We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Suzhou
Ranked #8 of 1,478 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We (2 adults, 3 kids ages 10, 8, 6) stayed at InterContinental Suzhou for 2 nights in September during the mid-autumn festival long weekend. We stayed in a Deluxe Lake Twin room and a Deluxe Lake Suite (connecting rooms). The hotel is conveniently located nearby a large department store and a few shopping centres. The lake is a short walk away and lots of restaurants and tea places (English tea-Whittard, and Chinese tea place where you can listen to Kunqu opera). There is an amusement park within walking distance from the hotel.

(1) At check-in, we were told fresh fruits would be delivered to our rooms shortly. It took several phone calls to get the fruits.
(2) We requested non-smoking rooms, but were put on a smoking floor. After we made a call to front desk, housekeeping placed an air purifier in the room,
(3) The Suite provided club access on the 27th floor for 3 of us. Since we didn't use the room upgrade available to Ambassodor member, we requested that the other 2 people be given access to club floor. We were given access to breakfast free of charge, not the afternoon tea or cocktail.
(4) The Suite has a beautiful, unobstructed view of the lake.
(5) We got a foot massage at the spa in a private room. It's clean and relaxing, but were told it's about 50% more expensive than a local foot massage shop.

We have stayed at InterContintal hotels in other cities and countries, and InterContinental Suzhou fell short of the standard. The next time we visit Suzhou, we will probably try another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, General Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear InterContinental Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I was very distraught to hear of your unpleasant experience with us and will be reviewing this with my team to ensure that this does not occur again in the future.

Feedback such as your is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards which, on this occasion regretfully has failed to meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this incident and I hope that on your next visit to Suzhou you will allow us the opportunity to redeem your faith in the InterContinental Suzhou.

I look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to InterContinental Suzhou in the near future.

With kind regards,



Justin Channe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 542 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is a great spot to relax and only a short 1,5 hours away from Shanghai. The outdoor has been done very well and invites for bycicling with kids. The swimming pool is very nice and great to cool down after the outdoor. Good food and lounge as well.

Room Tip: Take the corner rooms. IT is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aumbricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Justin Channe - General Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.

Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

With kind regards,



Justin Channe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great service, room was immaculate, and good food in the restaurants. The only downside was the lack of people - was common to go into restaurants in the hotel and the surrounding area and be the only customer. Fancy but eerie.

Room Tip: Lake view very much trumps the view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopher_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Justin Channe - General Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.

Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

With kind regards,



Justin Channe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at the Intercontinental Hotel in Suzhou the last week in August. I stayed for two nights and I would definitely recommend it.

The hotel is in excellent shape with rooms, facilities, restaurants, etc. all in great condition. Rooms are very comfortable with beautiful bathrooms/showers.

I enjoyed the breakfast, definitely above average for hotels in this class.

I guess the only thing to complain about was the lack of free internet in the rooms for Priority Club Platinum members. I am Diamond on Hyatt and Platinum on SPG, and both of those chains offer its elite members free internet AND free breakfast. For this hotel neither benefit was made available to me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junipermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Justin Channe - General Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.

Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

With kind regards,



Justin Channe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I was in Suzhou for a two day meeting. The hotel is a new hotel which has beautifully appointed rooms. I was also on the club floor with access to the lounge for sumptuous breakfast served by very helpful staff. i will definitely go back to the hotel as a leisure customer.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljennybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Justin Channe - General Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.

Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

With kind regards,



Justin Channe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was in Suzhou in June/03/2011 with my family on holiday. We stayed with Intercontinental Hotel and we had fantastic experience in this Hotel (Great Food, Great People, and Great View), if you ever visit Suzhou I strongly recommend staying with intercontinental and make sure to try their Steak House!!!! Thank you for great service!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klim926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

It makes me feel home away from home. Hotel looks grand and facilities are more than outstanding. Hotel staff is nice and warm. Especially the concierge team is really helpful. The location is not bad, which very peaceful. This is a real five star hotel with five star services.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenyu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icsuzhou, Justin Channe - General Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.

Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

With kind regards,



Justin Channe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
7.6 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 1,478 in Suzhou
632 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#9 of 1,478 in Suzhou
822 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,478 in Suzhou
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Suzhou
Hyatt Regency Suzhou
#17 of 1,478 in Suzhou
263 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#11 of 1,478 in Suzhou
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suzhou

Address: No.288 Wangdun Road, Suzhou 215028, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#39 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: $183 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suzhou is the most prestigious luxury hotel in the historic garden city of Suzhou. This stunning new property occupies a coveted location on the shores of Jinji Lake, a showpiece destination in one of China’s most cherished tourism cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Suzhou Hotel Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing