We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #5 of 1,493 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed here each time I come to Suzhou. Location is convenient, about a 20 minute ride to our plants in the Suzhou Industrial Park. I use the fitness center daily, its not large, but efficient. Early morning there can be a queue for the treadmills. Western Breakfast and Dim Sum breakfast options in 2 ground floor restaurants. Western breakfast has several options, including omelettes cooked to order. I stay on VIP level (7th floor) and there is a lounge there as well open 0630-2300. Can get a limited offering breakfast in the morning, and snacks in the day as well as coffee/latte/espresso/beer. About a 5 minute walk to Rainbow Walk where there are also several dining options. Small charge of 40RMB per day for internet, I believe they get service from HK, so can easily access Facebook and some other sites that are not always accessible in CN. Room (king bed) is spacious with desk to do work. Bed is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are glad to learn that you are a loyal guest of ours. It is our great honor to be at your service. You detailed feedback on the room, restaurant, gym and surroundings will definitely help us to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations. We highly appreciate it as you are important to us.

Thank you again for your support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is my first stay in this hotel and was looking forward to it as it had a distinctive architectural design.

Location. The hotel is located in the Suzhou Industrial Park and quite central in relation to the business areas as well as being a 15-20minute taxi ride to the old and scenic parts of town. The exterior resembles a cruise ship and as you enter the hotel lobby, you are welcomed by a spectacular view of Jinji Lake.

Rooms. Very very spacious, warmly decorated with plenty of plush carpets and wood paneling. The bathroom is large with white marble. Great rooms. One thing to note is that because of the design of the hotel, the bar and live music do travel to the rooms but the rooms were large enough that the noise didn't effect the deep interior of the room.

Service. In general, service is quite good but my experience was mixed. The staff always seem to be very busy doing their own thing and unless you walk up to them to get help, they continue to be engrossed with whatever they are doing e.g., 6 staff at the front desk busy typing away and a queue formed to check in yet no one (until I approached one of them) looked up to help check the guests in. This was a pattern repeated at the dining area and at the concierge.

Overall a good experience and will return to this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Jinji Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with us; it is through continuous feedback that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations.

It is our great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your first stay with us. We are glad that the room, location, and hotel’s architectural design have highlighted your hotel experience. We also greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring the staff service issue to our attention. Our hotel managerment has been informed to target this problem and we expect improvement soon.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is top as well for business as for leisure.

The rooms are vezry spateous and clean and there is a desk in the room for business people.

The location is very nice.

You are very welcome and the staff is VERY nice, you feel like home.

The prices are very reasonable.

The breakfast buffet is the best I ever had in this kind of big hotel chains.

The WiFi is OK.

There are a lot of nice restaurants at the lake at walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BossErpe-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with us; it is through continuous feedback that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations.

It is our great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that the room, location, staff, breakfast and wifi have highlighted your hotel experience. Thank you for acknowledging our effort in creating a memorable hotel experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is my second review of this hotel during my six month stint here in Suzhou and I must say the staff has certainly gone the extra mile to accomodate thier guests. Dekker and Joanna (front desk mgrs) have gone above and beyond to make my stay as pleasurable as it can be. During my stay I wanted to watch some dvds, the front desk had thier IT guy bring up and set up a dvd player and even brought an HDMI cable just in case I wanted to stream movies, talk about knowing your guests... I also loved that housekeeping would leave a plate of fruit in my room for me daily. Great hotel, but an even better staff!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracet_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with us; it is through continuous feedback that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations.

It is our great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that the services from our Front Office, IT and Housekeeping staff have highlighted your hotel experience. Thank you for acknowledging our effort in creating a memorable hotel experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

You feel like being on a big boat. Located at Jinji Lake in Suzhou SIP, the hotel-boat seems to be ready to cross the lake. Rooms are spacious and of high standard, also including the boat design in a cautious way. The lobby is huge and offers a view on the lake. The jetty with a few boats seems to be just decoration, but looks still nice. Staff is friendly and helpful. The bar has a maritime touch as well, see carpet floor. In walking distance you find a lot: subway station, waterfront (water show every Fri & Sat 20h), rainbow, park, time square with its shops and restaurants (1 subway stop), The outdoor pool offers a view on the lake (in which you should not swim). If you have time, take a walk along the lake, it's very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minipixl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Managerment at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and impressed by the hotel. Your satisfaction is our best reward. For your information, our Outdoor Swimming Pool is open in summer daily from 7:00 to 20:30, which provides you the unique swimming experience adjacent to the lake.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes. With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is beside Jinji Lake in SIP and within walking distance of several restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are bars and live music in the evenings. Interent access seemed quick and smooth. There is 1 indoor (25m) & 1 outdoor pool and a gym.

Good decor and the rooms are well equipped. Nice big shower heads to relax under a hot shower after a days work. The bar in the atrium area is spacious and comfortable for work, emails and informal meetings. They have large function faciltities if you need them.

From here you can jog or walk around the park area of Jinji Lake at your leisure. You could walk to Li Gong Di but in summer it is a bit hot for that.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side are quiet, the glazing is quite good, if you get a room on the lake side the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinCShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and impressed by our staff, rooms, bars, Fitness Center and function facilities. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes. With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a great place to stay!!! The entrance is sensational, the restaurant excellent and the rooms perfect. I stayed here for for 2 nights and really enjoyed the hotel in every way. Unfortunately the bar closes a little bit early but overall this was one of the best hotels I ever stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damyrutjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and impressed by our entrance, room and restaurant. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes. With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#10 of 1,493 in Suzhou
546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,493 in Suzhou
1,030 reviews
7.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#9 of 1,493 in Suzhou
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#3 of 1,493 in Suzhou
717 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#11 of 1,493 in Suzhou
1,086 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Suzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Address: No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#4 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#31 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: $161 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 25 minutes by Shanghai-Nanjing Intercity Railway from bustling Shanghai, Crowne Plaza Suzhou ideally located in the Suzhou Industrial Park and set against the scenic backdrop of beautiful Jinji Lake. 10 minutes away from city center and minutes away from the Expo center, Suzhou Science and Arts Center and walking distance from Li Gongdi, Rainbow Walker, Times Square entertainment and shopping areas. Crowne Plaza Suzhou has a choice of 344 spacious and tastefully furnished guest rooms and each room overlook both the lake and gardens. For a diverse and dramatic world of dining experience and take a culinary adventure to from 6 stylish restaurants, bars and lounges with hotel s acclaimed cuisines and personalized service. 12 multi-function meeting rooms and a 1066 SQM pillar-less Crowne Ballroom with 800 SQM pre-function area are designed to seat from as few as 10 to as many as 1,000 guest in a variety of Configurations. We ve put together a comprehensive range of products and services called Meeting Success. Hotel offers an arrange of recreation, from the state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, Tea Tree Spa and marina, guaranteed to leave you relaxed and recharged for your next working day. You'll agree that in the storied city of Suzhou, The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza Suzhou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing