We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a Courtyard Marriott & Great place to Use your Points”
Review of Courtyard Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Suzhou
Ranked #8 of 1,457 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked this facility as we were traveling in many cities in China, and we decided to visit Suzhou to see all the gardens. When I looked it up on the Marriott website, I saw that the point redemption for a room was low, especially if you consider Suzhou is the 49th largest populated city in the world (Los Angeles is 65th in comparison). So I was a little nervous how nice it would be since it appeared to be such a good value. Well, we were pleasantly surprised as the staff was wonderful and the hotel room was excellent. I recently saw someone on business who didn't have as good of an experience, so I'm not sure how they could have had those issues, as we had just the opposite experience. The room service was great and housekeeping was very thorough and actually replaced the number of free bottled water we consumed each day. The reception spoke English well, and they were helpfull with all requests There are a lot of restaurants just a block or two away in front of the hotel, but the pizza we had at the hotel was actually quite good. I can't remember the name of the Peking duck restaurant but you walk out the front door to the left corner and go two block forward and the restaurant is on theleft, with an additional complex of great places including an "I Will" pastry shop that had lots of great bakery goods. Suzhou was a wonderful place to stay and visit all the gardens, museums, and water cities. It makes a lot more sense than dealing with the short day trips from Shanghai. Our room was very quiet, and we found it to be very roomy. I would definitely stay here again. I have found Marriott Courtyards to be very reliable. You pretty much know what to expect, unlike some of the hotels in their upper end hotels, and the same Courtyard in NYC would cost you 3 times this much and this place is more modern.

Room Tip: We booked a non-smoking room on a high floor which was quiet. We also found if you leave your empty...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Suzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 453 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

2017
The room had a strong chemical/offgassing (?) odor so that was the first major strike against it. It was spacious, but the cleaning people had not been particularly thorough. The bathroom floor and counter had small black seeds scattered around. Counters were sticky in the bathroom and in the bedroom area of the room. Additionally, the mat in the shower area was covered with mold.

The bathroom was separated from the sleeping area with a clear glass wall (with blinds to use to close off the space). This room did not have a bathtub, only a shower.

Room was quite dark even with all lights on. Room and bathroom had a modern design.

Sound proofing was also a problem. Hallway noise was easily heard in the room as well as voices from neighboring rooms.

Mini bar prices were considerably lower than the prices of their sister Marriott facility, the Suzhou Renaissance (approximately ½ mile away).

Room service was tried for breakfast. The wrong food was brought to the room and I was not able to communicate with the delivery person that the food was incorrect. Another one of those situations where I do not speak Mandarin and the delivery person did not speak English. Paperwork said one thing but the food did not match. French toast ordered, received pancakes instead. No big deal.

Due to a late night arrival, I was not able to explore the surrounding area. The desk clerk mentioned that there were some restaurants approximately 500 meters away if I entered the subway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Staff treat you very well indeed. Buffet is one that covers all cultures for breakfast or dinner.
Very good internet service for business too. I will be back business or pleasure.
One note, I checked out and within 30 seconds my WiFi was cut off so I could not use my cell phone WiFi while still standing at the checkout desk!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemurray2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel a case were the value brand offers a room and experience on par with the best of its premium sisters. The room was spacious and well equipped for business or a vacation stay. WiFi throughout the hotel, and membership in the Marriott Rewards program makes it free. Our room had a glass partition with a retractable screen that allowed plenty of light and a feeling of space in the large shower.

English language skills varied among the hotel team, however all smiled and made every effort to provide service and/or find an solution to a request.

The location is in the new city business center, close to a stop on the metro. Not as "romantic" as a stay in the historic old city area, but clean, neat and a short walk to the large city lake.

Hard to imagine a much better value on offer in Suzhou.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhileasFoggII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was very impressed with the Courtyard in Suzhou. It's clear that this brand has a more premium position in Asia than in the US. The staff was friendly and helpful, and actually had a decent mix of westerners mixed in (maybe on college intern programs?). The location is very good, as there are many dining options nearby. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Suzhou.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank jackstrawfromwichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have no idea why this is branded a courtyard hotel as this hotel is slightly north of the full Marriott in terms of amenities, size of rooms etc.

The Rooms are big modern and well equipped. The hotel is in a really nice expanding city which has a safe and prosperous vibe.

Service is good though not everyone speaks English quite as well as they should but this is very very ninor niggle. Also for now it is ridiculously cheap at around 60 us per night.

Breakfast ok, lots of places to eat around and a great bar the blue marlin availible 5 mins walk away

I really cannot fault the place.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott in Suzhou is in the center of the exploding city of Suzhou, China. This property is about 2 years old, so you can expect everything to feel new. The rooms are large and fitted with expected amenities. Service is wonderful, gracious, and always available, but never intrusive. Line 1 of the new Suzhou subway system stops across the street, so much of the city including Times Square, two amusement parks, and other destinations are now accessible for less than 5 RMB! Jinji lake is a short walk away so check out the nightly light show from one of the nearby restaurants.

Constant construction and hazy skies are the norm in this industrial region of China, but the city appears to be well-planned with wide streets and pedestrian pathways. Look out your window and see China's state bird - the construction crane. Stay for a week and watch another skyscraper go from dirt to completion.

I highly recommend this hotel if you find the price a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms start at the 18th floor, so any room has an equal view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabe10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#2 of 1,457 in Suzhou
769 reviews
5.3 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#3 of 1,457 in Suzhou
528 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#9 of 1,457 in Suzhou
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#7 of 1,457 in Suzhou
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,457 in Suzhou
934 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#6 of 1,457 in Suzhou
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Suzhou

Address: No.188 Xinghai Street, Suzhou 215021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,457 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range: $121 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inter-connected with Xinghai Square Subway Station (line 1), Courtyard by Marriott Suzhou is located in Suzhou Industrial Park a short distance from Eslite Bookstore, Shin Kong Place, Times Square Shopping Centre and Suzhou International Expo Center. The hotel offers an indoor pool and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing