We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you're lucky with the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WaterTown Youth Hostel
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Suzhou
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“if you're lucky with the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

as I was I am sure you will like this hostel a lot. Not all rooms have nice big windows like mine had.

Not everyone speaks great English there but most well enough to help you with anything. The hostel has lots of information about the area and free things such as dvds and dvd players so you can watch movies in private for free even if you have no laptop with you. There is hot water for drinking in the kitchen and cold one in the common area. Lots of games to borrow as well. Plenty of sitting and chilling and dining space in the common area.

There are quite a few bikes to rent at 15 per 6 hours or 30Y for a day until 9pm and it is the best way to get around town but beware of crazy traffic. I have seen some nasty accidents with some casualties on the streets so be extra cautions on the road.

The location is great: right in the center of the center of town.

Wifi works fine although after 5pm it slows down in the whole country.

Rooms are only cleaned before your arrival and the towels cost extra 2CNY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
9
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

It is difficult to review this hostel. On one hand, there is an excellent tourist information (also on its website), the location is really convenient (bus no. 1 can take you to the railway station in 10 minutes) and the communal area is very cosy (there is even a library!). The hotel offers many useful services (such as wi-fi or mosquito repellents for free). The staff was English-speaking and helpful.
On the other hand, the room we stayed in was quite unpleasant. Although it was clean, it was dark and a little damp and you can feel like in the basement. We were lucky that we went sightseeing as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Had attempted to go to the Mingtown youth hostel but that was full so we found this place which we were more than happy with and glad to have found it. Firstly the staff are helpful, rooms were legit with air con, nice showers, free internet and a very nice communal area outside. Also cheap food and beer on the menu. Pretty good location within walking distance of some of the main roads and also walked to the pagoda and suzhou museum which wasn't too bad of a walk. When we return to Suzhou most likely will stay here again. Recommend to all!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M3K_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hostel is in an ok location for seeing Suzhou, although it is at the other end of town to the humble administrator's garden - we got a taxi.

The staff speak excellent english and are really friendly. They offer a couple of rice dishes which are tasty. The common area is cute and you can play games or choose a dvd from a huge selection.

However I would not stay here again because of the rooms; our first room was damp with mouldy walls, air-con which didn't work properly and a toilet which wouldn't flush. Windows were wide open when we arrived and I therefore got bitten loads in the night, not only by mosquitos but also bed bugs :s

Our next room was slightly better however the toilet water seeped out from the base of the toilet and smelt horrendous.

Wouldn't stay here again but if you're on a budget and spend most time in the common room it would be fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muggsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was amazing. Best shower in china so far and been here for a month. The comunal area was nice and cozy with computers and little areas where you can watch films. The staff were amazing help as we ran into some problems and they help us out so much. Really nice rooms amazing nights sleep. Close to some really nice lanes and also to the main town centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tezz_m14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the borderzone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

I'd expected the usual euro drinker and shouter kind of place. After all, it was a hostel. I'd reserved lodging at Watertown because I needed to be into ShangHai frequently, and ShangHai was full up hosting EXPO 2010. To say I was happy I did is an understatement.
First, it's a straight shot from the train station. Even with my limited command of the language, I could get there by taxi. And bus service was frequent and cheap between the Train, bus and hostel.
Second: Orderly without being stuffy. This place was uncommonly peaceful without the pubcrawl mentality which seemed to rule in other hostels. Sure, there were enthusiastic footballers raving on game nights- but the TV room was as far from sleeping quarters as possible. When I first booked, I took up a multibed room for myself- I need to be sure to rest. A lot was riding on my being fresh and alert for business. After two nights, the staff asked why I took up a whole room. I stopped to think, and realized the was no real reason. On my following stays,, I booked into the dorms, and had no difficulty geting quiet and rest.
The building itself was ample enough, the common room airy and bright, the showers got high ratings for the way they were set up, no complaints about the cleanliness anywhere. The laundry facilities were functional and adequate for the number of guests.
I've saved the best for last! The staff. Wonderful and warm fits them perfectly. No need to struggle to be understood, or to get what you may need- they had all the bases covered, and for what was not already provided? There were multiple (fluent) English speakers.

So.. now you know. This is my home in China. Could be your home too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank correcamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#29 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WaterTown Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterTown Youth Hostel

Property: WaterTown Youth Hostel
Address: No.27 Dashitou Lane at Renmin Road, Suzhou 215002, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your WaterTown Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing