We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience The Lingering Garden
from $62.50
More Info
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveler rating
389
269
78
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
269
78
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bonsai trees lovely place to visit tranquil place ming dynasty different areas a unesco world heritage site rock formations guided tour take photos water features rainy day chinese culture tiger hill garden flowers china beauty
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 750 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

The garden is a must: green as ever, interesting an relaxing if you do not have a long time to visit you can have a great idea of a Chinese garden is by visiting this one. When you enter you feel like being in a old Chinese story, with little houses, triangle roof, trees, tiny lakes, flowers and short bridges, some interesting stones too. All well kept and controlled. You have to pay to enter.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sam_GiTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

For some reason, this garden feels small and cramped more than the others. I'm not sure if it was just the amount of people in attendance or the fact I had issues with my sons stroller. Try to go on a day when they don't have many visitors.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Joshua E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

Our tour brought us here around 9 am on a Monday in April, and it was already crowded. The spring season must be a popular time to visit. Lingering Garden was owned by the Liu Family, and the character Liu translates to linger or stay on. Liu's Garden would've been a more appropriate name, but that's just my opinion.

The garden is a renowned classical Chinese garden and was designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1997. One step inside the garden and you're transported to a tranquil (even with the crowd) place surrounded with beautiful landscape and architecture. We saw a couple of performances - a guy on a boat playing a flute, and a small group of men and women playing some music using traditional Chinese instruments like the Chinese lute Pipa (琵琶), and the Chinese two-stringed fiddle Erhu (二胡) .

Highly recommended!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mvmaithai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

The gardens are a lovely place to visit as it is recognised as a classical Suzhou UNESCO World Heritage Site and you can certainly see why. We were lucky enough to visit the gardens early so there were very few people there and once we were given a brief talk on the history and importance of the garden we explored on own own.
It really is a beautiful, peaceful, relaxing place and we enjoyed our experience there.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank BendigoVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We went to enjoy this garden early Saturday morning. We stayed ahead of the the crowds, as we made our way around the garden. This so added to our enjoyment. Seeing the crowd around the first pond as we departed emphasized how great it was to have seen it before the crowds.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank EastTN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews