We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere but Too Small”
Review of The Bookworm

The Bookworm
Ranked #29 of 748 Restaurants in Suzhou
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Bookworm Suzhou is at once café, bookstore, restaurant, library, bar, comedy club, and live music venue; truly a central cultural hub of the great city of Suzhou, and one of the most classic expat-operated venues in town.Located just off the famous ShiQuanJie street downtown (just by the PingQiaoZhiJie intersection), it plays host to delicious foods, drinks, and activities both local and from around the world. Head down anytime, be it for a proper cup of coffee and a sandwich, a cold beer and some laughs, a bit of sun out on the patio, or to check out one of the many cool weekly events that keep this cultural heart beating.
Batam, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere but Too Small”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have visit this place 3 times, 2 times when they have music event, the place is so small with books on all the walls, not easy to find a seat. They do have rooms on 2nd floor, but if you don't have big group, you wouldn't want to go upstairs.

The food is quite good with average price of the same kind bar or cafe.

A lot of foreigner hang out here, they have some table outside which is nice on summer, but not on winter. The manager and the staffs are nice

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kripiksingkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delish Burger”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Need an English fix? Cozy English bookstore offers up casual fare, coffee and drinks. Staff is super helpful and very accomodating, one fellow even walked us out to point us in the right direction to find one of the Master of the Nets Garden

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good and fun atmosphere, not good food.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The bookworm has free delivery of it's food, so I have had them deliver food to my home several times.
It is about 50/50 as to whether or not the food will be edible. The first time I ordered food to be delivered it was ok, but when I ordered the same foods the next time it was terrible.
The bookworm is very close to my home, and I would like to eat there often, but I can't, the food is just not good. The pizza tastes like ketchup on crackers.
The kung pao chicken was made with breaded and fried chicken- very strange.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“The Bookworm is an ok place for dinner or to socialize”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been to the Bookworm about a dozen times and am always satisfied. Sometimes I eat dinner and sometimes I go to special events.

Food is good, service is good, and atmosphere is awesome!

If you want to socialize with friends or just be alone you can enjoy yourself. On some friday nights groups of expats and Chinese come together to meet and talk.

other nights they have some live music.

location is great but slightly hard to find sometimes if you are new to Suzhou.

bad thing is they allow smoking and it puts a damper on the eating experience when people are blowing smoke on your food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MonteBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful premises, shoddy service, so-so food”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Looks like a great place to hang out and have coffee all day. Unfortunately we went here for dinner. We had Shepherd's Pie, Baked potato with Chilli Beef, and Chocolate Cake. The food was acceptable, but weirdly both the Shepherd's Pie and the Chilli Beef tasted overwhelmingly of lemongrass. The chocolate cake was old and dry. Service was slow and inattentive. We were the only customers in a restaurant with six staff members and we struggled to get any service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acorn279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bookworm also viewed

 
Suzhou, Jiangsu
 
Suzhou, Jiangsu
 

Been to The Bookworm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing