We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller boutique hotel in central location”
Review of Hotel Soul Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Ranked #9 of 1,434 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Smaller boutique hotel in central location”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Smaller boutique hotel in central location, rooms are nice, big comfy bed, location is good, right off the main shopping street in Suzhou. Breakfast was ok, but not a splurge.
Suzhou itself is fine for a day or 2 max.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    159
    41
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
123
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Depending on the rate you get, this hotel is excellent value for money. Staff are kind and welcoming and do their best to accommodate requests. The room is nicely appointed with a modern bathroom, comfortable bed and nice touches. All in all, a nice respite from the chaos of the streets.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jef_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice hotel, the room is clean, quite big with all the comforts. Staff speak english so you have no problem to comunicate. The hotel is located in the center of the old town were you can find restaurants and shops, without taking any taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed here for on night. the hotel is clean, well situated, and the rooms are comfortable.
some taxis avoided to go in front of the hotel, so we had to get off in the street before that, which was not that far.
the staffs were helpful, and their English was very good (at least the ones I talked to).
Overall, I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skymohammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Hotel Soul has an amazing reception area and all the lifts have a theme which is fun getting up to your room. Our double room was spacious, modern fixtures & fittings and the bathroom had sliding glass doors which when opened made the open plan room even larger. The hotel is around the corner from the centre of town - great shopping and only a 15 min walk to the old town and 20 mins walk to the Humble Administrators Garden. You walk from the new into the old in a very short time and we loved our stay there and would go if in Suzhou again.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are spacious and modern and it's not in a noisy area of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLoucester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is in the centre of town and conveniently located for walking to the attractions. The interior design of the the hotel is very funky and smart. I loved the rocket ship elevator.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable but WIFI only in reception. There are two restraunts down stairs. The Bistro provides Western cusine and the breakfast was really good. They also have a restraunt serving local regional food where you cook the food at your table.

They provided a shuttle when we left to take us to the Station

All in all I would be very happy to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Review: Hotel Soul

Hotel Soul is in the heart of Suzhou. We had an enormous room which would have been suitable for at least two more double beds with room still to spare. Outside our windows, we could hear/see the hustle and bustle below.

This hotel is funky. Elevators are themed: spaceship (with windows looking out into space showing the "spaceship's" moving orbit), Terracotta Soldiers, and Mao-esque.

On the security front, our door latch had not been properly installed, so did not work, but the primary lock was fine. The in-room safe was huge -- the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel (approx 2 ft x 2 ft x 2 ft). Windows were safe enough, though you'd have to be careful of very young ambulatory children as I think a toddler could reach the edge and fall out.

The breakfast was just ok. If it's not included in your room rate, I wouldn't bother.

Cabs don't seem to appear magically at the hotel's front entrance, and goodness knows why staff haven't got the word out there for cabbies to include the hotel on their radar screens. We were told they could order one (15 mins??) or walk 4 blocks to hail one. We had to do that each time. On the plus side, the hotel offers free to/from shuttle to Suzhou train station. Our Booking.com reservation also said they offered one way from Pudong or Hongqiao in Shanghai, but that didn't seem to be the case on inquiry.

This hotel ticked a lot of boxes for us: great value (at 77 GBP for the enormous room described above with breakfast), great location that's buzzy well into the night, and a bit funky so you can fool yourself into thinking you're trendier than you are. The one downside is that the English language capability is sorely lacking. None of our emails to the hotel was acknowledged (presumedly because they didn't understand them), and getting directions was a bit of a challenge. That being said, we ultimately managed and would return for the reasons outlined above.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canoemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#7 of 1,434 in Suzhou
989 reviews
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,434 in Suzhou
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,434 in Suzhou
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#30 of 1,434 in Suzhou
261 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,434 in Suzhou
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soul Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soul Suzhou

Property: Hotel Soul Suzhou
Address: No.27-33, Qiaosikong Alley, Gusu District, Suzhou 215 000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,434 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soul Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in May 2010, Hotel Soul is the first contemporary boutique hotel in Suzhou, China. The 220 room hotel's design concept juxtaposes elements of modern and ancient China, celebrating the nation's remarkable swift modernisation while paying tribute to its distinguished past. Guests at Hotel Soul can enjoy a wide range of culinary delights at the continental restaurant, Brasserie 101, inspired by chic Sino-French interior design. Bar Soul brings a unique blend of retro and industrial elements. It is also the ideal place for carousing with regular live band performances and a variety of drinks and snacks. Chinese restaurant Ying Fook Court serves carefully crafted Chinese cuisine and an innovative congee hotpot. On the second floor, Ying Fook Heen boasts a bright, spacious banquet hall and three VIP rooms perfect for hosting banquet receptions and business dinners for all occasions. Hotel Soul also offers a fully equipped gym alongside premium leisure and meeting facilities, making it the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Soul Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing