We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly commendable service”
Review of Hotel Soul Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Ranked #8 of 1,422 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly commendable service”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Warm service and good attitude of staff deserved commendation. Information provided was accurate and useful. Location, overall design and facilities were good for both business and leisure. Well-managed. Guest comments were seriously considered.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    157
    41
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
120
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Very good experience....hotel room was very new,clean and big...
This is the only hotel i stayed in China that looks the same as their photos!
it's less than a 5 mins walk to their infamous street + shopping...perfect location!!
Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

First time to Suzhou. I booked at Ctrip, RMB 518 per night incl. breakfast. The hotel is just located 3 mins walk from the main shopping street of Suzhou, but not noisy at all. Walk about 5 mins from the hotel, you can reach the main street where you can easily take the bus to everywhere. Since many people would take the taxi to the main shopping street, it meant you could easily find a taxi nearby. The breakfast was good too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel was definitely trendy and very interesting, we liked the different elevators! The room was interesting as the bathroom wall was see through to the rest of the room. The room had free wifi which was great We had brunch included which was good for its value. It was right in the center of the shopping and restaurant district and a great location. The service was great as it also appeared that not a lot of people were staying there when we were there. Everyone spoke fairly fluent English and were very helpful. The day we were leaving we needed to get train tickets to Shanghai and the bell hop walked us all the way to where the ticket booth is (they say a 2 minute walk but more like a 10 min) and he also handled the transaction which was great because the ticket booth operator didnt speak any English.

Negative - we had a hard time at the train station (the one that is further away) getting a taxi to take us to the hotel as no one knew where it was located. And also with that when we checked out we were left on our own to try and find a taxi to take us to the train station (the closer one) it was so so so very difficult to try and find a taxi especially with all of our luggage and it was hot and humid and we were running around. Finally we got one but way more difficult then necessary. It truly aggravated me to no end that we could not walk out of our hotel and flag down a taxi. Oh well. It worked out in the end!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed here with two friends in May. It was an excellent stay. I was hesitant at first because it is a Chinese hotel brand which can often be a disaster to western sensibilities. By disaster, I mean a very ‘different’ sense of taste and certainly questionable quality . This, coupled with few reviews on this hotel and in a secondary Chinese city, I was hesitant. I was wrong and the hotel and staff were a delight. The rate was excellent at around 75$ USD for a triple.

The hotel is well located in a mostly commercial and retail area of Suzhou. The hotel recently opened and many taxi drivers needed some extra help or instruction to find their way. The staff were very keen and eager to help despite obviously being quite new in their jobs. Their level of English was also very good.

The hotel is a ‘design’ hotel which meant a lot of quirky design elements and a lot of effort put into lighting and architectural features in the lobby area. These features will probably not age well but they were tasteful and a very nice change from generic chain hotels. Some of these design elements were different themed elevators including a communist red elevator with Mao and a space ship like elevator. Importantly, the rooms were very practically designed and spacious. All furnishings were new and well maintained. Amenities in bathroom were adequate and TV was very good. There was also sufficient lighting.

Bathroom was quirky with only a shaded glass wall instead of a solid wall. This would mean if only the lights in the toilet were on, one could see the full silhouette of your room mate showering or going to the toilet. Fortunately, we were all good friends but perhaps not a well thought out design.

Hallways on each floor had an atrium area with a sunlight and the workout area was very, very respectable. There was also a balcony with a bar and internet. Nice value add features.

I can’t foresee myself as a tourist again in Suzhou but if I did, I’d stay in this hotel again. However, keep an eye on more recent reviews to see if they’ve maintained their high standards. Chinese hotels often have low life spans due to heavy use and cutting corners. I’m optimistic for this hotel however.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

As what the other guest has commented taxi is extremely difficult to get in this hotel.

We asked Mr. Peter (front desk manager) to arrange a limo for us on 26th July at 8am. He told us done but during check-out time we found out that there is no limo waiting for us to bring us to the train station. The bell hop then walked all the way to the main road but only managed to get 1 cab for us (there are 5 of us). The remaining two of us have to drag our own luggage to the main road after more than 5 mins wait.

Room is wonderful but no cab in sight when you needed one.

The restaurant: Ordered a beef set and asked for medium well. After more than 20 mins wait (the restaurant only has another table that night) they served me a piece of steak still dripping with blood. I rejected it and 5 mins later the same piece is about 40% cooked. When I brought this up to the manager he insisted that it is 75% cooked. I refused to eat

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We went to China (SuZhou, HangZhuo & Shanghai) for holiday Dec last year (8 of us including elderly and children), we stayed at Hotel Soul on 13th Dec and had 3 rooms, the moment (after long day on plane+car) we stepped into the hotel it was 'WOW', we fall in love with the design - lobby, room, toilet, elevator with theme...
The room is clean, spacious and colorful, it really gives a boost to tired traveler. Trendy sticker on the toilet wall. Good location, minutes walk to shops. Staff are friendly, the restaurant was quiet because the time we stay according to the staff its was low season, food is ok, will stay Hotel Soul again next trip to SuZhou.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,422 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,422 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#30 of 1,422 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,422 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,422 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soul Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soul Suzhou

Property: Hotel Soul Suzhou
Address: No.27-33, Qiaosikong Alley, Gusu District, Suzhou 215 000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,422 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soul Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in May 2010, Hotel Soul is the first contemporary boutique hotel in Suzhou, China. The 220 room hotel's design concept juxtaposes elements of modern and ancient China, celebrating the nation's remarkable swift modernisation while paying tribute to its distinguished past. Guests at Hotel Soul can enjoy a wide range of culinary delights at the continental restaurant, Brasserie 101, inspired by chic Sino-French interior design. Bar Soul brings a unique blend of retro and industrial elements. It is also the ideal place for carousing with regular live band performances and a variety of drinks and snacks. Chinese restaurant Ying Fook Court serves carefully crafted Chinese cuisine and an innovative congee hotpot. On the second floor, Ying Fook Heen boasts a bright, spacious banquet hall and three VIP rooms perfect for hosting banquet receptions and business dinners for all occasions. Hotel Soul also offers a fully equipped gym alongside premium leisure and meeting facilities, making it the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Soul Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing