We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum by I M Pei, famous architect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suzhou Museum

Suzhou Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.50*
and up
Private Day Tour: Gardens and Old Street in Suzhou with Hotel or Railway...
Ranked #4 of 344 things to do in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Museum by I M Pei, famous architect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Suzhou Museum is a modern museum dedicated to the people of Suzhou, by I M Pei, the famous architect as a gift. It is unique and has an outdoor section with pools of water, and landscapes. A must-see in Suzhou for fine architecture.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    207
    75
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nicely designed and laid out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The museum is beatifully designed and well laid out with some interesting history of the region. It is not large though has interesting artifacts and a sense of regional style.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiusSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
455 reviews
322 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's a nice museum although certainly not the highlight of our visit. Worthwhile if you have the time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I loved every minute of being shown this museum helped by having some Chinese colleagues who knew helpful information that made the visit even more interesting. The museum is set out well with lots of information written bit in Chinese and English. This was a great treat to the end of a fantastic week.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterChipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AMAZING is all I can say!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My sister, nephew and I took a trip to China to experience the cultural. Some friends told us about a place called Suzhou. Suzhou is a small town filled with canals and culture. We decided to stop and check it out. We wondered through the streets of this amazing town and saw the Suzhou Museum. WOW! What a gem. The museum is filled with beautiful architecture, breath taking paintings, amazing calligraphy and a wonderful reflection pool. There are picture opportunities all over the museum that reflect the old and new culture of China. I would recommend this stop for anyone that is in the Suzhou area. There is even a small dining area where we stopped to enjoy some fabulous tea before walking outside to see the reflection pool. This is a MUST in your travels.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WBSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suzhou Museum also viewed

 

Been to Suzhou Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing