We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with English speaking staff”
Review of Pan Pacific Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Ranked #8 of 1,445 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
OZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with English speaking staff”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is amazing, beautiful Chinese architecture with the Pan Garden at the back of the hotel easily accessed and free with your room card.
We stayed in a Pacific Club room which provided breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails, so no need to eat anything else.
Lovely swimming pool which is a blessing after a hot day sight seeing. Rooms were so clean and the bed was soft.

Room Tip: Go for the Pacific Club the extra cost is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannedoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    424
    93
    24
    3
See reviews for
120
140
38
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A large complex of interlocking buildings reflective of the old Suzhou architecture. Service was good and hardware was even better. A good place to stay if guests are in a rush and want to experience this town as the hotel is appended to an old garden with a historic pagoda. This means one need not leave the hotel to see the town's typical offerings.

A little bit far from the hustle and bustle of downtown and the old town ShanTang Street but I think this is actually a good selling point as this means one gets to have a bit of peace and quiet.

The architecture of the hotel is impressive especially for first-time visitors to China (imagine staying in a typical Chinese house that overlooks a pagoda, nice, eh?) and it also has the comforts of a western hotel. Rooms are big but very spread out, so get ready to walk a lot within the complex.

My only complain: bad food, and an impossibly expensive cup of coffee (60 RMB for a cup/ approx US$10!!!! and it's really bad bitter coffee)

Will I come back? not on my own but if i have 1st-time travellers to China, I'll still bring them here and just warn them about the food and beverage.

Room Tip: ask for rrooms near the elevators especially if one do not want to walk a loooong looong way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alipinofw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Alipinofw,

Thank you for taking your time to write such detailed review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms and you think the architecure of our hotel was impressive. Sorry for the bad experience you had with the food. We will focus on this issue and improve the quality of our restaurants. Hope you would come back and stay with us again in the near future to see our improvement.

Best Regards,

Ye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is amazingly beautiful with Chinese architecture, canals and gardens as well as lovely lobbies and restaurants. The art work and decor throughout is interesting and tasteful. I chose this rather than some of the newer hotels on the outskirts of town because it seemed to have more character and is located in town so it is an easy cab ride to gardens and Suzhou tourist attractions. Guests staying at the hotel have free access through the back gate to the Panmen garden, with historic Song Pagoda and portion of the old Suzhou city wall. The managers, desk staff and servers are friendly and helpful. It is no problem getting a taxi. The room in the club section was superb with comfortable beds, nice views of the courtyards, fast wi-fi, good TV with BBC, CNN, , refrigerator with complimentary beverages. Good fitness center with lots of equipment. This was the best hotel of our China trip.

Room Tip: The Club room package was an excellent value: room was fantastic, club lounge for afternoon tea or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shojin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Shojin,

Thank you for speaking highly of our hotel. It is our great pleasure to know that you had a good time during your stay here. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the style of our hotel, the environment and our restaurant particularly. Welcome you to come back and stay with us next time you Visit Suzhou.

Best Regards,

Ye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. I would say this is a nice hotel with antique architecture, nice garden and pool view. The apperance of this hotel is grand. I had enjoyed free complimentary massage, buffet breakfast and dinner. The massage service is fantastic! Cindy was providing good massage service to me. I love it. In addition, hotel guests have free access to the panmen garden which linked with the back door of hotel. I found that the panmen garden is ok only. Maybe this is because I have been visited other garden in Suzhou before and I was not so fancy to this panmen garden. Overall, it is still considered a lovely garden especially for whoever have limited time in Suzhou and doesn't have chance to visit 'Garden' in Suzhou. For the buffet dinner, I love the desserts here. There are many variety and so delicious! The room itself is ok. There is one thing that I don't like which is I have to take 2 different lifts (changed another lift at level 3) whenever I need to go down to the level 1 from my room (level 5) or vice verse. Moreover, there is no wifi in the room! Only cable is available for connecting to internet. This is something that i can't take it! Need to go to Level 1 or 3 to get wifi access. Anyway, I still will come back to this hotel again if I have chance to visit Suzhou next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Dayfish,

Thank you for taking time to write such detailed feedback. Your review is very helpful to other visitors and travelers to Suzhou. It is our pleasure to know that overall you enjoyed your stay here. We welcome you to come back and stay with us if you have the chance to visit Suzhou again.

Best Regards,

Ye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

In the main building you need sneakers to reach your room because the hotel develop itself only in 4 floors... Room is clean and well equipped, buffet restaurant is expensive and better for Asian people but not bad, Italian restaurant is quite good. Nice fitness centre in main building, too expensive massage service in Spa. Very nice indoor swimming-pool. No wifi in the room, only in common areas. Very very nice garden with Pagoda. If you arrive after 10pm you will find difficulties to eat...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Luca M,

Thank you for your detailed sharing of our hotel. Sorry for the difficulties you experienced with dining after 10pm. In fact, our in-room-dining department takes meal orders 24 hours a day. If you get in late next time, please try our room service. If you would like to eat out, our pleasure to recommend some of the good restaurants nearby which service nice food with reasonable prices.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Ye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel has lovely lobby and garden. Stayed one night with on a tour. R Like most hotels in China, the maintenance is never up to standard and non smoking room is never without cigarette smell. The shower leaked and the faucet was loose. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, room very quiet facing the garden so it is fine for one night. Included breakfast had good selection of food. There was a fruit market across the street from the hotel, had good selection of fruits. Wifi available only at the lobby and breakfast area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear HuLunt,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments. Your review is very helpful for other guests and helps us focus on the areas which need to be improved. We are shocked to find this issue you have experienced with the bathroom. Could you inform us of the room number and the date of your stay through message service here? We will rectify and solve the issues you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As I was sitting in the breakfast area of the hotel, looking out onto the landscaped grounds I could not help but think how peaceful and serene the Chinese gardens are. Round keyhole doorways leading where? To another vista, another secret spot to discover. Walking around and seeing the trees all in their green glory is so refreshing for a gardener. They are in for a treat today and the next few as we discover some of the classical Chinese gardens of Suzhou and Shanghai. My group was here to enjoy the gardens and this was a perfect spot to be in. The hotel is wonderful…right in the old area where it is hustle and bustle but here it is calm and restful. People out in the gardens doing Tai Chi to the soft music playing in the background. Birds fluttering from tree to tree….very peaceful indeed.

The Pan Pacific Suzhou is within the walled city moat and from our rooms we can see the Ruiguang Pagoda) dates back 2,500 years to the Wu Kingdom.

Our rooms were mostly in the Garden Wing and we didn't have any issues with things that were wrong in the rooms. The staff looked after us from check in to check out with happiness and a smile.

The lobby is beautiful and the breakfast was super delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear ICanTravelPanama,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Suzhou. And more importantly, as a Suzhou local person, it is my honour to hear compliment about my city. Welcome you and your friends and family to come back to Suzhou and enjoy the peace and serenity that classical gardens bring to you.

Kind Regards,
Ye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#11 of 1,445 in Suzhou
385 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,445 in Suzhou
809 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,445 in Suzhou
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,445 in Suzhou
466 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,445 in Suzhou
917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Suzhou

Property: Pan Pacific Suzhou
Address: No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#13 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper your senses at Pan Pacific Suzhou, a private paradise in the heart of a city steeped in Chinese artistry, culture and tradition.Indulge in the culture of this quaint charming city at a sanctuary that fuses the artistry of local architecture with contemporary luxury. Pan Pacific Suzhou offers modern-day conveniences, outstanding service and state-of-the-art amenities. Let us inspire your imagination and heighten your senses with a stay at our 5 star hotel.Flanked by a magnificent backdrop of traditional gardens, our luxury hotel is just a one-hour drive from Shanghai, close to Lake Taihu and Hanshan temple. Spend time exploring Suzhou, savour gourmet meals, tempt your senses at our spa, or experience enchantment in our silk boutique. Discover your own private paradise at the Pan Pacific Suzhou hotel, where tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Suzhou Hotel Suzhou
Sheraton Suzhou Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing