We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to come”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson All Suites Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #37 of 1,445 Hotels in Suzhou
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice place to come”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed one night in March 2014

Did get a spacious apartment, at the rear of the building, which gave me a good nights sleep without traffic noice.

In general a good experience at this hotel, though I felt staff at reception were slightly distant

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
10
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We would recommend this hotel. We lived in Suzhou for 3 years and recently came back for a visit. We picked this hotel because the price was good and it was close to Marina Cove and LiGongdi where we lived. Loved the spacious suites - 2 bathrooms, living room area, 2 desk, nice comfortable kingsize bed and lots of closets. We stayed there for 2 weeks and just lived out of the 2 closets that had shelves and drawers. I wished we would have stayed here when were waiting for our apartment - we had stayed at the Crowne which was much smaller. Taxis are always available, staff speaks enough English to work out and the breakfast was quite good. We are from America so there were lots of choices that worked for us. Our only complaint was that on the 29th floor in November the temperatures outside were in the 70's. The air conditioning is not on and the air circulation was a bit poor. I would definitely stay here again - a great view of the lake as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The room was lovely and the breakfast was very good with chinese and american breakfast to choose from. There was a shopping centre right there so there was stores and restaurants close. We were on the 9th floor so the view was great especially at night. The only problem we had was the elevator was really slow and sometimes didn't stop at our floor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowboard25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location near a large shopping precinct. A large, well appointed room with nice bathroom but the manager pre-sets the air conditioner to 26 degrees and as the days were 37-40 deg, this setting was too hot to be comfortable. Especially as it is nice to have respite from the heat when sleeping. The bed and breakfast were all good but there was no WiFi in the room, only in the lobby.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the road side is very busy with traffic although noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rally42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hearing that I was reserved for the Howard Johnson hotel in China. I remembered back when I was a child staying at the drive up motels with restaurants attached to them. Is it the same in China?

This new Howard Johnson is far from that. It is a high end very tall Hotel with some of the best rooms ive stayed in China.

First the Good -- The hotel is very modern with large rooms with glass walls that look straight out. That means people can look in, but they do have blinds to close. The bathrooms were very large featuring bathtub and shower with two shower heads. Free breakfast was featured in our rate and it was very good with a large selection of breakfast foods for guest from around the world.

Now the sort of not so good -- The hotel is located in the SIP, in a quiet part of the SIP. Yes there are restaurants and stores about 2 blocks walk away, but the area is tame when compared to hotels in the old town of Suzhou were the city is alive with things to do. Other little issues I had was with the carpet in the rooms. It is a off white that shows dirt and foot paths which could create a bad first impression. I also noticed hair that was not vacuumed up at the edge of the bed.

If you like the Christmas season this hotel is for you. Being August the Christmas / Seasonal Greetings decorations were still up.

Negatives aside I would stay there again. Some would say my negative of the hotel being quiet is a good thing, and they may be right. But its worth a look if you are staying in the SIP.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Overall nice hotel but nothing stands out. Big rooms - had a receiving area apart from the bedroom itself. Usual ameneties. Weak wifi in the room, though you can ask for LAN cable from staff for your laptop. Strong wifi in the lobby.

Rooms were kept clean. Hotel breakfast was quite good, varied spread. Staff were generally helpful. Good choice if you have business in the industrial park, but if visiting the old town, you might want to check other hotels closer to city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aca_08323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Pros: Big space, clean and comfortable rooms. We booked online and they upgraded us to a lakeview room. The Jinji Lake is great to walk around at night - a ten minute walk there, and then there are nice canals, lit up restaurants, a good mix of Western, Chinese and Japanese/Korean. I also liked that they have some sort of deal with a taxi company, such that it was always easy to get a cab. The concierge was helpful, too, and helped us plan our trip to Tongli.

Cons: We came at Chinese New Year and there was some kind of tuangou discount, and checkin was VERY chaotic - people jumping lines, not very systematic, basically my mild version of Chinese hell.
The rooms are spacious and took a VERY long time to heat up.
A little bit far from central Suzhou if you want to go to the tourist sites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cestdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou
Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou
#21 of 1,445 in Suzhou
278 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Suzhou
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,445 in Suzhou
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suzhou
3.5 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#11 of 1,445 in Suzhou
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regalia Resort & Spa Ligongdi
Regalia Resort & Spa Ligongdi
#102 of 1,445 in Suzhou
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson All Suites Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson All Suites Hotel Suzhou

Property: Howard Johnson All Suites Hotel Suzhou
Address: No.78 Gaohe Road, Suzhou Industrial Park, Suzhou 215021, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#34 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson All Suites Hotel Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson All Suites Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Suzhou
Suzhou Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing