We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back 400 years -- with an updated bathroom”
Review of Pingjiang Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pingjiang Lodge
Ranked #20 of 1,044 Suzhou B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Pingjiang Lodge for two nights. Each time we turned a corner, we were met with a new lovely vignette to contemplate. The decor of the rooms and common areas was exquisite. The bathroom in our room was cleverly positioned to transform a long narrow room into a suite. The hotel is in a very old building -- floors are squeaky, doors are temperamental, and the period furnishings require patience and care. Across the canal from the hotel is a delightful pedestrian street lined with cafes and tea shops. It's a great location, and if you can overlook the imperfections that come with staying in an ancient structure, you'll love Pingjiang Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pullittogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here two nights--after a depressing night in one of the "water towns." By contrast, this was a pleasure.

The location, smack in the middle of old Suzhou, can't be beat. The rooms are arranged around a series of courtyards in what was once a wealthy merchant's house. Ours was long and narrow, but well-equipped and reasonably comfortable. And it was absolutely quiet, plus equipped with two split-system air conditioning units.

There are many public spaces, but all of them seem to be open to the weather. In winter that means you'll largely be confined to your room, which isn't to suggest that's a hardship. Though the reception desk is staffed around the clock, service was rather indifferent--which isn't unusual for China.

Overall, based on our experience, we'd recommend this hotel without equivocation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel integrates antique China and modern comfort. Spacious rooms, ,broadband Internet, fridge, TV, good bathroom, good beds, nice surroundings.
For dinner there is the restaurant in a modern building. And a lot of little eateries and pubs in the in the proximity. Liked it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a group. We found more to dislike than like here. Good antiques in the rooms but antiquated services.TV didn't work. Light for the bathroom was over one of the beds so we had to keep the bathroom light on all night. Sporadic wifi free in the lobby area. Very uneven stone walking surfaces to the rooms.

Swarms of mosquitos abound and my companion was bitten alive in the bedroom.

Good nearby shops and restaurants and area abounds with local traders selling everyhing from rabbits, scorpions to huge spiders.

Breakfast is taken at the nearby Fusion restaurant which was fine but understandably there was not a wide choice. We also ate at the Fusion restaurant the previous evening. Food was pretty good but a bit slow in arriving although the staff were friendly and attentive.

Overall, a good place to stay if you like to stay in a hotel from a bygone era. If like me you prefer modern amenities and services then the Lodge will not suit you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

While this hotel has a lot of character in the sense that it is a traditional chinese home that is in the right area of the city. We had a strangely shaped room that was very long and near the reception area. The wooden tub has algae growing in it which was disappointing. The door to the bathroom did not have a handle on the inside to help you close the door. The drapes were hard to get to close well enough so that people could not see inside as they ventured past our room through to the rest of the hotel. The toilet did have some issues as well....it was hard to get it to flush and you had to jiggle it just right. It was loud in the morning because the staff and guests were flowing past our windows on the way out, some yelling at each other in Chinese.
It did have a musty smell to it as well, which I expected it to considering it was one of the older buildings.

I'm not one to nit pick over small faults of hotels and I don't have 5 star hotel requirements, but the combination of all the little problems added up to me not being satisfied with the room. The rest of the hotel may have been lovely, but I never saw any other rooms. My boyfriend loved the hotel and it's more authentic feel. The location was great and the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Perhaps if we had a different room that was a bit farther back and with a few less flaws it would have liked the place. I wouldn't "not recommend it" but I wouldn't recommend it either. We stayed at better places in China that were less expensive on our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was chosen due to it's location on Pingjiang walking road and the fact that it was a grand courtyard home ( actually, two; the place sprawls with a considerable number of rooms in several buildings ) that promised period architecture and furnishings. On both of these scores, it did not dissappoint.

It is located technically on an alley off of Pingjiang, but actually does also front on Pingjiang. Folks reported difficulty in getting a taxi to locate the place, and our taxi driver was no different. However, all you need to do is get close, and then walk. Have them drop you off anywhere in the alley and walk towards the end; it will be on your left. Alternatively, have them drop you off where Pingjiang Rd meets the major road just south, and walk up Pingjiiang to the 1st bridge on your left, walk over the bridge, and it is right there on the right.

I booked the cheapest room they had, and the room itself was oddly layed out in the sense that it was rectangular- long and narrow. It contained a fair bit of sqaure feet, just was disproportionately long, which was fine as I imagine it is hard to convert these old courtyard houses into rooms that fit bathrooms and exterior doors just exactly right w/o loosing some character. The room was stuffy and musty, as were the other courtyard rooms we stayed in. But it had the as pictured large wooden tub for bathing, as well as a seperate shower stall in the bathroom.

The interior woodword was fantastic, from the windows to the bathroom partition to the furniture. It truely felt like being a guest in someone's home from a period long past.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The most wonderful place we have stayed so far in China.
Original, well thought out, sanctuary.
We have a wooden bath, panelled loo, cabin beds and large space with traditional seating, all arranged around beatifully landscaped courtyards.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#12 of 1,493 in Suzhou
444 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Suzhou SIP
Ibis Suzhou SIP
#553 of 1,493 in Suzhou
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#11 of 1,493 in Suzhou
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
0 mi away
Xiaorizi Guest House
Xiaorizi Guest House
#1 of 1,044 in Suzhou
15 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Dingxiang No.9 Guest House
#12 of 1,044 in Suzhou
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pingjiang Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pingjiang Lodge

Address: No.33 Niujia Allay, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215001, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,044 B&Bs / Inns in Suzhou
Price Range: $52 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pingjiang Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pingjiang Lodge is converted from Suzhou ancient complex of houses in Si-jin style (literally means "four times of entry"), a traditional Chinese architecture that contains different compounds of courtyard and rooms to form a main axle. It was once the Residence of the Fang Family in Ming Dynasty and has a history of more than 450 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pingjiang Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pingjiang Hotel Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing