We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience at Hotel Soul”
Review of Hotel Soul Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Ranked #10 of 1,438 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good Experience at Hotel Soul”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Soul during my recent business trip and found all the positive reviews given by a number of reviewers were well deserved. For an independent hotel, I was pleasantly surprised with the level of guest services. Upon check in, I had encountered a problem with my credit card. The Reception Staff was very tactful in handling the matter as I asked them if I could be checked in first, feeling a little jet lag after a long flight from London and I will have the matter sorted out with the issuing bank. Truly felt at ease with how this matter was handled by a smiling Reception Staff as it could have been rather embarrasing if I were made to have the matter sorted out at Reception. The Business Room which I stayed in was spacious and comfortable. Wifi was available in the room and throughout the hotel including the Restaurants which was very useful and it was complimentary unlike a number of 5 Star hotels who are still to this day charges it's guests for this. Location wise is ideal should you need to go for a stroll nearby at Guanjen Street. Although taxis are not easily available in Suzhou, this was easily sorted out by the ever helpful Concierge. Had met up with a business associate at the Brasserie 101 where a buffet breakfast is served daily and the service was attentive enough. The hotel definitely serves its purpose whether you are staying here for business or leisure and I would recommend it to anyone that is visiting Suzhou. Thank you for a job well done, Hotel Soul !

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for taking time to provide us with a review of your recent stay at Hotel Soul.

The team and I are glad to note that you have enjoyed the services provided whilst being comfortable with the friendliness of the Staff. The positive comments which you have kindly accorded us will give us the confidence to move forward in achieving consistency in our guest services.

We look forward very much to be of service to you in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    161
    43
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
124
48
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hotel staffs very helpful, location is good... easy to move around, within walking distant which is just around corner is shopping streets, shopping malls .. like Gap, Zara, and many more in the malls. many restaurants or street stalls foods to taste. Will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skkiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou and for a favourable review which is appreciated.

We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and also with the services accorded. The location of the hotel being in very close proximity to the popular and busy Guanqian Street allows our guests to enjoy the many varieties of shopping and the sight seeing attractions also located nearby.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we hope that you had a memorable visit to Suzhou as we look forward to be of service to you in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in December 2013. Even though the price is relatively higher, but the service was great. We enjoyed the fancy design of the hotel as well as the service of the staff. The room is large and nice. The location is superb and extremely close to the walking street where we can shop and eat. One thing that impress me the most was the front desk staff. We asked him whether the hotel offer the bus service to sent us to the Suzhou train station. He tried his best to help us, even though its difficult to find car to sent all of us (7 people with huge luggages). In the end, he helped us called 3 taxis and we arrived the train station on time. Great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surachetchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

It gives us great pleasure to note that you had enjoyed the services and facilities that were provided. The positive comments received serves as an acknowledgement that the team here is moving towards to right direction.

Rest assure we will continue with the progress of ensuring that all of our guests enjoys a similar stay experience. On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you again in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was a nice boutique hotel. Service was good. We arranged for the free pickup after we bought our tickets in Shanghai and gave them an hour advance notice to pick us up. It was the best choice to arranged complimentary transfer as upon arrival at Suzhou train station, one would be approached by many operators selling their service which was what we dislike though we speak Mandarin.

No hiccups and arrived at hotel smoothly and was upgraded to a rooftop garden room upon check-in. The room was huge and nice. We stayed for 3 nights and had received great service. Needed an extra room key and they delivered it to the room instead of making us walk to reception. Hotel has gym facility as well for my hubby for his run.

Hotel is less than a minute walk to the main Guan Qian pedestrian shopping street which has all the food you will need. Spent the time walking to Ping Jiang Street and Shan Tang Street(further away, suggest taking a cab). Go to Shantang before 5pm as there is a nice local stretch (beyond the tourist stretch) which has the local market, food and interesting sights & clear up at 5pm. We had the best Peking roast duck from a roadside stall who slice off the duck skin and meat in the spot. It was better then those we tried in restaurant in Beijing!

Very happy with the hotel and will certainly recommend anyone going to Suzhou. When we left, we arranged for the complimentary transfer to train station again. Makes the whole experience wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBmehmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are pleased to note from your review that you have enjoyed your stay and had a comfortable stay experience. These positive comments are much appreciated as it serves as a morale booster for all of us as we continue to make improvements towards extending a consistent level of guest services to all of our guests.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to be of service to you during your next visit to Suzhou.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights end of Nov 2013. Great hotel just right at city centre. Nice spacious room with good amenities. The ac is a total shame though. One would opt to stay out instead of adjusting to the stuffy room, which is seemingly a common experience in China hotel. Hallway on 14th floor is dim. The creamy yoghurt in the breakfast spread is simply heavenly. What makes this hotel a winner is completely its staff. Reception is friendly and Ainnol the concierge really extended extra hand n treat our group of 8 family members feels like VIP. He not only arrange free shuttle from hotel to train station on our departure but also pointed us to various attractions and help arranged taxi to and fro Tongli water village. Way to go, young man! It is people like you that makes up a memorable vacation. Also thumbs up n heartfelt appreciation to taxi driver 韩雪民 who has generously forgiven my 12yrs old son who was sick & vomited in his car.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceKCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Soul and for taking time in providing us with a review of your stay experience.

We are please that you have enjoyed your stay and the breakfast spread at Brasserie 101. Most of all, we are glad that you have given our Staff especially Ainnol, our Chief Concierge a very positive rating on their friendliness and for going the extra mile for the comfort of our guests. This is truly appreciated as this is one area which we constantly strive for continuous improvement.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you again in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Read thru' many good feedback on this hotel and so booked 3 Executive rooms for my whole family of 11 with Agoda for a day.

I emailed directly to hotel after receiving no reply from Agoda on free shuttle service from Suzhou Train Station. Was pleasantly surprised to get a response in English (read a lot of negative reports on China's communication breakdown) from the hotel staff, Ainnol, confirming the complimentary transfer and the room bookings.

On the day of arrival, Ainnol himself was already waiting patiently for us at the train station with a big welcome signage (can't miss). He suggested many places of interest and when we requested for his assistance to bring us around, without hesitation and with his superior's acknowledgement, brought us on a private tour. Charge is only on the hotel's transport, no charge on his guided service! He even turned us down profusely when we tried to push him tips (have to force him to accept)!

We are truly blessed, with the grace of God, to have met with such superb service offered by this young man. Hotel Soul Suzhou sure knows how to train their staff!

Rooms are unexpectedly enormous, clean, smoke-free, chic, comfy and shockingly affordable!

This hotel is definitely highly recommended. No regrets!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou and for taking time in providing us with a review of your stay.

All of us at Hotel Soul are grateful for the positive comments and most of all comforted by the fact that you had enjoyed your stay. We are constantly reviewing and taking measures to ensure that our team continues to provide consistent service excellence to all of our guests.

Your compliments and kind comments on Ainnol, our Chief Concierge are well appreciated and I am sure it will serve as an encouragement to the rest of our team to excel similarly. We look forward to be of service to you again in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hefei, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Myself and my 3 other Canadian coworkers (teachers living in China and teaching abroad) were delighted with our stay at Hotel Soul in Suzhou. The location was excellent, and was only a 2 minute walk to one of the pedestrian shopping streets. The Humble Administrators Garden, the Museum, and a shopping street along the canal are also very accessible on foot. When we weren't sure where to go or how to get there, the staff were very friendly, spoke English very well and provided exceptional customer service. For a little extra, the hotel provides a car (similar rates to taxi). The hotel rooms were clean, the showers hot, and the decor really interesting! One thing to beware of though: the doors separating the shower/bathroom with the bedroom were clear glass with artsy photos on them...easy to see your partner change or using the facilities so make sure you are staying with family or very close friends!
One of my favorite parts about the hotel were the themed elevators...you have to see these! In addition, the hotel had a really nice gym, and some delicious looking restaurants.
The hotel was a little more on the pricey side, but well worth it for the quality. The only complaint I have is that the internet was really slow in our rooms and most times I just gave up on checking emails (probably for the better anyway!)
The most memorable part of our stay was the customer service we received from Ainnol, a customer service representative. His English is excellent, and it seemed he was working day and night to keep the hotel running and the guests happy. He always had a smile on his face and was extremely helpful with all of our needs. He was so friendly, we even asked him to take a photo with our group and plan to stay in touch by email.
I would certainly stay at Hotel Soul again, and I would most definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The 7th floor was incredible. Try and get upgraded if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 729beckyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Soul and thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Suzhou.

We would like to express our sincere appreciation on the positive review given on the services and facilities. Rest assured your kind comments have been shared with the team here and especially to Ainnol, our Chief Concierge whom has been a great example of the level of customer service that we strive to achieve on a consistent basis.

With reference to the slow internet which you had experienced, we have arranged for our IT Manager to review the problem and we would like apologize for the inconvenience.

On behalf of the team here at Hotel Soul, we look forward very much to be of service to you again in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#8 of 1,438 in Suzhou
996 reviews
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,438 in Suzhou
695 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,438 in Suzhou
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
2.4 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,438 in Suzhou
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soul Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soul Suzhou

Property: Hotel Soul Suzhou
Address: No.27-33, Qiaosikong Alley, Gusu District, Suzhou 215 000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,438 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soul Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in May 2010, Hotel Soul is the first contemporary boutique hotel in Suzhou, China. The 220 room hotel's design concept juxtaposes elements of modern and ancient China, celebrating the nation's remarkable swift modernisation while paying tribute to its distinguished past. Guests at Hotel Soul can enjoy a wide range of culinary delights at the continental restaurant, Brasserie 101, inspired by chic Sino-French interior design. Bar Soul brings a unique blend of retro and industrial elements. It is also the ideal place for carousing with regular live band performances and a variety of drinks and snacks. Chinese restaurant Ying Fook Court serves carefully crafted Chinese cuisine and an innovative congee hotpot. On the second floor, Ying Fook Heen boasts a bright, spacious banquet hall and three VIP rooms perfect for hosting banquet receptions and business dinners for all occasions. Hotel Soul also offers a fully equipped gym alongside premium leisure and meeting facilities, making it the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Soul Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing