We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near SIP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Suzhou
Ranked #6 of 1,459 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel as part of a business trip.

The rooms are large, clean and fresh fruit awaits you on a daily basis. The wifi is a bit on the slower side.

The bathroom is huge and I like the Seperation of the shower, toilet and the rest of the amenities.

I had to order room service late in the evening and I had a hard time getting room service to understand my order, but once everything was understood the service was quick.

The executive lounge is one of the best I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We will share your comment with our related department. Feedback as yours is very valuable to us, which helps us to improve our service standard.

Thank you again for your suggestion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Suzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 523 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Check location. This hotel is not at the heart of Suzhou if sightseeing the old Suzhou city and the museum is the purpose of your trip. Rather, it is right next to a tranquil lake and a proposed new uptown (probably still a few years away) area.

Rooms are nice. Restaurant on the second floor is nice.

I have stayed at this hotel several times already and they met my intercontinental expectations, particularly for business travellers.

Greeted by some not very well-trained front desk people. This is the second time already. They spent 15 minutes looking up reservations, credit card guarantees, etc.

The concierge guy deliver bags to my room and nearly refuse to leave until they get a tip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverTenpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We feel very sorry to know that our service did not meet your satisfaction. Feedback as yours is very valuable to us, which helps us to improve our service standard.

Our management team would like to respond to you personally regarding the matter of air conditioner. Would you mind to provide your email address? Could you please reply the message to us on Tripadvisor or email to communication@intercontisuzhou.com?

We look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to InterContinental Suzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had a pleasant stay in this hotel at the 19th floor with lake view. Compared the hotel rooms in Europe, I had a very large room with double bed. In the bathroom everything you need plus very luxury shower and bath. Room service does not only come in the morning, but also in the early evening to ask if there is anything needed. Everyday there was fruit brought in my room.
The breakfast is international meaning that for any culture there is something nice to eat. I have had only once diner in the hotel (buffet), which was also very nice.

I disliked that the temperature control in the room was not working, it is only possible to make it warmer, but I would have liked to have it cooler in the room. On a sunny day the room becomes too warm, for me 23-24 Celsius is too warm to have a good sleep.

Internet ok (wired and wireless in the room)

Room Tip: Ask room with lake view. Although the air can be quite dirty, when the sky is clear after some rain...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We feel very sorry to know that our service did not meet your satisfaction. Feedback as yours is very valuable to us, which helps us to improve our service standard.

Our management team would like to respond to you personally regarding the matter of air conditioner. Would you mind to provide your email address? Could you please reply the message to us on Tripadvisor or email to communication@intercontisuzhou.com?

We look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to InterContinental Suzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a review about the Sunday Brunch.

Sunday Brunch at the InterContinental is always a treat. With free slowing champagne and copious amounts of food on offer it is a wonderful way to spend a Sunday from around 11:30 to 15:00.

What I really enjoy about the Sunday brunch is the Service. The waiting staff are extremely professional, courteous and extremely discreet. They are always there when you need your glass topped up and you empty dirty plate somehow always disappears when you go up for your next round of food.

So the food...Fresh pancakes, waffles, lobster, crab, sushi, pizza, meat, Indian food, traditional Chinese food, delicious desserts, tea, coffee, wine, beer and much, much more await you when you're hungry. There is something for everyone and the kids enjoy the food to. In mentioning the kids there is no area for the young guests to be entertained so please bear this in mind. The hotel does put on some entertainment for the little ones (clowns etc) but there is no separate room.

I've been to the Sunday brunch twice now and I am always impressed. It is worth it and make sure you come on an empty stomach that will leave satisfied.

Room Tip: Make a reservation
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post to us your feedback regarding on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service helped make your visit enjoyable. For the kids corner that you mentioned, We are going to plan to have a kids corner on Sunday Brunch which provides kids playground and movie room. Meanwhile, we had tried the kids playground on the Easter Day and it is very successful. Feedback as yours is very valuable to us, which helps us to improve our service standard.

Thank you again for your suggestion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Recognise Ambassador members but staff change constantly and the training seems lacking.
Some don't even know what the Black Ambassador cards are???
Club facilities v good.
Nice choice snacks in pm and great views over the lake side.
Can even see the new "trouser building"
Breakfast crazy.
Don't know what boiled or poach eggs are!!!!!
When 2 poach eggs finally came 30 mins later after order, they arrived in a bowl.no toast no nothing.
Such a pity but they need sort out staff.

Room Tip: Club lounge rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We feel very sorry to know that our service did not meet your satisfaction. Feedback as yours is very valuable to us, which helps us to improve our service standard.

Our management team would like to respond to you personally regarding this matter. Would you mind to provide your email address? Could you please reply the message to us on Tripadvisor or email to communication@intercontisuzhou.com?

We look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to InterContinental Suzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for business. Room was very nice. Bathroom was spacious. Separate tub, shower, and toilet areas. Everything seemed new. Breakfast buffet was excellent: many offerings of fruit, continental, asian, omelet's, etc. Ate at the steak restaurant for dinner. Beef was very good. Service was top notch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToVacateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post to us your feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.

Thank you again for your recommendation and support and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed a week on business - wow, this place ticks all the boxes. Prices are very reasonable for a true 5 star establishment. The rooms are beautifully appointed and have all the comforts you need. Internet services are good.

Lots of restaurant choice within the hotel, and reasonable value in most. A good steak in Riva will set you back $85+ so I didn't try that! The Carumba bar was reasonable, although the Columbian trio providing the live music in the evenings sounded half asleep and looked bored.....they should go!
The SkyLounge on the 27th floor provides spectacular views of the lake and is a "must do" for a nightcap.

The hotel gym ranks among the best I've ever used in a hotel. Treadmills, circuit style weights machines, a good stack of dumbells, even a small aerobics studio you can go stretch in. The pool is about 35-40m long so long enough to swim laps, after which you can go soak in the warmed spa or have a nice sauna.

Highly recommended for anyone visiting Suzhou.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake. The other side faces a construction site.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaundiced_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post to us your feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service helped make your visit enjoyable. According the band problem, we have already shared your comment with our management team and we will make it better in the future. Thank you again for your recommendation and support and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#5 of 1,459 in Suzhou
941 reviews
7.6 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 1,459 in Suzhou
538 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#7 of 1,459 in Suzhou
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#10 of 1,459 in Suzhou
1,026 reviews
2.7 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#2 of 1,459 in Suzhou
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Suzhou
Hyatt Regency Suzhou
#14 of 1,459 in Suzhou
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suzhou

Address: No.288 Wangdun Road, Suzhou 215028, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#5 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#39 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: $188 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suzhou is the most prestigious luxury hotel in the historic garden city of Suzhou. This stunning new property occupies a coveted location on the shores of Jinji Lake, a showpiece destination in one of China’s most cherished tourism cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Suzhou Hotel Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing