We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Classical Gardens of Suzhou

The Classical Gardens of Suzhou
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.00*
and up
Suzhou Day Tour: Lion Grove Garden and Pingjiang Road with Canal Boat Ride
Ranked #2 of 344 things to do in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
278 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

In a nutshell, this is worth visiting as it is relatively easy to get to via high speed train from Shanghai, but it is quite large and will take several hours to see a good deal of the gardens. There are a lot of tourists, Chinese and Western. We preferred Tongli which is a further water town for which you need a bus from here but is less visited.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank getgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    182
    44
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is my Chinese garden~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I went last winter and the plants were not that green. But still, it is so Chinese. Ticket is not cheap but have to see!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Modoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good location Chinese Classic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Very Chinese and classical hotel. Good location just 5mins from Guanqian shopping district. Mid size room, cozy and share a mini garden with 3 other rooms for most ground floor rooms. Old tube TV with poor reception though there are several cabled channels to select from. Toothbrush and paste provided, which is not common for this class. Small Bathroom with tub. A beautiful common garden with zither player in the evening. Near to several famous gardens, easily reachable by taxi or bus. Good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only managed to visit 3 gardens, The Humble Administrator's, Lion Grove and Master of the Nets, and strolled through the old street. The gardens were absolutely beautiful and very different from each other. If I were to visit again I would spend one or two nights in Suzhou to have a very early start before the masses of tourists arrive, as the gardens close at 5 PM and arriving mid morning does not give you enough time. Next time I guess!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth travelling halfway round the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We managed to visit 8 gaedens. The Humble Administator's, Lion Grove, Master of the Nets, Lingering Garen, Surging Wave Pavilion, Couple's Retreat, Garden of Harmony (On Yuan) and Ting Ling. The fist four are on coach party tours and it is best to try and be there at 7.30 when they open before the hordes arrive. The latter four are much calmer. We could not find the way in the The Mountaining View Embracing Beauty Garden evn though we walked along the outside of its wall for a distance and got lots of (conflicting) directions from locals. We were not let into the Haiyan Garden and I am not sure whether that was because it is not open to the public or it was just closed that day (we could see explanatory posters as at other gqardens, looking through the gate. It was slightly early in the year , blossom was just starting, magnolia, chery andcamellia but it was too early for Peonies. Indeed the gardens were at low season price until 15/4. I have never been anywhere with so many majorly important gardens so close to each other. It was like a yellow book day every day. Worth travelling for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank themaevequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classical Gardens of Suzhou also viewed

 
Suzhou, Jiangsu
 

Been to The Classical Gardens of Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing