We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kempinski Hotel Suzhou
Nearby Hotels
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$38
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$49
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
181
177
35
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
177
35
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaulaner barluxury propertywifi connectionchinese restaurantstayed one nightbusiness stayshort staytaxi ridejinji lakethe executive loungevery nice hotellake viewconferencechinagymgarden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 410 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had poor experieces for our first night with Crowne Plaza Suzhou and moved to Kempinski. I and my husband like this hotel's enviroment where more peaseful and quire. But not easy to get taxi to go out to town. The staffs here are much more warm and nice, and willing to offer their services while we need any help.
Room is a bit old, but acceptable. Good place for those people like golf as there is a course next door. Will try to stay back again for future visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and share the good comments to us !
Although our hotel opened four years more and some facility looks a little old but we're pleased to provide you with the unique experience and a warm comfortable stay.
Next time you may call concierge to book a taxi in advance if you have any schedule to go outside .
Last but not least ,looking forward to see you again and please feel free to contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com if any accommodation

Assistant Front Office Manager
Monica Yu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

In-your-face big grand ostentatious pompous come to mind. The ferrari parked blocking the hotel lobby sums up the "money counts" attitude of this property. Yes its nice surrounded by the lake and golf course - but so is the Intercontinental 3km away - and there you can have a nice walk to some lakeside restaurants if you tire of the hotel food - and at the Kempinski you will because for all its 5 stars, the food is 4star at best. The pool is very good, but not as spectacular as the IC. Oh - I got a wake up call at 7am "for my appointment" - i did not have an appointment

Room Tip: the best room are not at this hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments shared with us but it seems that the service you rightly expected get from us is not good ! First of all please let me do apology to you about your unpleasant experience with us and I will share and discuss your comments with our management especial for the food quality . The Ferrari parking is just temporarily blocked in hotel lobby and remove it already .Obviously , service is more significant and we will focus on training and service offering .Hoping that you are able to be back in the near future to experience the service you expect from us and more .

Again please accept our sincere apology and look forward to hear from you .Please contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com for any further assistance.

Regards,
Monica Yu
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed for only one night and had a fantastic time. The view from the room allows fantastic sunsets over Dushu lake, you can see the traffic disappearing in the lake tunnel. Turning right offers a view to JinJi lake and the Oriental Gate building (construction) far away. Room interiors is of high quality. The hotel is located separated from the city centers, this gives a silent environment. The hotel has a Golf course nearby, a jetty at the Dushu Lake, and the big Spa is in great demand also for non-guests but not crowded at all. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I liked the lobby bar design, and there is also a Paulaner restaurant. If you need a taxi, don't forget to order in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minipixl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and gave the precious comments to us although only one night !

We're pleased to provide you with the unique experience and a warm comfortable stay. We will consistantly to satisfied with our guests .

Last but not least ,looking forward to see you again and please feel free to contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com if any accommodation request .


Warm Regards!

Monica Yu
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We live in Shanghai and went to stay in the Kempinski Suzhou for a weekend getaway. It’s in a great location in a low rise green country club on the edge of town overlooking two lakes – well away from the busy downtown of Suzhou. If you are into golf, there is a course next door (belongs to the hotel I think?) Closest place to get of the train is Suzhou Industrial Park Station (not the main train station which is a nightmare) – taxi ride was about RMB20 and took 10 minutes.

It’s a big hotel so you are not getting ‘boutique’ qualities. But you are getting international standards of service. There was fairly long queue at the check-in at Saturday lunchtime but a helpful concierge showed us to another desk to check in faster. Staff were all generally very helpful and spoke good English.

Because the hotel is away from the downtown of Suzhou, you need to get a taxi to the historic sights, but that was no big deal.

The indoor pool is huge – 50m long and very nice. There was spa and gym which we did not try. We ate at the Wang Hu Ge Restaurant which had very tasty Suzhou style dishes. We also stopped by the Paulaner Beer House on site which was pretty buzzy on Saturday evening. They brew their own beer on site which was pretty tasty.

We had a room overlooking the lake which had a stunning view first thing in the morning. Room was huge and clean – no complaints really.

Only small quibbles were no snacks in the mini-bar (I guess you have to order room service) and that an outdoor pool would have been nice (someone told me there almost no hotels in this part of China with outdoor pools as getting tanned is not what most people want in this part of the world).

All in all, we had very good time and would stay again if we go back to Suzhou.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor overlooking the lake - stunning views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all , thank you very much for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and share the precious comments to us.
Although our hotel is not located in the downtown of Suzhou ,for leisure guests must will have an unique and comfortable stay with us !Only 15 minutes by taxi take you to the historical site or 10minutes to the nearest "LI Gong Di " will be a nice choice .

It's our honor to have you a memoriable stay and looking forward to you soon . Any further assistance ,please feel free to contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com .



Warm Regards!

Monica Yu
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

when the taxi running on Guobin Road, you feel like in a forest which actural golf course beside you. And when you go into the hotel, you can feel the space, after the warming assitance by the bell boy, you go into the room, well, it is bigger than any other hotel, bigger room, bigger bathroom, bigger bath, bigger bed...... and specially that the buffet restaurant is absolutly perfect, lovely food, homefeel services, warm apmosphere.

Room Tip: if you want to stay in Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and you have to stay in a Higher floors with lakeview.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishgreen0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski-Suzhou, Front Office Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you very much for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and gave the precious comments to us.

It's our honor to provide you with the unique experience and a warm comfortable stay. With your support trust we will do better in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards!

Bennie Zhang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews