We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Worldhotel Grand Dushulake Suzhou
Ranked #43 of 1,459 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel, nice rooms with a fantastic deep tub for taking a good soaking bath. The pool is full Jr Olympic, so great for swimming laps. The "gym" was surprisingly basic for a hotel of this caliber. Peaceful, quiet location, not close to the major commercial/retail areas...which is good and bad.

My complaints are the prevalent smell of cigarette smoke throughout the hotel. This is not problem unique to the hotel, it is a China problem. It would help if they made the hotel non-smoking within the building. The worst part is even though I had a "non-smoking room", the AC system recirculates the cigarette smoke from elsewhere in the hotel, so there is not escaping it which was hell for my allergies. Frankly I doubt the rooms are designated s full time non-smoking. Non-smoking rooms do not need ashtray and matches in them. It is reminiscent of the US in the 80's. Disappointing too for a hotel of this caliber that the outlets did not have universal outlets. Had to order an adapter from housekeeping. Only English speaking TV Channels were CNN, BBC and HBO. Hotel is VERY spread out.

Room Tip: Get a room near an elevator. The corridors are long and it can take a bit of time to get where you...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Worldhotel Grand Dushulake Suzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent hotel. Staffs are friendly. The room is large. Breakfast is o.k. but don't go there too early as not all food are ready until 8am although it starts at 7am. The only problem is that the subway does not reach there. The pool is heated and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here for business for 2 nights. It is a pretty nice hotel overall with pretty views around the lake. It's decor is above most of the Chinese managed hotels you will find in the area.

Only drawbacks are breakfast and service.

Breakfast: The morning buffet leaves much to be desired for both my American taste buds and the Chinese locals we were with. Not very good at all.

Service: It was ok, but what really bothered me was the front desk. It was not that they did something offensive, it was what they did not do, which was service people in order. I had my leg in a cast and was on cruthces. As I waited to check out, I was pushed out of the way twice by local “young salesmen” who the front desk clerk gladly assisted before turning to me. I asked my Chinese local friend if I missed something and he said no, those people just skipped the line because they saw you were to slow. The lady at the front desk saw what had happened but chose to serve them first since they got there first. I understand this may play into the difference in etiquette between the US and China, but regardless I don’t appreciate it.

Despite this hotel being very pleasing to the eye, I would rather stay at a western owned hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SampleTheCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent 3 days 2 nights at the hotel recently, it was really relaxing even with 3 kids in tow. The rooms were spacious, we had a king bed in one with a connecting room with two double beds and an extra bed, there was still room to move and easily without falling over each other.

The hotel is very nicely decorated, lots of warm wood, glass and mirrors and lots of use of the circular shape in the decoration. The king room bathrooms were a tad too dark for our liking, done in mostly black and dark woods. The twin room bathroom was much brighter with glass separating the bathroom and sleeping area so you don't get the claustrophobic feeling.

The lobby is very bright and airy with a high ceiling and lots of comfortable sofa seating. We had our meals at Octagon the all day dining, the food selection and quality could do with a bit of improvement thought. Did not try the Chinese restaurant but did have a coffee in the very nice Lobby Lounge. THere were not much in terms of dining options in the area other then a small plaza that had a few chinese restaurants, a rather dingy looking pub, a SPR coffee place and Papa Johns. For more options, you are better off heading to the Times Square area. Kids loved the swimming pool which had partial glass wall on one side so you do get a bit of the natural outdoor feeling. The water was a tad cooler then we would have liked though.

Love the view from the hotel of the lake, and kids enjoyed taking along the boardwalk and also in the Egret Park next to the hotel and checking out the church and stumbling over the many many wedding couples getting their wedding photos taken. Taking wedding photos seems to be the in thing in Suzhou, all together within the two days that we were out, we must have seen at least 20 different couples with entourage snapping away.

Room Tip: If there are two of you and you dont mind sharing a queen size bed, opt for the twin room as the kin...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here as a part of a conference package (which indicated ~$80/night), which stunning for how fantastic the appointments were. The gardens were exquisite, the hotel restaurants were delicious, and the breakfast hall (The Octagon) looks and feels better than Four Seasons in NYC (no exaggeration).

Rooms were extremely high quality, concierge service was great -- got a train ticket within 24 hours with no hassles -- and overall service was very fantastic. Close to perfection in every sense!

The only downside I can think of is that its location is a bit far out from Suzhou. It's about a 80RMB taxi ride to the train station, 35RMB taxi ride to the nearest subway station, and 30-50RMB to the bar district and/or downtown Suzhou. So make sure you have some cash on you before you hop onto a cab. It takes about 10 minutes when cabs aren't waiting for one to even arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjZ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is a little quiet and away from the main parts of the city, with many nearby buildings seemingly still empty, or being finished. Taxis are not too expensive though, and we did find some nice restaurants and a coffee shop nearby.

The hotel grounds are lovely, with lots of pretty waterside walks nearby. The hotel itself is excellent, with spacious, comfortable rooms, a very good bathroom, and nice big desk to work at. Only downside - I struggled to figure out the air conditioning, and found it too warm at night. Some people also had intermittant difficulties with the internet connection.

The food was lovely, with a huge choice for all meals, and staff were friendly and helpful. The conference facilities were also great, and the conference rooms were well laid out. The hotel also has a really nice, large swimming pool, which is conveniently open until 11pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days for a scientific conference. The hotel is very modern and excellent condition. The rooms are excellent, very comfortable bed, nice bathrooms (there are blinds for the windowed bathroom), a nice desk to work on. The Octagon for breakfast was excellent, an outstanding and extensive selection of Asia and western cuisine, nice outside scenery; the only negative is the need to keep asking the waitresses for coffee refills. The gym is excellent, a reasonable set of aerobics machines, a nice set of weight machines. The other facilities used for the meeting (auditorium, dinner room) were also very nice. The only real negative about this place is that it is located in a sterile industrial park with nothing really within walking distance. Taxis into the old part of town were convenient though, 20-30 minute rides, $10 fares.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suzhou
0.6 mi away
Jinling Guanyuan International Hotel Suzhou
9.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#7 of 1,459 in Suzhou
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Suzhou Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool International Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Suzhou
Kempinski Hotel Suzhou
#26 of 1,459 in Suzhou
401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Regalia Resort & Spa Ligongdi
Regalia Resort & Spa Ligongdi
#116 of 1,459 in Suzhou
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldhotel Grand Dushulake Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldhotel Grand Dushulake Suzhou

Address: No.299 Qiyue Street, Industry Zone, Suzhou 215028, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,459 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range: $87 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Worldhotel Grand Dushulake Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Worldhotel Grand Dushulake Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing