We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ask for Bob!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pan Pacific Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Ranked #6 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Just ask for Bob!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Pan Pacific Suzhou. The hotel is in a good location and nicely designed. The hotel exterior architecturally is quite stunning and the room was clean and spacious.

We opted for a club room, and upon check in were directed to the Pacific club wing with a separate check in area. The staff were attentive and check in was smooth however we were given a different room from the one expected, but after a quick call were changed to the correct one. We chose a room with a glass roofed seating area as we were travelling with our young daughter and needed a separate sleeping area for her. Thick curtains divided this area from the rest of our room partitioning it and giving her her own space to sleep. The ideal situation would be to have a separate connecting room, but this was adequate and the hotel provided a cot.

Our bed was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was a little disappointing and repetitive, and the service was friendly although slow. Considering this is Suzhou, you have to expect that service isn't great in most places and more often than not pretty slow. So once expectations are adjusted, the Pan Pacific is a very good option for an enjoyable stay in Suzhou.

We dined at the Chinese restaurant Hai Tien Lo which was pleasant, had breakfast in the Club wing at the Italian Avanti which was dissapointing, and also dined twice at the Garden Brasserie.

The first time at the Brasserie was for a quick late lunch on the day we arrived and then we dined again here in the evening on our last night. Again, the service was slow the first time and took 35 minutes for our food to arrive. On the second time however, the meal was enjoyable. They offered a seafood buffet, but we opted for a la carte, but again the food took 30 minutes to arrive. The difference this time was that Bob was on duty. He apologised for the delay, was very attentive and offered us salad or starters from the buffet to tie us over until our meals arrived. He kept checking on us and suggesting that we could take food from the buffet for our young daughter also. As mentioned service in Suzhou isn't great, but Bob at the Pan Pacific was outstanding and a testament to what service can be should you have the right people on board. He's a credit to the hotel. He was checking on other tables and ushering his staff in a professional and constructive manner on a busy evening. Even though we had to wait for our food, he made sure we were looked after and we left having had a very enjoyable evening.

Overall if you go to Suzhou prepared and knowing that service in general is laboured, and you adjust your expectations knowing this, you'll have a good time at the Pan Pacific. The staff are polite and well presented and Bob is the man! A really pleasant gentleman who is considerate, attentive and shows initiative.

Suzhou isna beautiful place and we would go back to the Pan Pac again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your stay and kindly recommendation and suggestion. It is good to learn that Bob provided excellent service and we will be sharing this with the team. At the same time, we will work to improve the overall standards and to have more "Bob" in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    414
    91
    23
    2
See reviews for
109
133
33
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked a room on the club level for a one night stay in January. We were pleasantly surprised upon check-in that we were upgraded to a two-level suite. The kids - 4 years old, 2.5 years old, and 1 year old - loved that the hotel is shaped like a ship and were delighted by the motorcycle and jet...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2315IA12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you and we are very glad to learn that you like our Pacific Club. We are very proud to have THE ROOM in down town Suzhou with garden inside and outside of the hotel. Spring is coming and the garden is colorful…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Have spent a week at the VIP section. First time in Suzhou so cannot compare with other hotels, however this hotel fulfills all what a business traveller needs. Very nice design with care of every details.
The room is large and fulfills all needs. The bathroom with its special stony design is just makes you relaxed at the end of a long day.
In the lounge free drinks and finger food at any time.
The service is outstanding as well.
Can only congratulate to the hotel team.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SJBK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your compliment, yes we aim to provide the best facility and service in our Pacific club, we will keep it up. Hotel guests can have free access to the adjacent garden (ticket at RMB 80 per person). Alternatively, rent a bike on a sunny spring day would also be a good idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guang dong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is breath taking beautiful, though it's a little bit old, but for me and my family, it brings more feeling than just old. We booked the room in the new building, very cozy with nice garden views. The hotel looks like a palace with a typical suzhou garden, and has free access to PAN MEN, this is why we chose to stay here, most of the hotels are the same in all the cities,they are morden, new, but lack of feelinsg and stores. Pan pacific is quite different, it just like a elegent suzhou lady, waiting for you to discover her beauty. We spent a whole afternoon seating in the outdoor seating, having tea, definitly the best experience.We will come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbmmwanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your stay and warm comments. We do receive a lot of compliment of the Garden and the connecting Panmen, as well as the Suzhou style architecture. Spring is coming, our garden is full of blossom, look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect as the hotel is equivalent to £50 a night, and in London you can't do much with that! However, of course, this is China and you get a lot more for much less.

The rooms were a spacious and I loved the attention to detail, like the little Chinese patterned ornaments above the bedhead. The bathroom had both shower and a bath and it was very clean.

Breakfast was filling and they had Earl Grey tea... bonus! Staff allowed us to check out later (2pm)...perfect for the hangover from the night before. Needless to say, I will definitely be staying again when my family comes to visit me in China!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesha87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
It is our pleasure to receive your warm comments. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel building & atmosphere are stunning. Breakfast is good & Italian restaurant is excellent with fantastic staff. Rooms are good, quiet and comfortable. Pool is attractive, but cold! No bath robes is dissappointing. Reception staff speak good English & are helpful.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband, daughter and I have just returned home after staying at the Pan Pacific for a short Chinese New Year break. This was our second time staying there. We feel it offers good value and has a nice balance between Western-style accommodation and Eastern style and expectation. It is true as I see other reviewers have noted that there are elements that could be improved - some of the carpets are showing their age and could do with replacing, for example. And yes it is a bit absurd in 2014 to not have quality wireless internet access in-room. That said, for us, it was good to have a bit of a forced 'break' from our devices, as I can't deny that we spend far too much time looking at screens, and not enough at each other.

I know some people find the sprawling layout off-putting but personally I find it rather charming, as it speaks to the vernacular of the traditional local architecture. That said, it is a little strange to have to go outside in order to reach the indoor pool area if you are staying in the Pacific Club wing, especially at this time of year - it is not pleasant to go for a swim, a relaxing spell in the hot tub and the sauna & steam room, to then have to dash outside and across back to the club wing before freezing. (I do recommend staying in the Pacific Club room however, if your budget can stretch to it, as the lounge and other amenities are really very nice.)

Overall, although I have pointed out a few negatives, we have really enjoyed our stays at the Pan Pacific and should we decide to visit Suzhou again - which is quite possible, since it such an easy getaway from Shanghai - we would likely opt to stay there again, since it is in such a convenient location, the staff is really lovely and sincerely helpful, and it is generally good value for money.

Room Tip: Opt for the Club wing if possible, or a room with a view of Panmen Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#5 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
2.2 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Suzhou

Property: Pan Pacific Suzhou
Address: No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper your senses at Pan Pacific Suzhou, a private paradise in the heart of a city steeped in Chinese artistry, culture and tradition.Indulge in the culture of this quaint charming city at a sanctuary that fuses the artistry of local architecture with contemporary luxury. Pan Pacific Suzhou offers modern-day conveniences, outstanding service and state-of-the-art amenities. Let us inspire your imagination and heighten your senses with a stay at our 5 star hotel.Flanked by a magnificent backdrop of traditional gardens, our luxury hotel is just a one-hour drive from Shanghai, close to Lake Taihu and Hanshan temple. Spend time exploring Suzhou, savour gourmet meals, tempt your senses at our spa, or experience enchantment in our silk boutique. Discover your own private paradise at the Pan Pacific Suzhou hotel, where tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Suzhou Hotel Suzhou
Sheraton Suzhou Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing