We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Pan Pacific Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Ranked #11 of 1,478 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The view from my room was specatular - looking out at the beautiful garden with towers, pond, walkways, greenery. The room was very comfortable. There is an Italian restaurant on site which has a limited menu, but which I found had good food. You can eat outside beside a pool with the beautiful architecture around you. Breakfasts are quite good. We ate at the evening buffet, which wasn't bad, but you should go early as the prime items go quickly and they are not replenished(beef, desserts, drinks). Make sure that you take a walk around the gardens and the Suzhou Gate. Early morning is best as there are very few people. As I walked around one morning about 7:30, there was a small group of singers located in one of the gazebos singing Chinese songs. Others would gather round to sing along. Cleanliness, by North American standards, was lacking but was above average for Chinese hotel standards. The staff are very eager to please and love to try out their english on Western guests.

Room Tip: Ensure that you look out over the garden. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Z, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you for your kindly comment. Now we have kids eat free promotion which means all children under the age of 12 can enjoy a free buffet when dining with an adult. We also prepared little gifts for kids. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of our Nexus tour.

The hotel was lovely with relatively quick check in considering how many of us there were.

The rooms were spacious and overlooked the many gardens, ponds, bridges with a pagoda in the distance. The hotel was a rabbit warren if you were looking for a room but it all added to its charm.

Good clean bathrooms and comfortable beds.

Breakfast had a good range of western and asian foods, and the restaurant was lovely and clean. there are shops around if you want to go for a wander around the hotel.

Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Z, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you for your kindly comments and welcome you back. Recommand you try our signature dishes at AVANTI Grill next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel has so much potential. It's in a unique setting (attached to Panmen Gardens) and has a lovely, low rise classic design. First impressions of the entrance and lobby were great, but it was downhill thereafter. The corridors leading to my room were warm, stuffy and smelt of stale cigarette smoke. The room decor is dated and quite dark. The bathroom had not been cleaned well (found large nail clippings on the floor for two days in a row) and I had trouble with mosquitoes in the room despite plugging in the repellent. Finally, the staff were not very knowledgeable about local tourist sights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation. We are working to resolve the issues to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

location was just perfect, the hotel is connected to the Panmen Garden. Loved the style of the hotel. It was a beautiful old Chinese style of buildings. The room is comfortable and clean, service is good and value for money. Swimming pool is nice and big, we had dinner in Italian restaurant and normal hotel restaurant, and both were good, not exceptional.This good not have been a better choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7,777,755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your good comments and confirmation. We will keep it up. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was so many things at once. I must say that you must know what you want when booking at this hotel. If you want an old world, authentic China experience from pre-1990's, this may be the place for you. If you want an air conditioner that works, pleasant environment with no smoke saturated smell, this may not be the place for you.

From the grand entrance, to the complex labyrinth of rooms, this hotel dazzles. It was once a Sheraton, probably built when the first western hotels were invited to build in China. Simply unparalleled on this account. Taxis must make a strange, but impressive journey to a second level entrance, and from there guests are treated to a view of the expansive gardens from the lobby windows. But what one also notices upon entry is the musty old smell that is just a part of this hotel...everywhere. If you have allergies, you will not do well in this place.

Another plus is the help. We were greeted and helped by "Happy" who embodied her name. She escorted us to our room, and seemed personally commissioned to take care of any of our concerns...and her English was impeccable. In fact, the staff at least tried to engage us in English. It is obvious that they are trained to improve their language. Even though Happy seemed to be the only fully conversant one.

Here's the lowdown on the rest of the facilities: restaurant. Truly grand in its day. This place could easily seat 300 guests, and it's not in a bland banquet hall. There are floor to ceiling glass windows that capture a sense of being outdoors, while still being indoor. This poor girl, however, is filled with tattered furniture and worn surroundings. We sat next to the window, and literally each one of the faux leather chairs was punctured or torn. The a/c was almost non existent, and we paid a total of $12 for our two non alcoholic drinks.

Pool: Lovely setting lined with trees and right next to the little creek leading to the gardens. However, it was crawling with guests, and simply not enough seating for the amount of guests. To be fair, the poolside furniture looked new and upscale, but since the design of the pool leaves only two sides for poolside seating, there just wasn't enough places to sit. We had to turn around and leave on this sweltering day.

Grounds: Lovely. Along with your room cost you get entry into one of the famous city gardens. This was a pleasant surprise, and a delightful walk. Again, however, we were hoping to walk through the park and then splash in the pool, but was impossible with the amount of guests.

Room: Here's the greatest disappointment. We could excuse some of various downfalls (lingering old smoke smell, gravely stained carpet in entry, etc) of the hotel because of its charm. However, upon entering our room, we were once again hit with the musty smell mixed with stale smoke. The carpet looked VERY old and stained in various spots...the chair next to the bed was tattered...and again the a/c never quite go cold enough. We were sweating while sitting in our own room. The bathroom was elegant, however, and not disappointing at all.

We felt that the room we had would have been worth $50-60 a night, but while paying $135, it felt like a rip off. Its not worth sweating through out the night, while trying to gasp a clean breath of air and paying for elegance when its not being delivered on a basic level.

This property's bones are glorious. Some one needs to have a vision of bringing it back to its former glory and then it would be worth paying such prices. To be fair, I did notice Agoda had rates that reflected more of its real value to us after we got home. I believe they were offering a room around $65 a night. This would definitely be more appealing to us.

However, when we return to Suzhou, we will look someplace else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent experience. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest service standards, and are truly sorry for the inconvenience it has caused you. We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back, trying our Pacific Wing with bigger and newer facilities. Guest comfort is a priority and we are working to resolve the issue to ensure all our guests enjoy a comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was one of the highlights of my recent trip to China (June 2014). Unfortunately we only stayed one night but it was a wonderful experience. My room was at the rear of the hotel so it was lovely and quiet. The gardens in the hotel are just beautiful and at the rear are the Panmen gardens which are amazing and certainly an amazing experience just wandering the acres of gardens, ponds, bridges etc. My room was large and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast options were extensive. Wish I had been able to stay longer. I stayed in this hotel as part of a Nexus (Australia) China tour. Brilliant

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your recent hotel experience. It is our pleasure to receive your warm comments. Our Garden Brasserie offers “kids eat free” promotion which means all children under 12 years old can enjoy a free buffet when dining with an adult. We also prepared little gifts for kids. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on our visit to Suzhou. Definitely made no mistake in choosing this hotel. The tour company we booked with got us upgraded into the Pacific Club Rooms. All I can say is that the room and the decor is extremely nice and plush. The photo in the hotel website is very accurate. We got checked-in at the priority check-in desk and got shown to our rooms by a staff memeber. The club room was very spacious and include some complementary soft drink from the mini-bar as well as water. The bathroom is something else, with a separate rainfall shower and a very nice bath. Do be aware that if you are facing the garden and you have your curtain open, make sure you closed the bathroom electric blind before using it. The air conditioning in our room was not working initially and was blowing out hot air, and after I call the front desk that evening a gentleman arrive after 5 minutes to fix it. It did took him a while and he had to climb up through the ceiling panel to look at the unit, but eventually he managed to get cold air out. Great customer service.

Staying at the hotel also give you free entry into the Panmen Garden next door. You can reach it walking through the hotel's own court yard. The Garden also leads onto the part of the city wall and one of the old city gate. A real bonus. The hotel pool also looks very inviting but we did not use it during our stay. The hotel is not near the more famous Suzhou gardens, so you will need to take a taxi. The concierge was very helpful and even told the cab driver where we needed to go. The taxi fare was very reasonable. One tip I would give is that if you want to return to the hotel from the other parts of the old city, make sure you don't do it during rush hour and finding a taxi can be problematic.

The breakfast was great and we ate in the Pacific Club building as opposed to the main hotel restaurant. The selection was great and was overall very enjoyable.

If you need to stay in Suzhou this is the hotel to go for. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to the Pacific Club room or a room with Balcony facing the hotel court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACRACBEEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your highly recommendation. Our hotel is surrounded by a thriving commercial district and historic attractions, easy access to the National AAAA Panmen scenic with the room key. Our hotel is value for money and is your ideal choice in Suzhou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#12 of 1,478 in Suzhou
434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#9 of 1,478 in Suzhou
822 reviews
2.2 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 1,478 in Suzhou
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
3.3 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,478 in Suzhou
956 reviews
1 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Suzhou

Address: No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#10 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: $86 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper your senses at Pan Pacific Suzhou, a private paradise in the heart of a city steeped in Chinese artistry, culture and tradition.Indulge in the culture of this quaint charming city at a sanctuary that fuses the artistry of local architecture with contemporary luxury. Pan Pacific Suzhou offers modern-day conveniences, outstanding service and state-of-the-art amenities. Let us inspire your imagination and heighten your senses with a stay at our 5 star hotel.Flanked by a magnificent backdrop of traditional gardens, our luxury hotel is just a one-hour drive from Shanghai, close to Lake Taihu and Hanshan temple. Spend time exploring Suzhou, savour gourmet meals, tempt your senses at our spa, or experience enchantment in our silk boutique. Discover your own private paradise at the Pan Pacific Suzhou hotel, where tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Suzhou Hotel Suzhou
Sheraton Suzhou Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing