We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for single travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel
Ranked #49 of 1,434 Hotels in Suzhou
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great choice for single travelers”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

clean, convenient, great architecture and interior design.
comfortable stay...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da0da0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    94
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
6
41
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The rooms in this hostel are snug and cute with lovely traditional wooden chinese beds and wooden frame windows with an authentic feel all looking into a lovely courtyard.
There was a seperate shower area in the bathroom which always gains points, hot water and good water pressure.
Laundry facilities available.
The rooms were clean and excellent value for money and the location is bang in the middle of the most beautiful part of Suzhou with the little bridges, cafes and restaurants at your fingertips.

There is not much of a communual area but a bar 2 doors down which is owned by the hotel and available for guests.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room above ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannieandYianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hostel's location is its major strength, in a historic district of Suzhou with several sites within close walking distance, and to the central commercial district within 10-15 minutes on foot.

Right next door is a nicely decorated cafe, with 2 in-house cats, known as Maomi (sic) Cafe, with internet available.

The staff are generally quite friendly and helpful with directions, depositing valuables, other requests, etc., with one male staff member being the exception, usually providing refusals.

The dorm rooms themselves are furnished with solid wooden beds with comfortable mattresses. The lockers are also wooden.

Some drawbacks are, the common area where Wifi is available lacks heat in the winter, and the provided bar area is rather smokey.

Overall, an average recommendation for Suzhou. Give this one some consideration for your trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photo_Video_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hostel is located on a very interesting lane (Pingjiang road) and it is about a 15-20 walk to the Humble Administrator's Garden and Suzhou Museum. There is also a bus stop nearby to catch a bus to Tiger Hill/train station. However, the room is really small for a double private ensuite. The staff are not exactly friendly or helpful. We asked some questions to which we were given answers indifferently. Having read the good reviews and coming from staying in a friendly hostel in hangzhou, the experience was quite disappointing. In short, I wouldn't stay here again unless I have no other choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked a private double ensuite with the hostel and were so impressed by what we got for the money. It's beautiful Chinese style old building, our room had a four poster bed, hot shower, aircon/heating (which we needed in March) and looked out on a small courtyard. Great location on a pretty street by a canal with lots of cafes, art galleries and souvenir shops. The staff were incredibly friendly and spoke excellent English. Also made use of washing machine, free internet, bike hire (we cycled to the tourist sites the city offered), english breakfast in the cafe next door. All in all happy customers and would definitely recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I arrived into Suzhou very late, around 1 am, and had called ahead to make sure Mingtown would save us a room. In hindsight, we should have stayed at a nicer and more expensive place our first night since late arrival often means the WORST ROOM. As was the case at Mingtown. The room itself looked okay with a traditional-looking bed and looked clean (more on that later), but it REEKED of toilet. Not of a toilet in your home, but a public toilet. I immediately went to the front desk and was told, yes, the room is really close to the toilet and that it was the last room available. No surprise there as no one, and I mean no one, could put up with that smell except under duress. Well by now, it was 2am and we were exhausted and felt we didn't have a choice but to stick it out the one night. Let me tell you that we really tried to be positive and not focus on that awful smell, but it was so strong and disgusting, it literally kept both of us up throughout the night.

Unfortunately, the fun didn't stop here. The next day I took my shower and the drain was clogged. The barrier between the shower and the rest of the bathroom had gapes so the water got everywhere. This is when I noticed clumps of hair floating in the rising water on the bathroom floor. So not only did our room stink, the bathroom was gross, too.

I've stayed in dozens of hostels in many countries, including developing countries, but this was by far the most unacceptable room EVER. Mingtown must have redeeming qualities to be as highly thought of as it is, but that room is not fit to be used and should NOT be offered to lodgers. Do yourself a favor and have a back-up plan in case they try to stick YOU with this foul room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandaroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night.

Pingjiang road is a very long road filled with most of the touristy sights. The hostel is near niuzai xiang, you can't miss it with the signs. however, the most important sights,such as the mansions, are not exactly within walking distance of the hostel. Also, as the main road nearby is under repairs as at June 2011, it's hard to get a taxi unless you take a 10 min walk to near miao qian jie.

The hostel has kept the design of a traditional Chinese house, which made the stay exceptionally interesting.

Overall I enjoyed the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0nEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
0.6 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#10 of 1,434 in Suzhou
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Youngor Central Hotel
Youngor Central Hotel
#45 of 1,434 in Suzhou
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pingjiang Lodge
Pingjiang Lodge
#4 of 988 in Suzhou
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quanji Hotel Suzhou Guanqian Street
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Dingxiang No.9 Guest House
#11 of 988 in Suzhou
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel

Property: Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel
Address: No.28 Pingjiang Road, Suzhou 215005, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,434 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing