although again pricey (as per the norm in a large top end hotel).

Have stayed at a few hotels in Suzhou now and have found my base - wll not be staying anywhere else now.

Everything about this hotel beats the rest I have stayed in - thank you Crowne Plaza for a superb stay!!!

Room Tip: Lake view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTANTHONY223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and leaving us such a motivating review covering many aspects of the hotel.

We are delighted to note that you appreciated our service, room and breakfast, aspects that are preferred by many of our guests. We are grateful for your trust and loyalty. Being our valued guest, your opinion and feedback is extremely important to us, as it will help us to further enhance and shape our service in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our guests.

Thanks again for your wonderful words. We look forward to your continuous support as well as the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    206
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
56
27
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is pretty much your standard international hotel. The rooms were well appointed with good internet access. The bathrooms comfortable and the beds ok.

The main restaurant served breakfast (and all subsequent meals) buffet style but the quality of the ingredients and the cooking itself was very low. We ate in the restaurant on our first of two nights as we arrived very late - it was cooled to such Arctic temperatures that we were shivering despite numerous wraps. One of the waitresses noticed and kindly brought a blanket but this should not be necessary inside.

Other than this waitress the staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming.

All in all very derivative and lacking any character. Fine for a business trip but avoid avoid if you are travelling with family or for personal reasons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErsatzExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time to share your valuable review with us.

We are pleased to read that you liked our room including the Internet access, bathroom and bed. However, we are regretful to learn that we failed to meet your expectations regarding to the dining experience during your stay. Your comments about the ingredient quality, cooking skill, temperature and staff service are highly appreciated. The hotel management will look into the issues and appropriate actions will be taken for further improvement.

Thanks again for your review and bringing the issues to our attention. We sincerely hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spent 2 days here for a training programme. Location was excellent and the staff very attentive and helpful. The location allows you easy access to spectacular areas of Suzhou this gives a number of opportunities for walks.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jock1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Suzhou.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location and service of our hotel, aspects of our hotel that are preferred by many of our guests. Ideally located in the center of Suzhou Industrial Park, we are dedicated to offering an enjoyable and memorable experience to our distinguished guests against the beautiful backdrop of Jinji Lake. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations.

Thank you once again and we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel remarkable and is very pleasant and comfortable.
The only issue was, that the singer (at the piano) was very rude when I was speaking with my family with my mobile (in a video call - facetime) and he just stop and said something like: "Did I allowed you to film or record?". It was very embarrassing and unacceptable, this is not a professional but nevertheless I think he's not a good singer nor piano player.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portuguese_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time to share your valuable review with us.

We are pleased to read that your overall staying experience has been pleasant and comfortable. As for the feedback about the pianist, we would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any trouble caused. We highly appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The hotel management has reviewed this situation and proper actions will be taken to ensure that this will not happen again.

Thanks again for your review and bringing the issue to our attention. We sincerely hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been staying at the Crown Plaza in Suzhou for 3 weeks out of each month, for the last 5 months. I am always impressed with the level of service I receive, when I stay here. It far surpasses most hotels in the US. This goes for all areas of the facility. The dining is of superior quality and the room is extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to colleagues, friends, and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us during the last 5 months and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us such a encouraging review covering many aspects of your staying experience.

We are delighted to read that you have been impressed by our service, facilities, restaurant and room. Ideally located along the picturesque Jinji Lake, we are dedicated to helping our guests indulge in the pleasure of travelling with superior facilities and personalized services. We highly appreciate your support and recommendation, which will motivate us to constantly improve our quality and exceed over our guest expectations.

Once again, thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation. We sincerely look forward to the honor of serving you again when the next travel brings you back to Suzhou in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

In both hotels stayed one night and had a suite room incl excecutive floor
Both hotels same price and high high standards. So basically you can stay in both without issue.

One big negative point is for the Inter that they build next to the hotel a building therefore noise level high in the next maybe 2 years if you stay at the non lake view side!!

More positive Crown:
- Bose sounds system to connect with Iphone
- Platiin member always free upgrade to excecutive room
- outdoor pool and indoor more big
- layout of room 2 floors with stairs depends you like to climb
- both us high end soup here elements

more positive Inter:
- Room a little bit more cosy e.g. couch and in round bathtube could watch tv
- excecutive floor higher therefore better view
- breakfast little bit more high nice
- service in excecutive floor more positive attitude
- location around hotel a bit better to walk around

we speaking little things so both easy to stay JUST ENJOY

Marriott group in this case far of the pace with there hotels in Suzhou

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking all the time and trouble to leave us a comprehensive review about the hotel and our sister hotel InterContinental Suzhou.

Both of the hotels are under the InterContinental Hotels Group, who are dedicated to becoming Great Hotels Guests Love. We are very pleased to read that you are impressed by our BOSE sound system, Platinum Member benefits, Indoor and Outdoor Pools, Duplex Suite and room amenities. Your feedback will help us constantly review the quality of our facilities and services, and exceed ever beyond guest expectations.

Thank you once again, we look very much forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my first time at this hotel and it is very nice. The building is only about 5 years old so it is fairly new. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The non-smoking room had also not been smoked in as you find often in China. They enforce this with a 500 RMB fine if you do. The internet is always a big thing for me and in general I have found this to be lacking at many hotels in China but the internet was great here and the hotel also has a server in Hong Kong which means things like Facebook are not blocked. The breakfast was excellent with many choices. The lobby of the hotel is also very stylish. I definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us.

We are glad to know that you appreciated our room, internet, breakfast and lobby, aspects that are also preferred by many of our guests. Your kind words of praise are the best reward for us and we will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests to indulge in the best they deserve.

Thanks again for your encouraging review and warm recommendation. We look forward to your continuous support and the honor of welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#3 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#5 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
6.1 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Address: No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#36 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 25 minutes by Shanghai-Nanjing Intercity Railway from bustling Shanghai, Crowne Plaza Suzhou ideally located in the Suzhou Industrial Park and set against the scenic backdrop of beautiful Jinji Lake. 10 minutes away from city center and minutes away from the Expo center, Suzhou Science and Arts Center and walking distance from Li Gongdi, Rainbow Walker, Times Square entertainment and shopping areas. Crowne Plaza Suzhou has a choice of 344 spacious and tastefully furnished guest rooms and each room overlook both the lake and gardens. For a diverse and dramatic world of dining experience and take a culinary adventure to from 6 stylish restaurants, bars and lounges with hotel s acclaimed cuisines and personalized service. 12 multi-function meeting rooms and a 1066 SQM pillar-less Crowne Ballroom with 800 SQM pre-function area are designed to seat from as few as 10 to as many as 1,000 guest in a variety of Configurations. We ve put together a comprehensive range of products and services called Meeting Success. Hotel offers an arrange of recreation, from the state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, Tea Tree Spa and marina, guaranteed to leave you relaxed and recharged for your next working day. You'll agree that in the storied city of Suzhou, The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza Suzhou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing