We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful museum designed by I.M. Pei”
Review of Suzhou Museum

Suzhou Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.50*
and up
Private Day Tour: Gardens and Old Street in Suzhou with Hotel or Railway...
Ranked #2 of 347 things to do in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum designed by I.M. Pei”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Both the contents and the design of the Suzhou Museum are spectacular. The clean, sleek lines of the building and the great amount of glass are a welcome contrast to the ornateness of much of Chinese architecture. The rock garden with its wall of "mountains" is stunning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    212
    77
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern garden”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited it because it was designed by I.M.Pei. A little story is that Mr. Pei did not charge anything for designing this museum, because he loves Suzhou culture

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Modoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The building is worth seeing”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I think the IM Pei designed building that houses the artifacts is more interesting than the artifacts themselves. The building uses local Suzhou materials and incorporates a water feature in keeping with the traditional style of Suzhou. The most interesting item in the museum is a green ceramic bowl with lotus patterns from the 10th century. The quality of the china is amazing for that time period. Here's a bit about it:

The so-called secret-colored ceramic was a very fine porcelain from the ancient kingdom of Yue, or today's Zhejiang province, and made for imperial use only. The recipe of the glaze and baking procedures were kept secret in the Tang Dynasty.
A poem by Lu Guimeng suggests that this type of ceramic has a green glaze like the "essence of trees from a thousand hills". It is said to be colored in a "similar way to Yue celadon, but brighter and lighter".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank food_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

It was disappointing for me because I was expecting local treasures from Suzhou but items were from all over China - nothing special or at least nothing interesting for me. The building architecture was nice though, very modern in style. The free entrance is just appropriate for the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiniskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Free Entry”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Entrance was free but some of the items on display were a little ridiculous leaving me with the giggles. The English translations were poor and my translator said were no where near comparable to the Chinese.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank iExplore1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suzhou Museum also viewed

 

Been to Suzhou Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing