We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!! Would definitely stay again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel
Ranked #52 of 1,458 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I live in Suzhou, well actually Mudu, and haven't been able to spend much time in downtown Suzhou. So a friend and I booked a room and found the hostel to be really great. It's on a famous walking street and close to some major must-sees in Suzhou. The rooms were clean and tidy and the beds were actually pretty comfortable. The breakfast wasn't stellar, but it was good enough and not to pricey; plus the coffee was good. The staff was friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okieeslteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 230 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

Old style building with nice patios and rooms, some overlook garden, some with four posters etc. Street is one of oldest in Suzhou. Recently filling up with trendy bars and cafes and small shops. Nice place to stay and wander round. Near to several of the Suzhou gardens and also downtown shopping area. Rooms vary alot and some feel stuffy, so maybe ask to see a few before you choose.

Room Tip: Good location.
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pichis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I spent one night in this hostel for my trip in China. It is located in a small street where cars can't come, charming little street. My room was ok and clean with air conditionning and wifi internet access. Since all the rooms are closed one from each other (small hostel), it was very noisy so i couldn't sleep well. The staff is so-so, they are friendly but not so much and don't really help us. There is a restaurant in front of the hostel where you can eat some western food, it is appreciable sometimes!
Anyway I recommand this hostel for kind of "adventure trip", not very comfortable but good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doriane28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Mingtown Youth Hostel must have some of the most expensive real estate in all of Suzhou, located right on Piang Jiang, which is undoubtedly the most picturesque and beautiful street in all of Suzhou!!! (No exaggeration you can see countless professional photo sessions every day.) The hostel actually has two buildings, dorms are located in the 2nd building. I stayed in the first building, on the second floor in a corner room facing the small side street that runs between the two buildings. It got rather noisy during the day and into the evening but thankfully the noise completely dies down by 11pm (that and a good set of earplugs helped!). I liked the room however because it had a sky view and the other rooms I was shown all faced an alleyway, so it's a tradeoff. All rooms in some way face a courtyard on the inside- I noticed this in both buildings. The 2nd building also has a large courtyard for sitting and socializing.

The buildings are old and charming. Of course old means sounds will travel, heat/cold wont insulate, and smells will greet you with the enthusiasm of a small puppy. As another reviewer noted, this IS afterall a canal town. I am going to admit my room was rather stinky. Upon returning home from a full day with the door and windows closed, the combination of my clothing drying from the wash mixed with the algae smell from the pipes definitely smelled funky. A good airing out seemed to solve the problem however!

The pro's definitely outweigh the cons, especially after I took a walk down to check out the competitor Suzhou Youth Hostel and it looked like absolute rubbish in comparison to Mingtown.

Pros: EXCELLENT staff- all friendly, good English, helpful, FREE internet in rooms, unbeatable location, bike hire, free rain coats to borrow, staff will make bookings for you, "fairytale" atmosphere, gorgeous building, the hottest strongest shower EVER (be careful, the hot water is scalding!), part of Mingtown Mafia (chain of hostels), great value private room for 140 (cheaper for IHA members), hair dryer in bathroom (big bonus for girls and in winter months), room was cleaned- this surprised me as I didn't expect them to enter my room but all my valuables were locked so I guess I was appreciative of the clean towels, empty trash bin and new role of toilet paper.

Cons: for some reason the windows of my room didn't have a lock (I used my own), can be VERY noisy (but where in China isn't?), bit isolated from other travelers, VERY smelly room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zenful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

We had just moved from the Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel to a much better location with a very small difference in price.

On the first glance the place looks very clean and the stuff is speaks excellent English. However, the buildings are old (a very picturesque region for the summer) and the air-conditioning (heating) is very weak and located in the opposite corner of the room toward the window and not to the bed, so we've spent in the hostel a very cold night.

When complained to the staff about the situation above they tried on us every single excuse, such as: "the aircon can't work uninterruptedly", "this is an old house", "this is not an aircon problem", "we work here in the lobby and don't have any heater at all" etc.

Finally, they had stated that they "cannot guarantee" that the room will be warm during the cold season. The working staff did not proposed any of the possible solutions, such as switch the room or provide the electrical heater (something that already happened in the norther cities).

We are in China for more then one month, slowly moving from the north to the south. This is the first time we've switched the hotel in the same city, simply because they cannot provide proper accommodation conditions. We can say very few positive regarding to this hotel during the cold season.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank breakphreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Suzhou Mingtown Hostel was a great place to stay. I was there late October 2008, and although not really cold, it was rainy & the Hostel was not heated. That was the only drawback since this place was a beautiful converted 300 year old building.
Nice single room, hard bed which I found very therapeutic, hot water in certain rooms turned off between certain hours (so check this out before you book). Clean, beautifully furnished with canopy on bed, desk and lovely artwork.
Located on a canal, it was on a side street which was a plaza at night with shops and food stalls, very safe and great to walk around. Nice staff.
Free Washer on top floor, refirgerator, and microwave. Free internet.
Restaurant had decent food, a bit pricier than Shanghai. But many good street vendors around.
I found mostly couples and families, a few singles.

1  Thank mokkijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

The hostel is located in the historic Pingjiang canal district which is one of the only places to stay in Suzhou with some atmosphere. The actual property is located within one of the historic buildings and it just oozes with character. One of the great joys of our stay in Suzhou was just walking by the canal at night. However, for those interested in seeing other tourist sights many are within walking distance -- 15 minutes to the excellent Humble Administrator's Garden and 5 minutes to the main pedestrian shopping district. There is a bus stop very close to the hostel which can take you to some of the newer (and more distant) entertainment areas. Along the historic district there are some nice teahouses and even an expat-friendly cafe that serves panini.

However, this is not a place for people who are bothered by peeling wall paint and plants growing in cracks (which I find charming). For sure there are people who prefer modern, sleek, cleanliness and this is fine, but you won't find that here. The actual hostel is clean and new, but some might find the surrounding area to be rundown, despite the massive restoration process. Others will find this ancient canal district to feel authentic and atmospheric. While the canals are beautiful, like all canals all over the world, they can get pretty smelly. Unfortunately, this also affects some of the rooms which can be pretty musty or sulfurous. We stayed in two rooms--one which smelled vaguely of mildew and the other which smelled vaguely of sulfur. But my biggest issue ws the lack of doors on the ensuite bathrooms, not everyone wants to listen to their room-mate do their business in the bathroom.

The staff was helpful and kind as well, which was nice. The hostel also felt very safe (China is a pretty safe place in general), but keycards are required to enter the second building anyways. The Mingtown cafe next door also serves a very decent hamburger for China, but the food comes out achingly slow.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#12 of 1,458 in Suzhou
403 reviews
2.6 mi away
Garden Hotel (Liuyuan Road) - Lingering Garden
1.5 mi away
Maoyuan Yiluopushi Hotel
Maoyuan Yiluopushi Hotel
#71 of 1,458 in Suzhou
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pingjiang Lodge
Pingjiang Lodge
#17 of 1,009 in Suzhou
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quanji Hotel Suzhou Guanqian Street
1.3 mi away
Taohuawu International Youth Hostel Suzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel

Address: No.28 Pingjiang Road, Suzhou 215005, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,458 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range: $17 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing